This collection consists of approximately 140 published baby books created between 1904 and 1991 which trace the birth and development of babies. Most are empty, although some are partially filled out; some include baby care instructions. The bulk of the baby books were published in the United States, although a few come from England or France.

Jessie Tarbox Beals, a photographer and photojournalist, acquired her first camera in 1888 and began to photograph students, friends, and family groups throughout Western Massachusetts. In 1893 she traveled to Chicago to see the World's Columbian Exposition; she took pictures of the buildings and exhibits, as well as other visitors she met in the women's dormitory. That same year she began teaching in Greenfield, Massachusetts, where she met Alfred Tennyson Beals; they married in 1897. This collection includes The Baby's Biography, a baby book made by Beals for her daughter Nanette, born in 1911. Included in the baby book are poems, letters to Beals from Nanette, Nanette’s vocabulary at age 2, and letters to Beals' parents at birth. Photographs of Nanette can be found in a separate collection of Beals’ photographs.

Charles Edgar Flynn was born in Middletown, New York, the son of Charles Edgar and Mildred Stilwell Flynn. The collection consists of one baby book (Baby's Childhood Days, A Biography, published by Reilly & Lee, 1922) and includes photographs and entries regarding Flynn's development. It also includes a first grade report and certificate (1938).

Feminist film critic and author Dorothy Clark "Molly" Haskell was born in 1939 in Charlotte, North Carolina, the oldest child of John Cheves Haskell Sr. and Mary Clark Haskell. The collection includes her baby book.

Kathryn Allamong Jacob received her BA from Goucher College, her MA from Georgetown University, and her PhD from Johns Hopkins. Since 1999, Jacob has been the curator of manuscripts at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University. Doris Long Allamong was born in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania in 1924 and was a housewife before working in the business and finance office of Harrisburg Area Community College. She retired in 1988. This collection consists of three baby books. One, from 1915, is a baby book for Thomas Newton McCreary, a relative by marriage of Doris Long Allamong, and includes entries on his development, etc. The other two books belonged to Doris Long Allamong, who did not record any information in them. These books offer guidance on proper food, clothing, etc., for babies.

Grace Lathrop Mack, the daughter of Roberta S. Mack and Joseph Lathrop Mack, was born in Rockmart, Georgia. She attended elementary and junior high school in Michigan City, Indiana. The collection consists of a baby book (Baby's Life, published by Barse and Hopkins, 1913) detailing her birth and early years. It also includes photographs, a family tree, and grade cards.

The Joyce family were Irish-Americans living in Massachusetts. The collection consists of the baby book of Joyce Anne Mahoney and family photographs.

Louise Walker McCannel was a generous philanthropist and outspoken activist for racial equality and equity in urban housing. Her collection includes a number of baby books for her children and other family members. The level of detail and consistency of weekly entries in the baby books kept by McCannel make them remarkable.

Margaret Codrington Foster Thomas was the first woman graduate of the Yale School of the Fine Arts and the wife of Rev. George H. Thomas of Chicago, Ill. The collection includes two baby books: one regarding Thomas's early years (as well as her brother Willie's), 1876-1889; and a second regarding Thomas's sister Josephine Bicknell Foster (b. 1883) and brother Allen Evarts Foster (b. 1884), 1883-1896. Also included are photographs, letters, drawings, locks of hair, etc.