EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System)
Country and company information on Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East.
Articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences (including business and management).
Includes ejournals related to health care, biotechnology, medical devices, and pharmaceuticals. Also includes articles on new business and technical issues, trends, and developments in countries.
American Hospital Association Statistics and Studies
The American Hospital Association's Web site. Covers recent trends in health care and hospitals.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Library includes Sage Handbook of Healthcare: Global Policies, Business Opportunities, Scientific Developments and general background on other health care related e-reference books. (Select the Medicine section.)
Published annually by the World Health Organization. Reports are international in scope and focus on specific health-related trends and issues.
Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.
Reports and market trends encompassing various technology-, energy-, and manufacturing-related fields.
Provides articles on health care issues and challenges in specific countries and globally.
A searchable e-journal and provides articles by topic collections and/or thematic issues from countries around the world.
In Vivo: The Business & Medicine Report
Monthly publication that includes industry trends and analysis, interviews with analysts and executives, and information on deals and regulatory issues for the the biopharma, medtech, and diagnostics sectors.
International Journal of Health Care Finance and Economics
Academic articles on health care finance from an international perspective.
Journal of Health Care Finance
Quarterly academic journal that covers major health care financial and policy developments including topics such as the cost of group prenatal care, hospital efficiency and debt, and diversification.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
Measures patient-level health data from local, state, and national data collection organizations (including hospitals, clinics, emergency departments and physician's offices.
Designing Care: Aligning the Nature and Management of Health care
Harvard Business School professor and physcian, Richard Bohmer, discusses the fundamental issues surrounding the health care debate. As costs continue to spiral upward and concerns about quality of care escalate, the debate has focused on how to finance health care. Bohmer addresses underlying questions that include: Why have costs risen in the first place? And how can we improve the quality and affordability of care?
Articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences (including business and management).
Find articles from professional and academic journals on various health care delivery topics. Suggested search terms include: "health care AND delivery process." Limit terms to Abstract, Title, Keywords. Modify the search accordingly.
Health Business Fulltext Elite
Journal articles on all non-clinical aspects of health care management.
Find articles from academic and industry journals covering various aspects of health care delivery, including topics such as organizational dynamics in hospitals, and error prevention.
Published by the Kaiser Family Foundation. Provides state-level health financing, health costs and budgets, and health coverage data.
Weiss Ratings' Guide to Health Insurers
A quarterly compilation of health insurance company ratings and analyses.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
CMS content includes reports, newsletters, data and publications relating to health care coverage in the U.S.
Health Plan Facts, Trends and Data
Includes a directory of plans by state.
Profiles of U.S. managed health care organizations arranged by state.
Physician Characteristics and Distribution in the U.S.
An extensive collection of data relating to U.S. physician demographics. Some data from 1965-present.
Plunkett's Health Care Industry Almanac
Provides in-depth analysis of the health care sector as well as descriptions of the top 500 companies. Available in print and online.
American Hospital Association (AHA)
Provides extensive information about the industry and issues.
Health Care Analysis: An International Journal of Health Care Philosophy and Policy
Publishes articles on health care education, health care professional practice, and all areas of health care systems and provisions.
Medical Group Management Association
Focuses on important topics in private practice management including business operations, quality care, and risk management.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
Monitors the distribution and use of medical resources throughout the United States.
Published by the American Hospital Association (AHA), a good comparative source for US hospital data, including a 5-year trends for most indicators. Also includes historical data (1946-2006) for some indicators.
Analysis of health care system and issues in Central and South American countries.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Formerly known as the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research, this organization provides access to data, for both researchers and consumers, about the U.S. health care system.
National Institutes of Health: Office of Technology Transfer
Find information on policies, licensing, royalties, and process.
Reports, working papers and data on international health policy issues. Use "physician" as a search term for quick access to the relevant publications.
Provides news, events, whitepapers, webinars, and jobs on health care industries.
American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE)
An international professional society of more than 30,000 health care executives who lead hospitals, health care systems and other health care organizations.
American Hospital Association (AHA)
National organization of 37,000 individual members and approximately 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, and other providers.
America's Health Insurance Plans (AHIP)
National association representing nearly 1,300 member companies providing health insurance coverage to more than 200 million Americans.
Congress on Healthcare Leadership
Annual conference seminars on many health care-related topics. An employment referral service is also available.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Provides data and reports from public opinion surveys. Surveys include questions on how patients view their medical care, their health insurance coverage, and their views on the medical community. Strong U.S. focus, but does include a growing collection of international surveys.
Country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Alumni version available via eBaker.
Provides access to global comparative data about health expenditures and financing, and health care systems. Select the "Statistics" tab on the top of the page, and then select "OECD Health Data" under the "Databases" column.
Statistics from the World Bank for almost 600 development indicators, dating as far back as 1960.
Includes international statistics relating to health care and public health.
World Health Organization (WHO)
A great starting place for locating data on international health care as well as analysis of global trends and issues.
Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook
Brings together from a variety of sources data on many medical conditions.
National Center for Health Statistics
Comprehensive U.S. health statistics. Go to FastStats on the site for statistics on diseases, medical conditions and significant public health topics. Health Data Interactive includes detailed tables of demographic health care statistics for the United States.
American Hospital Association Survey Databases
A comprehensive census of U.S. hospitals based on a survey conducted by the American Hospital Association.
For additional services, access to the resources above, and further questions related to health care and health-related issues from insurance to public health, please contact the Harvard Business School Baker Library.
This guide was originally developed by Baker Library as a Research Guide.
 | Countway Library Harvard Library | Privacy Policy | Harvard Digital Accessibility Policy |