Skip to Main Content

President's Commission on the Status of Women

This guide is an introduction to materials related to the President's Commission on the Status of Women.

Exhibit: The President's Commission on the Status of Women at 50

The Commission was established by President John F. Kennedy in 1961 to examine the needs and rights of women and to make recommendations for "the diminution of barriers that result in waste, injustice, and frustration." Eleanor Roosevelt chaired the Commission until her death in 1962. The Commission was aided by seven committees: The Commission on Civil and Political Rights, the Committee on Education, the Committee on Federal Employment, the Committee on Home and Community, the Committee on Private Employment, the Committee on Protective Labor Legislation, and the Committee on Social Insurance and Taxes. Each Committee compiled a report, which it submitted to the Commission, containing a summary of the Committee's findings and recommendations. The Commission was disbanded in October 1963 after the final report was submitted to the President. 


Click here to view the exhibit online.