Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History and Literature: A Guide to Research Resources

Newspapers

Many historical newspapers are available only in microfilm.  You can search in HOLLIS to see if the Harvard Library owns a particular newspaper.  Additional newspapers on film can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

(London) Times Digital Archive and Sunday Times Digital Archive
Provides fully searchable indexing to all issues of the Times of London, 1785-2012, with results displayed as original page images. Includes all news, features, editorials and commentary, advertising, pictures and illustrations. The Sunday Times is available through 2006.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The Burney Collection Newspapers is an extensive group of newspapers, books and pamphlets owned by the British Library. This electronic collection contains over 1270 titles and nearly one million pages. For more information about the Burney Collection, see the British Library's website.

19th Century British Library Newspapers
This collection contains the full runs of forty-eight national and regional newspapers published in nineteenth-century Britain. The web site topic guide provides a brief history of 19th century newspapers and their historical context. Information about ownership and publication history can be located by searching individual titles.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text searching across all the ProQuest Historical Newspapers available through the Harvard Library, including the New York Times (1851-2015), Boston Globe and Washington Post.  At the site, you can also select and deselect titles to create your own custom list of titles to be searched.

New York Times, 1851 – (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
All issues of the New York Times, 1851-2015, in full text, full image forms, including news, illustrations, editorial matter, and advertising.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)
Searchable, full-text database of early American newspapers, based on collection published in microform by Readex. The majority were published between 1690 and 1820, although issues of newspapers that continued publication beyond these dates are included, through 1922.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text database of ca. 500 urban and rural U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1899. Contains approximately 1.7 million pages of content, which can be viewed as articles or full-page images.

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800 (in Accessible Archives)
Considered The New York Times of the 18th century.

African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century (in Accessible Archives)
The searchable full text of:
Freedom's Journal, New York, New York (March 16, 1827 - March 28 1829)
The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), New York, New York (January 7, 1837 - December 25, 1841)
The North Star, Rochester, New York (December 3, 1847 - April 17,1851)
The National Era, Washington, D.C. (January 7, 1847 - March 22, 1860)
Provincial Freeman, Chatham, Canada West (1854-1857)
Frederick Douglass' Paper, Rochester, New York (1851-1859) (Completed through December 1852)
The Christian Recorder (1861-1902)

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (in Accessible Archives)
The New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865