This page lists the Schlesinger Library collections that have been digitized in whole or in part and are accessible through online databases.

Note: All databases listed here, with the exception of the Digital Transgender Archive, require a Harvard ID for access. Researchers who do not have a Harvard ID can access the databases during an in-person visit to the Schlesinger Library or another Harvard library location.

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. This database includes materials from J. Ari Kane-DeMaios collection and the Records of the International Foundation for Gender Education which are housed at the Schlesinger.

This database, Gender: Identity and Social Change, brings together materials from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia to tell the story of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement, and the men’s movement. It also includes materials on employment and labor, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity, and the family. The Gender: Identity and Social Change database includes a list of Schlesinger collections that contain material included in this database, and a more detailed PDF is linked below. The database also includes a number of volumes of advice literature held at the Schlesinger that are not listed here.

ProQuest's History Vault contains digitized versions of the microfilm for the Woman's Rights Collection (M-133), which is geographically subdivided; Women in National Politics (M-136), which is divided by party affiliation; and a collection on sexuality, sex education, and reproductive rights, which includes the Family Planning Oral History Project, Mary Ware Dennett papers, and the records of the Voluntary Parenthood League (M-138). The database also includes the records of the Bureau of Vocational Information (M-118). A full list of Schlesinger collections available through this database is available below:

This database, Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Women: Transnational Networks, documents issues of gender and class that ignited 19th-century debates over suffrage movements, culture, immigration, health and many other concerns. A number of Schlesinger collections, wholly or partially digitized, are present;  a complete list can be found in the Nineteenth Century database and in the PDF below. The contents of the History of Women microfilm collection (M-59) are included in this database.

This database, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, is composed entirely of materials from the Schlesinger Library, bringing together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. A list of items included, along with the collections in which they are found, is available in the Travel Writing, Spectacle, & World History database and in the PDF below. The items included in this database are also available digitally to through links in the individual collections' finding aids and catalog records.

This open access database of popular magazines, US Women's and Girl's Magazines Database, consists of websites of women's media which previously existed as print magazines, but are now published solely on the web. This collection enables the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation to continue to capture and extend collections of these serial publications. This is a collaboration between the Schlesinger Library, Princeton University Library, and Columbia University Library — as part of the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation — and is curated by Jennifer Weintraub and Lee Sullivan (Harvard), Sarah Witte (Columbia), and Sara Howard (Princeton).

Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection, Women and Social Movements International, shows how women’s social movements shaped many of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. This database includes materials from three collections held by the Schlesinger: Frieda S. Miller papers, Grace E. Frysinger papers, and Anna Lord Strauss papers.

This database, Women and Social Movements in the United States, brings together books, documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies documenting aspects of American women's public lives and political activities. It includes materials from two Schlesinger collections: Charlotte Eugenia Hawkins Brown papers and Christia Adair's interview in the Black Women Oral History Project.

This global and broad-ranging women's history database, Women's Studies Archive, includes the Records of the Women's Trade Union League and Its Principal Leaders, a microfilm collection held at the Schlesinger.