Human Rights/International Law
Some of these links may be dead. If so, Google the name.
Hague Academy Collected Courses Online. Includes Collected Courses: Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, 2006-2009
Hein Online Foreign & International Law Resources Database contains four parts: I: International Yearbooks and Periodicals; II: U.S. Law Digests; III: International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions; and IV: Other Significant Works Related to Foreign and International Law.
International Relations and Security Network (Center for Security Studies, ETH Zurich)
Treaties
Multilateral treaties typically are administered by an "treaty body" which monitors its application and status, accumulates information and hears complaints.
United Nations
The main UN human rights treaties and with links to their treatry body are listed at the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
United Nations Treaty Collection includes treaties and international agreements entered into by members of the United Nations.
Recent UN documents are available on their website. Older material is indexed in AccessUN and available in the Government Documents/Microtexct Collection (Lamont Level B) See their guide: United Nations Documents. The Harvard Law School also has research guides on human rights and on international law.
Bayefsky.com links to reports and other documents (ratifications, reservations, declarations, objections and derogations) relating to UN treaties.
United Nations Human Rights Research Guide
Other treaties
Other treaties: Africa
African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights
Sources of Treaties Online
HeinOnline Treaties and Agreements Library includes several important treaty series, including official U.S. treaty publications; unofficial treaty publications; treaty guides and indexes; and various treaty collections, books and texts. Each treaty page is represented in both high quality image and OCR text formats. As a cost saving measure, HeinOnline does not review the OCR scanned text for errors.
Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL)
Human Rights Library- University of Minnesota
Multilaterals Project (Tufts University)
Print sources
Often older treaties are not available online
In HOLLIS search Subject keywords: [Country] Foreign Relations Treaties
Human rights: a compilation of international instruments. 6th revision. NY: United Nations, 2002. 2 v.
Documents (Lamont) | UN 146.457.15
Law School | ILS | K3238 .H863x 2002
Law School | Reference | K3238 .H863x 2002
More Information
How to Find a Treaty When You Don't Have a Citation
How to Find a Treaty When You Have a Citation
Researching Treaty Sources (University of Minnesota)
Case Law: Courts, Commissions
UN Human Rights Committee is not a court but does issue decisions
International Criminal Law in Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL)
International human rights reports. Nottingham, UK: Human Rights Law Centre, Dept. of Law, University of Nottingham, 1994- .
Law School | ILS | K3239.23 .I57
War Crimes Research Guide (Georgetown University Law Library)
African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights
Research Guide Websites
American Society of International Law Electronic Resource Guide
International Human Rights (University of Minnesota)
Human Rights and Humanitarian Affairs (WWW Virtual Library)
African Human Rights Resources (The University of Minnesota Human Rights Library)
International Justice Resource Center http://www.ihrlaw.org/
Organizations
Human Rights at Harvard
- Human Rights at Harvard
- The Carr Center for Human Rights Policy at the KSG School
- The François-Xavier Bagnoud Center for Health and Human Rights
- Harvard Human Rights Journal
- The Human Rights Program at Harvard Law School
There is a long list of human rights-related NGOs at the University of Minnesota Human Rights Library.
Reference
Armed Conflict Database covers international and internal conflicts, as well as terrorism, incl. information on refugees and returnees, internally displaced persons, weapons and weapon flows, fatalities, costs, historical backgrounds, and timelines.
Encyclopedia of human rights (online), ed. by David P. Forsythe. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2009. 5 v.
Law School | ILS | JC571 .E673 2009
Widener | RR 4103.4.3 (1996 (2nd. ed))
A handbook of international human rights terminology, by H. Victor Condé. 2nd ed. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2004, 393 p.
Law School | Reference | K3239.6 .C66 2004
Widener | RR 4103.4
Lexicon of human rights (online), by Cédric Viale. Leiden; Boston: Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2008, 518 p.
Law School Reference K3239.6 .V53 2008
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law
Human Rights
United States Department of State Human Rights Reports
Printed versions can be found in HOLLIS with an author search on the organization name.
Women's Issues
Center for Reproductive Rights
Commission on the Status of Women (United Nations)
International Women's Rights Action Watch
International Women's Rights Action Watch country reports
Special Rapporteur on Violence against Women (U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights)
Women and Human Rights Links (University of Minnesota Human Rights Library)
Women in International Law: Research Resources
WomenWatch United Nations)
News, Blogs