Government Documents & Statistics
Government Documents, Statistics, and Numeric Data are available in a variety of formats to Harvard researchers, and we encourage you to browse our Government Documents guides.
CountryData.com: Political, financial and economic risk data with over 75 variables for 140 countries. ICRG risk ratings are also included. Technical Requirements:Internet Explorer required for full functionality.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data: source of economic indicators and forecasts providing data series on economic structure, foreign payments, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade, and quarterly indicators. Other EIU databases available at Harvard: EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) Country Commerce; EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) Country Finance; EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) Country Forecast; and EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) Country Reports.
Nexis Uni:: English-language bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts the statistical content of selected publications. Although much of the information is US-related, there is also a strong international component, including information on mainland China, Taiwan, and other parts of East Asia. Various Harvard Libraries provide print versions of the indexes and abstracts. Search HOLLIS for availability. The record number (the number beginning with ASI, IIS or SRI) in the abstract can be used to find the full text microfiche edition held in the Government Documents & Microforms Library.
Polling the Nations: A comprehensive compilation of public opinion surveys, containing the full text of more than 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys conducted by 700 polling organizations from 1986 to the present in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record provides a question asked and the responses given. Also included is the polling organization responsible for the poll, the sample size and the date the poll was released. Some information on polls done by foreign organizations in mainland China (over 600), Hong Kong (over 300), and Taiwan (about 150) is included.
United Nations Common Database (UNCDB): Provides access to hundreds of statistical series for all countries and areas of the world. The series can be accessed alphabetically, by source (i.e. the originating international organization), or by topics. Includes UN data on merchandise trade, national accounts, demography and population, energy, status of women and industrial commodities production, as well as statistics from a range of other organizations. Browse through the series in a single consolidated list, or list series by source or by topic. Single series for up to ten countries can be chosen and viewed in HTML. For more than one series and country, choose "Advanced Data Selection."
China
Korea
Korean Social Science Data Archive (KOSSDA) 한국사회과학자료원 (Harvard ID/PIN required)
KOSIS 국가통계포털 (Korean statistical Information Service)
The official government statistics information site for various national and international statistical information, including regional statistics, operated by Statistics Korea (통계청).
Electronic Resources Guide by USC Korean Heritage Library : Includes detailed links for South Korean government and statistical resources.
Korea National Statistical Office
KOSIS -- Korean Statistical Information System