Research Guides: Magazines at Schlesinger Library: Research Tips

Images from Schlesinger Library

Magazines in Databases

In addition to the magazines themselves, there are databases available that can help expand your research. Listed below are suggested databases that offer indexing, abstracts, or full-text access to a wide range of magazines and periodicals.

Some of the databases are open access and others (identified with the Harvard shield icon ) require a valid Harvard Key login for access. If you are not able to access these resources remotely, you are welcome to visit the Schlesinger Library and use these databases on our public computers. If you have any questions, please contact us for more information.

Gender Watch
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies along with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. It provides access to more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Independent Voices began as a four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the alternative press archives of participating libraries. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection continues to grow, adding small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and right-wing press.
LGBT Life / LGBTQ+ Source
LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms. LGBT Life is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues, containing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of LGBT-specific core periodicals, books and reference works, as well as data mined from priority periodicals and thousands of select titles.
LGBT Magazine Archive: ProQuest
LGBT Magazine Archive is a searchable database of major LGBT periodicals, including The Advocate, Gay News, and The Pink Paper.
Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Index Online is an index to tables of contents of more than 6,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, published 1665-1995. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
This resource provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
U.S. Women's and Girls' Magazines Web Archive
Popular women's magazines in the United States have long documented women's thoughts, activities, economic power, sexuality, political interests, social, cultural, and domestic life. The U.S. Women's and Girls' Magazines Web Archive consists of websites of women's media which previously existed as print magazines, but are now published solely on the web. This collection enables the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation to continue to capture and extend collections of these serial publications. The Archive is a collaboration between the Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America at Harvard, Princeton University Library, and Columbia University Library-- as part of the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation-- and is curated by Jennifer Weintraub and Lee Sullivan (Harvard), Sarah Witte (Columbia), and Sara Howard (Princeton).
Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines.

Research Tips

Ask a Schlesinger Librarian about your research.

We can answer your questions, recommend additional sources, and provide in-depth research help.

Search the HOLLIS catalog for more resources.

This guide only provides an introduction to materials related to your topic. HOLLIS makes even more materials available.

Many of our collections are stored offsite and/or might have access restrictions.