Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History and Literature: A Guide to Research Resources

Periodicals

American Periodicals 1740-1900
Searchable, full-text database, with digitized page images, of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. The bulk of the collection dates from the 19th-century; periodicals that began publication before 1900 and continued into the 20th century are included through 1940. Based on the American Periodical Series (APS I, II, and III) microfilm collections.

Everyday Life and Women in America, c.1800-1920
Provides primary source material for the study of nineteenth and early twentieth century American cultural and social history.  Includes periodicals, pamphlets and monographs.

British Periodicals
British Periodicals "offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries." Topics covered in the various titles include literature, philosophy, history, science, fine arts, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture.

19th Century UK Periodicals
A collection of British journals published in the nineteenth century. Part 1, titled "New Readerships," provides access to a number of " Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure/Sports" journals. Part 2, "Empire," includes journals related to the expansion of the British empire published in Britain, India, Canada, South and East Africa, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

18th Century Journals
A selection of rare journals printed between 1714 and 1799 illuminating all aspects of eighteenth century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.

Internet Library of Early British Journals
Includes six eighteenth and nineteenth century journals not available in British Periodicals Online:
Annual Register (1758-78)
Gentleman's Magazine (1731-50)
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-77)
Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-63)
Notes and Queries (1849-69)
The Builder (1843-52)

HarpWeek (Harper’s Weekly) 1857 - 1912
HarpWeek is an electronic edition of Harper's Weekly, the leading American illustrated magazine of its day, which covered the political, military, social, and cultural stories of its day; each issue also included editorial comment, literature, humor, with extensive illustrations

The Nation Archives 1865-
Searchable full text of all issues of The Nation magazine, America's oldest weekly magazine of reporting, commentary, and opinion on national and international politics, government, social policy, economics, arts, religion, and culture.

Godey's Lady's Book (in Accessible Archives)
One of the most significant American periodicals of the 19th century, it published a wide variety of fiction, poetry, essays, reviews, music, and included illustrations and fashion plates.