For the two largest Gilman collections (Call #177 and Call # MC 588), you can also access the digital content through the finding aids. For the smaller collections that do not have finding aids, click on the links provided in the Archival Collections section of this guide to go to the HOLLIS catalog record which includes a direct link to the digitized content.

1. To begin, access the finding aids. Finding aids provide detailed descriptions of each collection. Reading through the finding aid is highly recommended because of the additional background and context about the person or organization and the collection materials.
   
2. Navigating the finding aids. The Collection Overview section provides information about both the creator of the collection and the arrangement of the materials. The Collection Inventory section of the finding aid provides a folder-by-folder listing of the contents of the collection.
3. Click on the "Collection Inventory" tab.
   
   This section offers a list of all of the folders in the collection. When you identify an item that you wish to access, click on the folder title to view the item page and access a link to the digitized content.
   
   Links to the digitized content is provided at the far right of the item page. The digitized content is delivered at the folder level.
4. Digital content is delivered through Harvard's Mirador Viewer. After clicking on the digital content link, a new tab will open in your browser. You can now review the content of the folder you chose.
   
5. Navigate through the folder contents in the Mirador viewer. Use the arrows on either side of the image to page through the folder. To browse the content of the folder, use the scroll bar at the bottom of the page, under the row of thumbnails.
6. To select a different folder to review, return to the finding aid's Collection Inventory.