Agriculture

Bibliography

The Farm, ed. by Peter Benes. Boston : Boston University, 1988. (Annual proceedings / Dublin Seminar for New England Folklife, v. 11 (1986)), 192 p.
HOLLIS Record
Appendices include:
--A selected list of agricultural titles available in eastern Massachusetts, 1789-1826 (p. 148-153)
--Selected bibliography of New England farm studies (p. 154-169)
--Bibliography of farm diaries and account books (p. 170-187; coverage includes Long Island

Agriculture in Britain and America, 1660-1820: An Annotated Bibliography of the Eighteenth-century Literature, by S. J. Rogal. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994, 266 pp.
HOLLIS Record

Digital Collections

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture, Cornell University is a collection of full-text searchable agricultural texts (1850-1950). Includes agricultural economics and engineering, animal science, crop protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Texts are listed and evaluated in The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press:

  • The literature of forestry and agroforestry, 1996.
  • The literature of crop science, 1995.
  • The contemporary and historical literature of food science and human nutrition, 1995.
  • The Literature of soil science, 1994.
  • The Literature of agricultural engineering, 1992.
  • Agricultural economics and rural sociology: the contemporary core literature, 1991.

National Agricultural Library Digital Collections.. Opening Series on the search screen allows restriction to particular USDA publication series.

Seed & Nursery Catalog Collection (Biodiversity Heritage Library) 

Archives of American Gardens (Smithsonian Institution)- Many images are available via Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS). Limit to record source on results page.

Periodical Articles

Agricultural & environmental science database

The Agricultural index, 1916-1964.
HOLLIS Record

Continued by:
Biological & agricultural index.
HOLLIS Record

AGRIS covers world agriculture including forestry, especially in developing nations. Use AGRICOLA for U.S. 1975- .

Bibliography of agriculture (1942-2000) includes books, papers in conference proceedings, periodical articles, etc. Foreign literature indexed pre-1987 only, use Agris for later indexing. Thorough coverage of Federal and state publications. Online version: AGRICOLA (1970- ).
LOCATION: Cabot Science: PER 2336 (1942-88) Harvard Depository
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Abst & Ind Z 5071 B5 (1942-88)
HathiTrust Full Text (1942-1992)
HathiTrust Full Text (1989-1998; incomplete)

The online version covers all of the NAL holdings of books, but articles are included only since 1970. For earlier indexing of articles use the printed volumes. Agricultural experiment station publications seem to be intermediate; some pre-1970 publications are covered, others not.

CAB Abstracts (1910- ) includes journal articles, conference papers, reports, and books on all aspects of agricultural and rural economics, sociology, and policy, including agricultural aspects of international trade. Worldwide coverage with emphasis on Africa and Latin America. Includes World agricultural economics and rural sociology abstracts which was published in print 1959-72:

Additional sources listed in Specialized Sources for the History of Science.