1. General information about Harvard curriculum in 1890-1891, HUC 8890.2, contains a list of students, including Du Bois, enrolled in the Seminar in American History, 1890-91.
  2. Evaluation form for the Boylston Prize for Elocution, 1889, UAIII 10.25.5, includes Du Bois’s name as a candidate.

Note: in his junior year, Du Bois received second prize in the competition for the Boylston Prize for Elocution; in his senior year, Du Bois received first prize.

  1. Papers of Albert Bushnell Hart, 1832-1990s (inclusive), 1870-1943 (bulk), HUG 4448

Albert Bushnell Hart (1854 – 1943) taught American history and government (political science) at Harvard from 1883 to 1926. He was an advisor to Du Bois during Du Bois’s student years and after (see Post-graduate activities section).

  1. Records of students, HUG 4448.8 Box 3, Folder 2: Students' Records Di-Dy, 1883-1926, sequences 331 to 338

Contains Du Bois’s applications and grades in History courses, 1889-1892.

  1. Students' papers from History and Government courses taught by Hart from 1884-1926, HUG 4448.65, Box 6

Contains Du Bois's paper "Constitutionality of the Kansas-Nebraska Act," written for U.S. History 13, 1890.

  1. Students' papers from History and Government courses taught by Hart from 1884-1926, HUG 4448.65, Box 7

Contains Du Bois's paper "Federal Government in Brazil," written for U.S. Government, 1891.

  1. Library charging records, UAIII 50.15.60, 1888-1889, Volume 143, sequence 445 and Volume 144, sequence 360, list Harvard Library call numbers for library books borrowed by Du Bois in his junior and senior years at Harvard College.
  2. Harvard College student records, 1876-1982. UAIII 15.75.10 F Box 1, Record of Class of 1890, page 314, contains Du Bois’s undergraduate transcript.
  3. Du Bois's student folder, in Harvard College Student Folders, ca.1890-1995, UAIII 15.88.10 Box 120 VT, contains his application for admission to Harvard College and applications for fellowships.
  4. The 1890 Commencement Program, HUC 6811.112 Box 2, lists Du Bois as a recipient of the AB degree.
  5. General Information About Harvard Commencement and Class Day in 1890, HUC 6890, includes Du Bois's Commencement part "Jefferson Davis as a Representative of Civilization."
  6. "A Constructive Critique of Wage Theory," HU 89.385.30 VT, is Du Bois's unsuccessful entry for the Toppan Prize in 1891.
  7. Du Bois, W.E.B. The suppression of the African slave trade in the United States, 1638-1871. HU 90.330 VT, PhD dissertation, 1895 (2 vols).
  8. The 1895 Commencement Program, HUC 6811.112 Box 3, lists Du Bois as a recipient of the PhD degree.
  9. Student Records of Graduate Department, 1887-1897. W. E. B. Du Bois graduate student record. In:   UAV 161.272 Volume 1, page 237.
  10. Information about 20 Flagg Street in Cambridge, the house where Du Bois lived while a student at Harvard.