Encyclopaedia Islamica Online: based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, a comprehensive source on Islam and the Muslim world; provides entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally; new content is added every year in alphabetical order

Encyclopedia of Islam First Edition Online: originally published in print between 1913 and 1936, the scope of the First Edition Online is philology, history, theology and law until early 20th century. Such famous scholars as Houtsma, Wensinck, Gibb, Snouck Hurgronje, and Lévi-Provençal were involved in this scholarly endeavor offering access to 9,000 articles

Encyclopaedia of Islam Online, Second Edition: over 13,000 articles on topics in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies; this online edition includes access to the Index of Subjects to Volumes I-XI & to the Supplement, Fascicles 1-6 (compiled by P.J. Bearman), the Index of Proper Names to volumes I-X & the Supplement, Fascicles 1-6 (compiled by E. van Donzel), and the Supplement to Fascicle 7-8.

Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE: the third edition is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the diversity of current scholarship; the new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world

Encyclopedia of Religion: online version of the Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed., published in print in 2005. Includes almost all the original 2,750 entries (many updated) from the first edition edited by Mircea Eliade and published in 1987, plus almost 600 new articles. Covers almost all topics on the world's religions including Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Taoism, new religious movements, ethics, feminist theology, ecology and religion, gender and religion, politics and religion, science and religion, art and religion, and film and religion

Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online: reflects current research on gender studies and the Islamic world across history, geographic borders, and disciplines

The New Cambridge History of Islam / general editor, Michael Cook, Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010. 

• Volume 5: The Islamic World in the Age of Western Dominance

• Volume 6: Muslims and Modernity: Culture and Society since 1800

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: a "dynamic reference work" written and maintained by the entire philosophy profession. The essays cover individuals, concepts, and events related to all aspects of philosophy. It has greater depth than other philosophy reference works and is continually growing, with quarterly archives to ensure accurate citations for scholars and long-term access to the historical development of ideas