Image Collections

Archival Collections of Asia Photographs: Asia Photographs at Harvard: This is the first in a series of introductions to archives in libraries, museums, and other institutions that collect, preserve, and make available for research photographs of Asia.

ARTstor: includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology.

Oxford Art Online: provides access and cross-search functionality to Oxford's art reference works, including Grove Art online and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. It includes over 2000,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 15,000 images.

Historical Photographs of China: Spanning over a century of modern China’s history, these photographs capture diverse places, communities, and themes. The project was developed in collaboration with international partners and supported by institutions including Academia Sinica, University of Lincoln, the Institut d’Asie Orientale, and several major foundations.

History of Photography in China, 1839 - ca.1911: Selected Annotated Bibliograghy

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost): full text of 2,000 journals in a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multi-cultural issues.

TransAsia Photography Review is an international refereed journal (ISSN: 2158-2025) devoted to the discussion of historic and contemporary photography from Asia.  Online and free of charge, it is published by Hampshire College in collaboration with the MPublishing, a division of the University of Michigan Library.  Two issues are published annually, in the fall and spring.