Psychiatrist Amy Brodkey graduated from Radcliffe College in 1971. While at college, she participated in anti-Vietnam protests and in the women's liberation movement. This collection contains speeches in which Brodkey attacks United States Vietnamese policy, supports the takeover of 888 Memorial Drive as a women's center, and protests U.S. imperialism, drawing parallels between the oppression experienced by Vietnamese and American women.

An educator, lesbian feminist, writer, and activist, Charlotte Bunch organized a women's caucus within the Mobilization Committee to End the War in Vietnam and represented the United States women's liberation movement during a peace trip to North Vietnam and Laos. She subsequently helped organize the first International Conference of North American and Indochinese Women held in Toronto, Canada, in 1971. Her collections include documentation regarding Bunch’s anti-Vietnam War activities, including pamphlets, buttons, posters, statements, and photographs. See also Additional Papers of Charlotte Bunch

Anna Chennault was an author, lecturer, business consultant, citizen-diplomat, widow of General Claire Chennault, and active member of the Republican Party. In 1968, she played a part, though accounts differ as to the extent of it, in the October Surprise (the collapse of peace talks between North and South Vietnam, which was a major factor in the election of Richard Nixon to the United States presidency). In October of that year, Chennault was placed under FBI surveillance, due to Lyndon Johnson's suspicions of her activities; she was recorded speaking with the South Vietnamese embassy, encouraging the delay of the peace talks and stating that a Nixon presidency would benefit South Vietnam. The collection includes articles, essays, speeches, etc. regarding events in Asia, including the Vietnam War, democracy, and communism, and an annotated draft concerning her role in the 1968 October Surprise.

The Women's Hearing on the War in Vietnam, initiated by members of the St. Louis branch of the Women's Political Caucus and the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, was held in Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis, Missouri, on June 17, 1972. This collection contains the testimony of thirty-seven women on the legal, medical, environmental, economic, moral, and political impact of the Vietnam War.

A feminist lesbian author and activist, Barbara Deming protested the war in Vietnam. In 1966, she, A.J. Muste, Brad Lyttle, and others went to Saigon, seat of the United States-supported South Vietnamese government, to stage a protest. They were expelled from the country. At the end of the year, she went with three other American women to North Vietnam to meet Ho Chi Minh and members of the National Liberation Front and to tour areas devastated by United States forces. The papers document the peace movement in the 1960s, particularly the War Resisters League, the Committee for Nonviolent Action, Women Strike for Peace, and its use of nonviolent direct action.

Author and journalist Gloria Emerson grew up in New York City and was a foreign correspondent for the New York Times. Her coverage of the Vietnam War won the George Polk Award (1970) and her book, Winners and Losers: Battles, Retreats, Gains, Losses, and Ruins from a Long War (1976), won the National Book Award. This collection consists of letters from war correspondent Martha Gellhorn, Lillian Hellman, Jacqueline Onassis, William Shirer, and others; also telegrams to Emerson in Saigon and articles about Gellhorn.

This collection contains one folder of letters to Ava Hochstatter from Captain James Alexander while he was stationed in Vietnam. He did not survive the war.

Helen Gray served on the Executive Board of the Civil Liberties Union of Massachusetts (CLUM) in the mid-1960s and was a founding member of that organization's Women's Rights Committee. This collection documents Gray's work in the anti-Vietnam War movement. She was active in Massachusetts Political Action for Peace (Mass PAX); including serving on the Steering Committee in the 1960s, as well as numerous smaller peace and anti-Vietnam War groups and organizations.

Economist Helen Boyden Lamb Lamont was active in civil liberties work and a leader of the anti-Vietnam War protest movement, resulting in her inclusion on President Nixon's Enemies List of 1973. The collection includes correspondence regarding her anti-war work and materials relating to her published writing on Vietnam, including interviews with Vietnamese political exiles in Paris for an article in The Nation (August 10, 1963), notes, correspondence, and advertising for her widely-distributed pamphlet, "The Tragedy of Vietnam" (1964), and her book, Vietnam's Will to Live: Resistance to Foreign Aggression from Early Times Through the Nineteenth Century (1972).

Mary Lord was vice-chairman of the Citizens for Peace with Freedom in Vietnam Committee. This collection includes reports from her trip to Vietnam in August 1969 for the Committee, and related papers.

Social and political activist Florence Hope Luscomb protested against the Vietnam War in the 1960s. Her collections include correspondence, flyers, speeches, pamphlets, and photographs relating to her work during the Vietnam War. See also Additional Papers of Florence Luscomb

During the Vietnam War, the Women's International Committee for Permanent Peace organized protest marches and community action for the passage of disarmament and anti-war bills. This collection includes correspondence and ephemera relating to the Vietnam War era.

Singer, composer, and political activist Holly Near became involved in the anti-Vietnam war movement as a student at UCLA in the late 1960s. Around 1971, she auditioned for a slot in the Free the Army (FTA) show and was asked to join. With actors Jane Fonda, Donald Sutherland, Pamela Donegan, Rita Martinson, and Glen Chandler, Near performed anti-war skits and entertained soldiers in Hawaii, the Philippines and Japan from 1971 to 1973. The FTA tour was the beginning of her political awakening and opposition to the Vietnam War. See also Additional Papers of Holly Near

Feminist activist Nancy Grey Osterud was a member of the women's collective Bread and Roses in Cambridge, Mass., Harvard-Radcliffe Students for a Democratic Society (SDS), and the November Action Coalition, which protested on campus against United States action in Vietnam. Included in this collection are materials about anti-Vietnam War protests -- the November Action Coalition, 1969, and the National Student Strike Rally, May 1970 -- and declarations of women's solidarity with the oppressed and victimized people of the Third World.

This collection records Beth Purcell's opposition to United States policy in Southeast Asia. It includes clippings as well as correspondence with American historian and diplomat, Edwin O. Reischauer; historian and academic, John K. Fairbank; journalist, Joseph C. Harsch; United States senators; editorial writers; and broadcasters.

Pacifist and feminist Jeannette Rankin was the first woman in Congress, representing Montana for the 1917-1919 and 1941-1943 terms. From 1945 to the early 1970s, she was active in both peace and feminist causes. This collection includes correspondence (1967-1973) regarding her Vietnam War protest activities.

The Jeannette Rankin Brigade was organized by former Congresswoman and suffragist Jeannette Rankin in 1968 to protest the war in Vietnam by marching in Washington, D.C. This collection consists of press releases, fliers, statements, etc. by the Jeannette Rankin Brigade, its successor the Women's Emergency Coalition, and other peace groups; as well as related clippings.

Peace activist Cynthia Rich was a member of Voice of Women--New England (VOW-NE), a group formed in 1961 to work "toward the goal of a world without war" by focusing on such issues as war toys, atmospheric nuclear testing, civil defense, and foreign policy decisions. It attempted to influence politicians and others through letters, speeches, peace demonstrations, and educational programs. From 1965 through 1968, Rich represented VOW-NE at Coalition Politics, an organization designed to facilitate the exchange of information among peace groups in New England. The Rich papers include letters to politicians and to other peace activists. Most of the papers relate to VOW-NE. The group's focus on civil defense and disarmament is documented by correspondence, clippings, flyers, speeches, and reports that address both sides of the issue. Also included are correspondence, minutes, reports, and statements of the organization Coalition Politics.

As secretary and program officer at the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council, Ellen (Kovner) Silbergeld helped organize a meeting for staff to observe the nationwide moratorium called by the Mobilization Committee to End the War in Vietnam. Silbergeld was arrested twice as a result of her participation in "Mayday" protests in 1971, following the Federal Employees for Peace rally in Lafayette Square. This collection includes materials related to her participation in protests against the Vietnam War in the 1960s and her support for the health and welfare of Vietnam veterans in the 1980s.

In 1971, Ingeborg Spitzer represented Women Strike for Peace at a Paris peace conference organized by Clergy and Laymen for Peace in Vietnam. This collection contains correspondence, leaflets, clippings, and audiotapes regarding the Citizens Conference on Ending the War in Indochina. Also included are materials regarding Women Strike for Peace and other anti-war activities.

The founder of Rosie's Place, Boston Food Bank and the Poor People's United Fund, Kip Tiernan joined the anti-war, civil rights, and anti-poverty work that centered around St. Philip's and Warwick House in Boston's South End in the late 1960s. The Kip Tiernan papers include materials related to her work with Boston chapters of two anti-war groups, the Camden (New Jersey) 28 Defense Community, and Milwaukee (Wisconsin) 14 Defense Fund. Also included are materials on the Boston 8; the Harrisburg (Pennsylvania) Defense Committee (material related to the Berrigan brothers); and a collection of political and anti-war literature, including some of Daniel and Philip Berrigan's writings and speeches.

The Voice of Women--New England (VOW-NE) was formed in November 1962 to work "toward the goal of a world without war." It attempted to influence public officials and others through letters, speeches, demonstrations, and educational programs. With the deepening involvement of the United States in Vietnam, the group focused on protesting the Vietnam War. It was active until 1973 and gradually disbanded after the United States withdrew from Vietnam. This collection consists of reports, minutes, and other records documenting VOW--NE’s anti-nuclear and anti-war efforts.

Tracy A. Wood attended the University of Missouri before joining the Los Angeles City News Service in 1965. She joined United Press International (UPI) in 1966, working at the wire service's Sacramento and New York bureaus. From 1972 to 1975, she covered the Vietnam War from Saigon and documented the release of American prisoners of war in Hanoi. Her experiences as a war correspondent were among those chronicled in War Torn: Stories of War from the Women Reporters who Covered Vietnam (2002). Wood later worked in UPI's Hong Kong bureau before joining the Los Angeles Times, and was among the team of reporters awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1993 for their coverage of the riots following the acquittal of four officers charged in the beating of Rodney King. Additionally, she worked as an investigative journalist for the Orange County Register, served briefly as editor in chief of Ms. Magazine, and in 2009 she helped launch the Voice of OC, a nonprofit digital news startup. This collection primarily documents Wood's work covering the Vietnam War from Saigon and the release of American prisoners of war in Hanoi. Letters written by Wood and her colleagues provide insight into daily life for journalists in Saigon covering the war including housing conditions, goods available for purchase, and social activities. Letters also document events in the war and the political climate in Vietnam from 1972 to 1973, as do notebooks, news cables, and articles written by Wood.