Databases and Public Health Reference Tools
Gideon - Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network Database
PubMed - View PubMed through the Harvard proxy server. Find It at Harvard links appear in the abstract view.
Web of Science - Broad index of STEM topics. Includes the Social Science Citation Index.
Global Health (EBSCO) - Specialized bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to global public health.
CAB Abstracts (CABI) - Literature database covering applied life sciences including agriculture, environment, applied economics, and food science and nutrition.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) - Index of nursing and allied health publications. Includes material not covered in PubMed.
PsycINFO - Psychology, not psychiatry. For medical interventions, search PubMed.
Sociological Abstracts - Academic sociology. Social issues and policy.
EMBASE - A biomedical database from Elsevier. It indexes approximately 1,500 biomedical journals that are not indexed in PubMed. Embase excels in indexing drug information.
EconLit - Peer-reviewed literature of economics. EconLit is a comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 600 journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), book reviews, dissertations, and working papers from the Cambridge University Press' Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
BIOSIS - Issued as a part of the Web of science, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database covers content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters. BIOSIS also combines the content from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Cochrane Library - A collection of regularly updated, systematic reviews of the effects of health care. New reviews are added with each issue of The Cochrane Library Reviews mainly of randomised controlled trials. Evidence is included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria to minimise bias. Data are often combined statistically, with meta-analysis, to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies each too small to produce reliable results individually.
Incidence and Prevalence Database - "Contains data for over 4,500 diseases and procedures including incidence, prevalence, morbidity, mortality, trends, cost, risk-factors, and disease classifications. ... sources include both online and print-based texts, government reports, medical journals, trade journals, market investment reports, database audits, industry contacts, medical and scientific associations, and national and international health care surveys."--FAQ page on Clarivate Analytics site.
Canary Database – (animal sentinels of exposure)
POPLINE -POPLINE is managed by the Knowledge for Health (K4Health) Project, which ends on September 10, 2019. The POPLINE website will retire on September 1, 2019. Since POPLINE’s inception in 1973, many free resources have become available and offer alternative access to journal articles. These resources collectively meet the majority of POPLINE user requests:
Trials & Research Now
Patient Information and Multicultural Resources