Skip to main content
 

Interlibrary Loan at the Schlesinger Library

Microfilms Available for Interlibrary Loan

The following is a list of microfilm collections available for interlibrary loan from the Schlesinger Library. In many cases, only part of a manuscript collection has been filmed. Always consult the finding aid to determine if the material needed is available in microform.

When available, a link has been made to the online finding aid. This list is arranged in call number order. Please use this number when placing an interlibrary loan request. The number in parentheses at the end of the description is the call number for the original material. 

  • LM-1 New York Historical Society, The Lily 1849-56. 1 reel.
  • LM-109 #23 Ladies Home Journal V. 37 August-December 1920. 1 reel.
  • LM-160 NOW acts. Do it NOW. 1968-1977. 1 reel.
  • LM-256 Female Liberation newsletter v. 1, no. 1- March 4th, 1974 (1970-1974). 1 reel.
  • M-8 Fields, Emma - Women's Club Movement in the U.S., 1877-1900. 1 reel.
  • M-19 Merk, Lois Bannister. Massachusetts and the Woman-Suffrage Movement. (Ph.D. thesis by Merk, 1961.) 1 reel.
  • M-21 Anthony, Susan B. (Susan Brownell), 1820-1906. Speeches of Susan B. Anthony, woman's rights leader, abolitionist, and temperance worker. (A-143) See online finding aid. 1 reel; see below for more SBA material on microfilm and the Susan B. Anthony online portal for digitized collections. 
  • M-23 O'Hare, Kate Richards, 1877-1948. KRO, socialist organizer and prison reformer, was imprisoned in 1919 for an anti-war statement she had allegedly made in 1917. This volume is a collection of mimeographed copies of letters from KRO to her family written during her year in the Missouri State Penitentiary. (MC 213) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-24 Hamilton family. Correspondence, numerous photographs, and a small quantity of writings and drawings of a prominent family of Fort Wayne, Ind. The correspondence (most conducted by women) documents the activities of and relationships among members of five generations for more than 150 years. Included are the papers of Edith Hamilton, classicist, and her sister Alice, physician specializing in industrial toxicology. (MC 278) See online finding aid. 34 reels.
  • M-25 Brown, Olympia, 1835-1926. School essays, sermons, articles, speeches, correspondence and printed material of Olympia Brown, the first American woman to be ordained by full denominational authority, provide information about her church and suffrage activities, and about her participation in the woman's rights movement. (A-69) See online finding aid. 9 reels.
  • M-28 Kirchwey, Freda, Journalist, editor and publisher of The Nation (1937-55). Articles, 1915-18, are available on microfilm. (MC 280) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-31 Howe, Julia Ward, 1819-1910. Only the nine scrapbooks of JWH, author, suffragist, and reformer are available on microfilm. They contain mainly clippings: articles about JWH, her husband and family; articles, poems, and lectures by JWH; writings by her three daughters; etc. Some correspondence, biographical information, and miscellaneous items are also included. (A-24) See online finding aid. 2 reels.
  • M-35 Blackwell family, Portions of the Blackwell family papers are available on microfilm for interlibrary loan. This collection consists primarily of the papers of Antoinette Brown Blackwell, the first woman to be ordained as a minister in the U.S.; also family correspondence and photographs. (A-77) See online finding aid. 4 reels; see below for more Blackwell material on microfilm and the Blackwell Family online portal for digitized collections.
  • M-36 May, Abigail, 1775-1800. 1 volume of her journal ( May 24-August 30, 1800), in the form of letters to her cousin, Lucretia Dana Goddard. (A-134) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-37 Blackwell family, Portions of the Blackwell family papers are available on microfilm for interlibrary loan. This collection includes correspondence, diaries, reminiscences, biographical and other writings, photographs, and other memorabilia, especially of Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell, Alice Stone Blackwell, and Katharine Barry Blackwell. (A-145) See online finding aid. 8 reels; see above for more Blackwell material on microfilm and the Blackwell Family online portal for digitized collections.
  • M-38 Rankin, Jeannette, Correspondence and other papers of JR, congresswoman (1917-19, 1941-43), pacifist, and feminist, most re: her vote against U.S. entry into World War II, with some documentation of her first term and her activities in the late 1960s and early 1970s. Includes family papers, photographs, and many clippings. Also available for purchase from University Publications of America, Bethesda, MD. (MC 246) See online finding aid. 11 reels.
  • M-42 Anthony, Susan B (Susan Brownell), 1820-1906. Genealogies, diaries, correspondence, photographs, and memorabilia of Susan B. Anthony, woman's rights leader, abolitionist, and temperance worker, provide information about SBA's family, her schooling, and her social activism. (A-143) See online finding aid. An autographed note signed by Susan B. Anthony, suffragist and reformer. (A/A628) See online finding aid. 2 reels; see above for more SBA material on microfilm and the Susan B. Anthony online portal for digitized collections.
  • M-45 Beecher-Stowe family, Most of the Beecher-Stowe family papers are available on microfilm for interlibrary loan. Correspondence, miscellaneous writings, clippings and memorabilia of Lyman Beecher, Henry Ward Beecher, Catharine Beecher, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Calvin Ellis Stowe, Isabella Beecher Hooker, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, and other family members. Also Charlotte Cushman letters, and Lyman Beecher Stowe's correspondence and research re: Cushman and Gilman. (A-102) See online finding aid where digitized content can be accessed. 6 reels.
  • M-48 League of Women for Community Service (Boston, Mass.), A Boston African-American women's organization, the League began during World War I as the Soldiers' Comfort Unit. In 1920 it was incorporated as a permanent social service and civic organization. Collection consists of minutes for 1918-21 and 1924-38. (B/L434) 1 reel.
  • M-52 Somerville, Nellie Nugent, 1863-1952. Papers documenting several generations of a Mississippi family. Somerville was the first woman elected to the state legislature. Series I, Genealogical and early family records, and Series II, Nellie Nugent Somerville, are available on microfilm. (A-50) See online finding aid. 7 reels.
  • M-53 Lord-Heinstein, Lucile, 1903- Gynecologist and birth control advocate, LLH was on the staff of the New England Hospital for Women, Physician-in-Charge of the Mothers' Health Office in Salem, MA, and a marriage and family counselor. Clippings, 1935-52, some about the police raid of the Salem Mothers' Health Office, are available on microfilm. (MC 310) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-53 Switzer, Mary Elizabeth, 1900-1971. Government official who worked for the Department of the Treasury, and for most of her career for the Office of Vocational Rehabilitation before and after it became part of the Department of Health, Education and Welfare. Clippings, 1939-1970, are available on microfilm. (MC 293) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-55 Dummer, Ethel (Sturges), 1866-1954. Dummer, a philanthropist and social welfare leader, was a founder and trustee of the Chicago School of Civics and Philanthropy. She also gave the funds to establish the Juvenile Psychopathic Institute, worked with prostitutes and unwed mothers, and published several books. Folders 785-796, containing correspondence with William I. and Harriet P. Thomas, have been microfilmed. (A-127) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-58 Sherwin, Belle, Sherwin was president of the National League of Women Voters (1924-1934), a Cleveland civic leader, and a trustee of Wellesley College, from which she graduated in 1890. Scrapbooks are available on microfilm. (A-62) See online finding aid. 3 reels
  • M-59 Research Publications, Inc. History of Women, [1975-1979]. SL manuscript collections that were microfilmed as part of this project are available on ILL; some material from the Sophia Smith Collection also appears on these reels. SL material includes the autobiography of Inez Haynes Irwin, writings of Helen Temple Cooke and Anna M. Davison, a typescript biography of Mary L. Reynolds, letters by Eunice Callender, Louise Stoughton, and Eliza Bowditch Van Loon, and diaries of Mrs. Bardwell, Eunice Callender, Betsey Estey (Talbot) Capen, Mary Gardiner Davis, Anna M. Davison, Emily Marshall (Otis) Eliot, Elizabeth Glendower Evans, Mary Grew, Amy Richardson Holway, Inez Haynes Irwin, Florence Ledyard Kitchelt, Emily Marshall (Eliot) Morison, Clara Morris, Mary I. Mudge, H. Severance, Nancy Ann (Atwood) Sprague, Rachel Willard Stearns, Sarah Ripley Stearns, Elizabeth (Hewes) Tilton, and Mary Jane Walker. 24 reels (#966-970, 973-983, 988-995). Mary Grew diary is available on M-59) Research Publications, Inc., History of Women, reel 973; collected correspondence of Lydia Maria Child, 1817-89, has been published on microfiche; the microfiche are not available on interlibrary loan.)
  • M-60 Hosmer, Harriet Goodhue, 1830-1908. Correspondence, writings, drawings, photographs, and clippings of HGH, sculptor and inventor, document her life, friends, art, and travels. Also correspondence, notes, and drafts of HGH's biographer, Cornelia Crow Carr, most re: HGH. (A-162) See online finding aid. 8 reels.
  • M-61 Ransom, Eliza Taylor, Boston physician, Ransom founded the first Twilight Sleep Hospital. Collection consists of correspondence, articles, scrapbooks, clippings, and photos that reflect her career, especially her work with Twilight Sleep. Folder 11 and volume 2 are available on microfilm. (A-82) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-62 Friedan, Betty, Microfilm of Smith College Class of 1942 questionnaires, 1957. (M-62) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-64 Women's Trade Union League of America, Papers of Mary Anderson, Agnes Nestor, Leonora O'Reilly, Mary Kenney O'Sullivan, Margaret Dreier Robins, and Rose Schneiderman, and records of the National WTUL and its Boston, Chicago, and New York branches. Microfilm is available for purchase from Research Publications, Inc., Woodbridge, CT. Printed guide is available at many libraries: Papers of the Women's Trade Union League and Its Principal Leaders, ed. by Edward T. James (Woodbridge, CT: Research Publications, Inc., 1981). 131 reels.
  • M-68 Women's Social and Political Union (Great Britain), Three volumes of exhibits entered as evidence in the trial of British suffragists, 1913, in the case of Rex v. Kerr et al.: speeches, letters, financial receipts, circulars, and lists of objects taken from suffragists. Also a scrapbook, 1911-13, kept by L. Geraldine Lennox, editor of The Suffragette. (MC 190) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-69 Dodge, Jane Gay, 1881-1963. Microfilm of two albums that document the work, 1889-93, of anthropologist Alice Cunningham Fletcher, who apportioned land to the Nez Perce in Idaho. Albums include transcribed letters, photographs, and drawings by E. Jane Gay. (A-20) The entire Jane Gay Dodge collection has been digitized and links can be found in the online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-73 Matthews, Burnita Shelton, Judge Matthews was the first woman to serve as a federal district judge, when appointed United States District Judge for the District of Columbia in 1949. Scrapbooks of biographical material are available on microfilm. (MC 318) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-74 Eastman, Linda Anne, 1867-1963. The papers of LAE, librarian of the Cleveland Public Library (1918-38), contain biographical information, correspondence, awards, tributes, and writings by LAE. The collection includes an M.A. thesis about LAE by Alice E. Wright that was not filmed. (A-73) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-78 Hale, Ruth, 1886-1934, Ruth Hale was a journalist and founder of the Lucy Stone League, which encouraged women to keep their maiden names after marriage. Scrapbook contains clippings on the purpose and activities of the Lucy Stone League, its members, and the controversy surrounding them. See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-80 Milholland, Inez, 1886-1916. Correspondence, speeches, articles, class notes, clippings, and photograph of IM, criminal lawyer and advocate of woman's suffrage, the rights of working people, and abolition of the death penalty. (MC 308) See online finding aid and the Inez Milholland online portal for digitized content. 3 reels.
  • M-81 Keller, Elizabeth Reed, Microfilm of incomplete loose-leaf diary kept by ERK during her American Red Cross service in Italy, 1944-46; a brief typescript by Phillips Brooks Keller; and a brochure of the United States Army Rest Center in Rome (A/K29e) 1 reel.
  • M-83 Nathan, Maud, 1862-1946. Twelve scrapbooks, containing mainly clippings, with some correspondence, photographs, and other material of MN, author, lecturer, and reformer. The scrapbooks document her social life and travels; her work and speeches for the Consumers' League of New York, the National Consumers' League, woman suffrage, working girls, and peace; and international congresses she attended. One volume concerns Benjamin N. Cardozo, and one contains reviews of and letters about her book about the Consumers' League, The Story of an Epoch Making Movement (1926). (A-57) See online finding aid. 2 reels.
  • M-84 Evans, Elizabeth Glendower (Gardiner), 1856-1937. Correspondence, writings, speeches, "Memoir," diaries, photographs, and clippings of EGE, a prominent Boston social reformer, provide information about her life, travel, friends, interest in socialism, involvement in various movements and organizations, and her friendship with Sacco and Vanzetti. (A-21) See online finding aid. 11 reels.(See also M-59, Research Publications Inc., History of Women, reel 970, which contains her travel diaries, 1882-1930).
  • M-86 Dall, Caroline Wells (Healey), 1822-1912. Vol. 2: Studies toward the life of "A business woman" being conversations with Mrs. R. P. Clarke, in the winter of 1864-1865. See online finding aid. 1 reel; see item below for more Dall material on microfilm.
  • M-87 Dall, Caroline Wells (Healey), 1822-1912. Vol.7: Conversations upon the Mythology of the Greeks and its Expression held at the home of the Reverend George Ripley, Bedford Place, Boston, March 1841, by Sarah Margaret Fuller. (A-72) See online finding aid. 1 reel; see item above for more Dall material on microfilm.
  • M-88 Goldman, Emma, 1869-1940. Mostly correspondence (mainly to Leon Malmed from EG, his friend and lover), with some photographs, printed ephemera, and writings, providing information about EG, her family and friends, her involvement in the anarchist movement, her deportation and subsequent activities, and LM and his life. This microfilm includes four collections: A/B274 (Fannie Barrett) See online finding aid.A/M256 (Daniel Malmed) See online finding aid.A/M537 (Lillian Mendelsohn) See online finding aid, and the manuscript portion of MC 332 (papers of Leon Malmed and Emma Goldman) See online finding aid. 6 reels
  • M-91 Woman's Rights Collection, 1853-1958 (inclusive). Four scrapbooks assembled by Maud Wood Park contain clippings, letters, telegrams, and memorabilia. Volume 63 (1897-1919) documents MWP's suffrage activities; volumes 64-66 (1920-43), her work with the League of Women Voters. A selective index for each volume, received with the collection, precedes the contents of each volume on the film. (WRC) 2 reels; see below for more WRC material on microfilm.
  • M-92 Brown, Charlotte Eugenia (Hawkins), 1883-1961. Correspondence, writings by and about CHB, speeches, photographs, and scrapbooks provide information about her life and the school she founded, Palmer Memorial Institute in Sedalia, North Carolina. (A-146) See online finding aid. 4 reels.
  • M-93 Woman's Rights Collection, 1853-1958 (inclusive). Two scrapbooks, volume 119 (1913-15) and volume 120 (1915), assembled by Blanche (Ames) Ames and her husband, Oakes Ames, contain clippings and cartoons that provide information about BAA, the Ames family, the woman suffrage campaign, and the anti-suffrage movement. (WRC) 1 reel; see above for more WRC material on microfilm.
  • M-95 Gardener, Helen H. (Helen Hamilton), 1858-1925. Inventory, will, and related papers concerning the bequest of HHG's brain to Cornell University, and other bequests. Also 1907 diary. (A/G218) 1 reel.
  • M-105 Lutz, Alma, 1890-1973. Letters and a few other items purchased by AL, author and suffragist. The collection reflects AL's interest in women in American history and the suffrage and abolition movements. Writers include Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Clara Barton, Alice Stone Blackwell, Antoinette Brown Blackwell, Carrie Chapman Catt, Lydia Maria Child, Mary Grew, Sarah Moore Grimke, Julia Ward Howe, Mary A. Livermore, Harriet Martineau, Wendell Phillips, Parker Pillsbury, Margaret Sanger, Caroline M. Severance, Lucy Stone, and Mercy Warren. (A-110) See online finding aid. 2 reels.
  • M-107 Frederick, Christine MacGaffey, 1883-1970. Microfilm of newspaper articles by CMF, 1913-50 (scattered), and newsclippings about her, 1901-1966 (scattered). (MC 261) See online finding aid.1 reel.
  • M-109 Sprague, Priscilla Cushing, compiler. Papers of the Eaton, Stearns, and Buck families, mainly of Massachusetts. Buck family papers are available on microfilm. (MC 262) See online finding aid.1 reel.
  • M-110 Robinson, Harriet Jane (Hanson), 1825-1911. Correspondence, scrapbooks, and diaries of Harriet (Hanson) Robinson and her daughter Harriette Lucy (Robinson) Shattuck document Lowell (Mass.) mill girls, woman suffrage, and women's clubs. The HHR papers include a large amount of family correspondence. Correspondents also include Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Larcom, Matilda Joslyn Gage, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Lucy Stone, and several Lowell mill girls. (A-80) See online finding aid. 16 reels.
  • M-114 Aldrich, Mildred, 1853-1928. Confessions of a Breadwinner, Aldrich's typescript autobiography, provides an account of her childhood and her life as a journalist and editor in Boston (1873-98) and as a foreign correspondent, translator, and author in France (1898-1926). In Paris she became a close friend of Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas. (A-4) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-116 Anonymous, 1822- ? Diaries and account book, 1837-1866. Microfilm of diaries and account book kept by a young woman. (A/A615f) 1 reel.
  • M-118 Bureau of Vocational Information, New York. This collection contains some of the office files of BVI and its predecessor, the Intercollegiate Bureau of Occupations. The bulk of the material consists of BVI correspondence, questionnaires, and printed material, the material about secretarial work making up the largest portion. The IBO files consist mainly of transcripts of a series of lectures (1915-16) on vocational opportunities for women. The papers provide information about occupational opportunities available to women, the training required, the advantages of certain fields, and the people and organizations involved in educating women about these opportunities. The employer and employee questionnaires and interviews illuminate contemporary attitudes toward working women, and social and economic conditions for women in the 1920s. (B-3) See online finding aid. 28 reels.
  • M-120 Dewson, Mary ("Molly"), 1874-1962. 23 albums of photographs, correspondence, clippings, invitations, programs, etc. document the life of this suffragist, reformer, consumer advocate, and active Democrat, and her long friendship with Mary ("Polly") Porter. Original albums were returned to the family after filming. (M-120) See online finding aid. 3 reels.
  • M-128 Cooper, Lorraine (Rowan), 1906-1985. Lecturer, hostess, and columnist, Cooper was the wife of John Sherman Cooper, Republican Senator from Kentucky, ambassador to India and Nepal, and first official U.S. representative to the German Democratic Republic. Scrapbooks, 1955-69, and clippings, 1954-83, are available on microfilm. (MC 393) 3 reels.
  • M-130 Dedham Temporary Home for Women and Children, Founded as the Temporary Asylum for Discharged Female Prisoners, the home later provided convalescent care. Annual reports, 1864-1945, are available on microfilm. (MC 400) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-131 Northrop, Alice Rich, 1864-1922. A botanist, Northrop traveled widely in the American and Canadian west and northwest, and in Central America and the Caribbean. Collection consists of diaries, journals, and notebooks. (MC 396) See online finding aid. 3 reels.
  • M-132 Bosworth, Louise Marion, 1881-1982. Bosworth was a social worker who worked for a number of settlement houses and participated in surveys of workers' living conditions, including the Women's Educational and Industrial Union survey (1907-9) of incomes and expenditures of working women. Microfilm consists of WEIU survey questionnaires. See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-134 Barron, Jennie Loitman, 1891-1969. Judge. Born in Boston and educated at Boston University: B.A., 1911; LL.B. and LL.M., 1914; and an honorary LL.D., 1959. Barron was elected to the Boston School Committee in 1925. In 1934 she was appointed to the District Court, in 1937 full-time to the Boston Municipal Court, and in 1959 to the Superior Court as Associate Justice, the first woman to serve full time. She was active with many professional, charitable, and civic organizations, including the American Association of University Women, and the Massachusetts Association of Women Lawyers. Only scrapbooks and clippings are on microfilm. See online finding aid. 2 reels.
  • M-135 Nash, Ruth Cowan, Journalist Ruth (Cowan) Nash was born in Salt Lake City and attended the University of Texas. She worked for United Press for several months in 1929 but was fired when UP found out she was a woman. As a reporter for the Associated Press, she was based in Chicago before joining the Washington press corps in 1940. She was one of the first women accredited as a U.S. Army war correspondent, and served overseas for the AP. Clippings and articles are available on microfilm. (MC 417) See online finding aid. 7 reels.
  • M-137 Albert, Mildred Levine, 1905-1991. Microfilmed clippings include material relating to ALbert, her family, Academie Moderne/Hart Model Agency, and Albert's columns. (MC 423) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-140 & M-142 Hoffman, Anna Rosenberg, An expert on labor mediation and welfare services, Hoffman, a Hungarian immigrant, founded her own consulting firm in 1924 and became an advisor to Franklin D. Roosevelt, Harry Truman, N.Y. Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia, and N.Y. Governor Herbert Lehman. She served as regional director for the National Recovery Administration (1935) and the Social Security Board (1936-1943) during the New Deal; on the Retraining and Reemployment Administration (1941-1945), War Manpower Commission (1942-1945), and Office of Defense Health and Welfare Services during World War II. Scrapbooks and clippings are available on microfilm. (83-M162--84-M65) See online finding aid. 3 reels
  • M-141 Denison House, Founded in 1892 in Boston's South End by a small group of college-educated women, Denison House was a settlement house that offered camps, clubs, sports for girls and boys, classes, a library and clinic, union organization, and other services for the neighborhood's mixed nationalities. Minutes, annual reports, day books, photos, scrapbooks, clippings, pamphlets, posters, and invitations comprise the collection. The records are incomplete; there are gaps in the annual reports, 1920-1934 and 1943-1948, and very few records from 1949-1960; much financial information is lacking, and there is almost no correspondence. (B-27) See online finding aid. 6 reels.
  • M-143 Coyote (Organization), Coyote (Call Off Your Old Tired Ethics) is an organization, founded by Margo St. James, based in California, and concerned with the rights of prostitutes and others. Clippings about Coyote, the National Task Force on Prostitution, and St. James are available on microfilm. See online finding aid.
  • M-144 Chamberlain-Adams family, Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain taught religion, rhetoric, and languages at Bowdoin College (1856-1862), became a Major General in the Union Army was governor of Maine (1866-1870), and president of Bowdoin College. Frances Adams Chamberlain was raised by her cousin in Brunswick, Me., studied music in New York City, and taught music in Georgia before her marriage. Well over half the collection is correspondence between Chamberlain and his friends and relatives, including his courtship correspondence with his future wife. The remaining correspondence is of Frances Adams Chamberlain or her immediate family, and covers her decision to leave home, her experiences in Georgia, and her resistance to early childbearing in marriage. (MC 352) See online finding aid. 2 reels.
  • M-145 New England Women's Club, one of the oldest women's clubs in the U.S., the New England Women's Club was founded in 1868 to provide a meeting place for women outside their homes where they could obtain knowledge and inspiration for work inside and outside the home and for uniting their efforts in various social causes. Early projects included a Friendly Evening Association for working women, a Horticultural School for Women, and Dress Reform and Education Committees; work of the latter led to the election of four women to the Boston School Committee in 1874. A detailed picture of board, annual and social meetings emerges from officer's reports, financial records, minutes, correspondence, lists of officers and members, committee reports, programs, calendars, scrapbooks, photos, clippings, and other material. (MC 178) See online finding aid. 18 reels.
  • M-147 Cobb, Eunice Hale,  Eunice Hale (Waite) Cobb was born in Manchester, N.H., in 1803; in 1822 she married Universalist minister, Sylvanus Cobb, and worked with him on preaching missions throughout New England and at his pastorates in Waterville, Me., and Malden, and East Boston, Mass. Eunice Cobb was one of the founding members of the Ladies' Physiological Institute, an organization devoted to the study of the human body; she was president for twelve years and secretary for fifteen. Collection contains diaries, 1826-1830, 1860-1862; biographical information; play about the Cobbs, 1973, etc. (MC 445) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-148 Thompson, Anna Boynton, 1848-1923. Educator and student of philosophy, Thompson taught at Thayer Academy in Braintree, Mass., for 44 years, many of them as chairman of the history department. During this time, she also continued her education at Radcliffe (B.A., 1898, M.A., 1899) and received an honorary D. Lit degree from Tufts University (1900). In 1895 Thompson published The Unity of Fichte's Doctrine of Knowledge. Collection consists primarily of Thompson's journals and correspondence. Also includes articles about Thompson by her students and colleagues; and clippings, and photos. (MC202) See online finding aid. 1 reel.
  • M-152 NOW (National Organization for Women)Microfilm of clippings from clipping service used by NOW spanning the years 1966-1982. Microfilmed clippings cover the following topics: abortion rights; ERA; gay and lesbian rights; NOW, and women's issues in general (interfiled); NOW and unionization issues; the 1977 National Women's Conference in Houston (Texas); and rape. Filming targets further demarcate years and/or months within each subject. (MC 496) See online finding aid. 9 reels.
  • MF-1 Gilman, Charlotte Perkins (Stetson), 1860-1935. Family and general correspondence, writings, drawings, photographs, clippings, diaries, and personal and miscellaneous papers of the writer, lecturer, and social philosopher who was the intellectual leader of the woman's rights movement from the 1890s to the 1920s. Includes material on socialist and women's congresses, and on her marriages to Charles Walter Stetson and George Houghton Gilman; letters from well-known writers, socialists, and feminists; two unpublished books (Social Ethics and a detective novel); and an almost complete set of The Impress (1893-1895). (177) See online finding aid. 601 microfiches. This and other Gilman collections have been digitized and can be accessed through the Charlotte Perkins Gilman Online Portal.