Sheila Mackenzie Jewett Bailey was born in Worcester, Massachusetts, where her father was a writer and publisher of the Worcester Gazette. John Howard Jewett, known as Howard, was the author of The Bunny Stories series for children, originally created for his daughter. Sheila Jewett Bailey attended the Dalzell School in Worcester. The collection includes personal correspondence, scrapbooks, writings, photographs, clippings, pencil drawings, etc., primarily documenting Bailey's girlhood, early married life, and motherhood.

Wilhelmina "Mimi" Van Liere Batchelder-Brown was born in Morgantown, West Virginia, in 1933. From 1947 to 1950, Batchelder-Brown attended Westtown School, a Quaker co-educational boarding school in Pennsylvania. In 1950 she began studies at Radcliffe College, majoring in American History and also participating in a joint Radcliffe-Massachusetts General Hospital nursing program, graduating in 1954. The collection consists primarily of letters Wilhelmina Batchelder-Brown sent her parents between 1939 and 1985. Topics include her experiences at summer camp and boarding school; while a student at Radcliffe College; and as a participant in the joint Radcliffe-Massachusetts General Hospital nursing program, with many letters describing her active social and dating life.

Dorothy Bronson Beeler attended Hamilton High School in Ohio and graduated from Radcliffe College in 1933. This collection consists of scrapbooks (1922-1934) containing clippings, programs, dance cards, cartoons, photographs, and college exams reflecting teenage life in Hamilton, Ohio, travel to Europe, and Beeler’s freshman year at Radcliffe.

Mary Hawthorne White Bunker grew up in Needham, Mass., graduated from Radcliffe (A.B. 1894), and married Clarence Alfred Bunker, an attorney, in 1897. She was active in clubs in Wellesley, Massachusetts, and in the Girl Scouts. Daily entries in Bunker's diaries describe her teenage years, avocation for tennis, college studies, and married life.

Sarah Eden Browne Chamberlin studied at Radcliffe (1912-1916) and was active in the League of Women Voters and other civic and charitable organizations. This collection includes her typescript memoir of childhood and family life (1898-1912) in Putnamville and Salem, Mass.

Martha Elizabeth Chew grew up in North Carolina and graduated from Agnes Scott College in Decatur, GA (B.A., 1963), Johns Hopkins University (M.A., 1964), and Boston University (Ph.D., 1976). The bulk of the collection is correspondence concerning Chew's childhood in North Carolina during the 1940s and 1950s, as well as her college years. Most of the letters were written by Chew to her parents and grandparents, although others are included. These letters and photographs provide a continuous record of her life at Agnes Scott College. Also included are samples of her writing, ranging from stories written for school poetry competitions to several theater pieces. Of particular interest for its glimpses into the mind of an adolescent is a photograph album from a trip she took to Florida with a group of friends in 1958.

This collection consists of a manuscript autobiography in which Dorothy Kneeland Clark describes her childhood in Keene, New Hampshire, where she was born in 1906. She attended Boston University, graduated from Wellesley College, and did graduate work at Radcliffe.

Catherine Bly Cox (College of William and Mary, B.A., 1971; Oxford, B. Phil., 1974; Yale, Ph.D., 1980) grew up in Newton, Iowa, and has taught English at Rutgers University since 1979. This collection consists of three diaries (1962, 1963, 1966-1967) Cox kept as a teenager in Newton, Iowa, letters from Cox to herself, biographical information, and a photograph.

Adeline Jones lived in North Wilkesboro, North Carolina. In 1931 she seems to have attended school in the area of Tarpon Springs, Florida. By 1936 she was in her junior year at Greensboro College (Greensboro, N.C.). This collection consists of a five-year diary detailing her daily activities, including movies seen, visits, and dating. She also makes mention of a cyclone that hit Greensboro in 1936.

Harriet Knowlton was born in Massachusetts in 1907 and graduated from Girls' Latin School in 1923. She attended Radcliffe College until 1925 and graduated from Bryant and Stratton College in 1926, when she relocated with her mother and sister to Banning, California. There she worked as a stenographer and played the piano at movie theaters and dances. The collection consists of one diary, including entries describing Knowlton's life in Banning, California. Topics include her daily activities, romantic relationships, social life, and thoughts about the meaning of life.

An editor and reviewer, Rebecca Lawrence Lowrie (Vassar College, A.B., 1913; Radcliffe, A.M., 1915) taught briefly at Knox College (1915-1917?). Lowrie also reviewed books for Harpers and other periodicals and edited the Vassar Alumnae Quarterly. In 1928 she published Cambric Tea, an autobiographical novel ending at the age of eight. This collection contains Lowrie's journals, poems, and correspondence with Sarah Gibson Blanding and Florence Clothier Wislocki about Vassar College, as well as her childhood autobiography.

Elizabeth Weichel Moore (Radcliffe A.B. 1946) studied geology in college and pursued graduate study in crystallography at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1946-1948), while doing research at Polaroid Corporation and then at Harvard Medical School and Baird Associates. This collection includes her autobiography in five volumes, illustrated by photocopies of clippings, programs, flyers, and photographs, which describes her childhood and adolescence, Radcliffe College years, career in crystallography, family life, and a trip to China (1999).

Author and translator Dorothy Richardson was born and raised in England. She was a teacher and a dentist's assistant; after her marriage to artist Alan Odle, she concentrated on writing. This collection includes typed notes regarding childhood memories by her sister Jessie.

Yvonne Skinner grew up in Chicago and nearby Flossmoor, and she attended the high school of the University of Chicago as well as attending the university itself, where she studied writing and psychology. This collection consists of diaries, notebooks, stories, poems, and college papers. The diaries cover the years 1923-1934 (with one passage written in 1937) and record the family life, activities, friendships, thoughts, and feelings of a young girl from a well-off professional Chicago family. The later journals record "Bohemian" life at the University of Chicago during the late 1920s and early 1930s, when Skinner became, in the words of her disapproving parents, "the personification of wild modern youth."
NOTE: Originals are closed, microfilm of the collection is available for access.

Anna Catherine Skoog lived in the Pittsburgh (Pa.) area. Her five-year diary, beginning in 1931, details social events, school experiences, movie viewing, and more.

Marion Taylor, the pseudonym of Dorothy Sherman Pencharz (University of California at Berkeley, A.B., 1926; M.A., 1929), taught psychology and biology at Marin Junior College. The collection centers on transcripts of Taylor's diaries (1912-1922), with a few excerpts from later ones (1926-1939). The diaries and her writings, which include autobiographical material, reveal the secret emotional life of a sensitive, articulate adolescent and discuss daily activities, interests, and her affection for a teacher.

Homemaker and teacher Evelyn (Schmitt) Wallace was born in Stratford, Connecticut, in 1923. She attended Barnard College (B.A. 1947) and Columbia University (M.A. 1955). In May 1954, she married David H. Wallace. They had three children and she stayed at home until 1973, when she began teaching English at St. John's Literary Institute at Prospect Hall in Frederick, Maryland. The collection includes diaries, notebooks, correspondence, and household account books detailing her daily activities, menus, housekeeping chores, and finances. Also included are papers, certificates, and grade transcripts from her childhood and academic career.

Helene Vasey Harmon was born in Albany, New York, on November 16, 1922, the daughter of Marian Grace and Harry Murphy Harmon. The collection includes baby book containing clippings and photographs kept by Weis's mother, 1922; and three diaries by Weis, 1936-43, recording school and social activities, boyfriends, the war, thoughts about religion, and arguments with her mother about her marriage.

Laura Scudder Williamson was born in Ranipet, Madras Presidency, India, where her father was a missionary and her mother was a physician. This collection includes childhood reminiscences recording family life, school, and relations with the Hindu and Tamil communities in Ranipet and Tindiranam, near Madras.

Collection consists of one diary dating from June 9 - September 29, 1923, when Margaret Whisenhunt was 14 years old. Daily diary entries describe piano lessons, school, chores, and embroidery. She writes about her social life, including playing games, building a clubhouse, and going on outings with friends. Whisenhunt also chronicles attending a Girl Scout camp and a trip to New Orleans. She mentions her female friends and relatives getting their hair bobbed. Whisenhunt often writes about her emotions, in particular her love for her female friend, Gladys.

Elizabeth Coolidge Winship attended Vassar College (1939-1941) before transferring to Radcliffe College, from which she graduated with a B.S. in psychology in 1943. In 1952 Elizabeth was hired by the Boston Globe as a book reviewer, and beginning in 1963, she wrote an advice column for teenagers, "Ask Beth." In addition to her column, Winship tackled various health and sexuality issues in numerous publications, including Ask Beth: You Can't Ask Your Mother (1972) and Human Sexuality (1988). She regularly spoke with high school students, parents, and community groups on the topic of teenage sexual behavior and was also a consultant for a variety of family life educational programs. This collection consists of letters to Winship from her syndicated column, "Ask Beth," regarding teenage sexuality and other issues.