Allison was a student at the Bordentown School (also known as the Manual Training and Industrial School for Youth) in Bordentown, New Jersey. This collection consists of an autograph album with verses by and names and addresses of her classmates; "My School-Day Autobiography" is stamped on the cover.

Known by some as the "mother of multiculturalism," Baker began her career as an elementary school teacher. During a parent-teacher conference, the father of one of her students noticed the class was learning about the history of Michigan and had created a paper doll timeline that featured Michigan explorers. When he asked why there were no Black explorers, Baker began to question the standard curriculum and why she had automatically assumed there were none. This event served as the catalyst for her involvement in the development of multicultural education, a teaching approach that integrates the influences and contributions of racial and ethnic minorities and women to the development of society in the United States and explores diverse cultural beliefs and values. Baker held a position in the Carter administration as Chief of Minorities and Women's Programs at the National Institute of Education. She was the first African American woman to be named National Executive Director of the Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA), and she also served on the U.S. Committee for the United Nations Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF).

Educator and founder of the Palmer Memorial Institute in Sedalia, North Carolina, Charlotte Eugenia Hawkins Brown was active in the National Council of Negro Women and the N.C. Teachers Association and was the first black woman to serve on the national board of the YWCA. She lectured and wrote about black women, education, and race relations.

Annie Leland Barber graduated in the first class of Radcliffe College (the Harvard Annex) in 1883 and subsequently taught at the Parsons School in Greenfield, Mass. and Miss Brown's School in New York City. After her marriage to Ward R. Clarke, a Unitarian minister, in 1901, she was active in woman's suffrage in New Hampshire and in the church. This collection includes diaries, English themes, letters and reminiscences that document the early years of Radcliffe College. Correspondence with family and friends describes teaching, suffrage work, and married life. Additionally there are published articles, biographical and autobiographical articles, and unpublished poetry and prose.

Curwood taught at the Ruggles Street Nursery School, the nursery school at Jamaica Plain Neighborhood House, and was an instructor in early childhood education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education (1952-1955). She served on the faculties of Antioch College, Rhode Island College, the University of New Hampshire, and Knoxville College. From 1968 to 1969, she was the Head Start regional training officer for New Hampshire and Vermont. She was also a consultant for many organizations, including the Massachusetts Committee on Children and Youth and Volt Information Services Head Start Planned Variations Program in Buffalo, New York.

An author, reformer and teacher, Dall taught Unitarian Sunday School and classes in literature and morals for adults. She contributed to antislavery and women's rights journals, lectured on women's rights, published many lectures, books, biographies, reviews, and obituaries, and preached in Unitarian pulpits. She was one of the founders of the American Social Science Association (1865) and served as director or vice president until 1905.

Edythe Weiner First grew up in Glens Falls, New York, graduating from Glens Falls High School (1931), Barnard College (AB 1937) and Columbia University (AM 1948). She later served on the first Commission on the Status of Women in New York City and was executive assistant to the Librarian of Congress. First’s diary, written while a sophomore in high school, details disputes with her father, school and social activities, and her romantic interests. The collection also includes issues of The Iroquois, published by Glens Falls High School, 1927-1931; high school yearbooks, 1930-1931; programs and scripts of plays; and a booklet entitled “Graduation Memories.”

Focus on Women, a television program featuring women of achievement, was initiated by Florence Rapoport in 1983 and produced by Long Island Cablevision. Each show consists of a half-hour interview by Rapoport. Prevalent among the women interviewed are writers, psychologists, artists, teachers, scholars, social activists, entrepreneurs, politicians, and health professionals. Rapoport was formerly a screen- and speechwriter, an economic analyst for the federal government, and for more than twenty years a schoolteacher. In 1978 she co-founded WOMANSPACE, a center created to serve the educational, psychological, and social needs of women in the Great Neck, New York, area. Note: Access to audiovisual materials requires contacting the Library to arrange an appointment.

Greatwood contracted polio when she was three months old and underwent a number of treatments, including a stay at the Reconstructive Home for Infantile Paralysis in Ithaca, N.Y. She attended public schools in Buffalo, N.Y., graduating from high school in 1928. She graduated from Canisius College in Buffalo in 1937 and unsuccessfully sought employment as a public school teacher. To gain experience, she taught piano and Sunday school, and she was eventually hired as a substitute teacher in the Buffalo public school system, and finally, in 1946, as a permanent teacher at McKinley Vocational High School. In 1951 Greatwood was asked to serve as director of Christian education at St. Paul’s (Episcopal) Cathedral in Buffalo. Resolved to continue her religious studies, she entered Union Theological Seminary in New York City, graduating in 1956. She taught at the National Cathedral School for Girls (Washington, D.C.) and was director of religious education in a Presbyterian church in Virginia before returning in 1963 to teach high school in Buffalo. Greatwood traveled widely and lived in Scotland for a year, where she studied at the University of Edinburgh.

Rachel Hall was born in Beirut, Syria, July 19, 1905. She graduated from Smith College in 1927. Hall taught at a school run by the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions in Tehran, Iran (1953-1954), the Burgundy Farm Country Day School in Alexandria, Virginia, and the Community School of Robert College in Istanbul (1967-1970). For several years following her retirement, she lived in Bodrum, Turkey. The collection contains letters and notes documenting Hall's experiences teaching and living in Iran and Turkey from the 1950s to the 1970s.

Marion Hathway graduated from Radcliffe College in 1916. This collection consists of four college scrapbooks including diary entries, correspondence, clippings, programs, invitations, photographs, etc.; and two scrapbooks documenting her teaching career at Resthaven School in Mendon, Mass.

This collection consists of a book of lesson plans entitled Graded Sewing Course, most likely prepared as part of Kaliski's college graduation requirements. The book includes typed histories of the manual training movement in the United States and New York City and manuscript lessons giving instructions and samples of cordwork, braiding, and sewing, among others. Samples include frames, bookmarks, pull cords, buttonholes, decorative stitching, hemming, etc. This collection also includes biographical information about Kaliski.

Kingsley was a schoolteacher in western Massachusetts. It appears that she taught there as well as in Housatonic, N.Y., Lansdowne, Penn., and New Haven, Conn., where she also took courses. This collection consists of a diary describing her teaching, studies, romantic interests, travels, and other daily concerns. Also included are accounts detailing her expenditures.

Leland graduated from Colby College in 1882. She taught mathematics at Newton High School in Newton, MA, beginning in 1900. She also taught in Scituate, MA, and Springfield, VT. This collection includes letters from her family and school and college friends describing home and family life, life at Colby, Wellesley, and Smith colleges, experiences teaching men and women, and the influence of a teacher on her students.

Educator and activist Marya Randall Levenson attended Brandeis University (B.A. 1964), Boston University (M.Ed. 1971) and Harvard Graduate School of Education (Ed.D. 1984). An advocate of school reform, Levenson was involved in founding the Teacher Center in Dorchester, Mass., and in publishing The Red Pencil, a publication for radical teachers. She was on the faculties and administrations of a number of Boston-area public schools, including Newton North High School where she served as principal (1982-1990). She later served as superintendent of North Colonie Central Schools in New York (1990-2001) and in 2001 joined Brandeis University as the Harry S. Levitan Director of the Education Program. A member of the executive board of the Boston Teachers Union (1975-1976), Levenson was active in the feminist and welfare rights movements, working with Mothers for Adequate Welfare and Students for a Democratic Society's Economic Research and Action Program.

Edith May taught at Dana Hall School in Wellesley, Massachusetts, and during the summers traveled in Europe. In 1904 she founded the Travel School for American Girls, based in Paris and Florence, which offered an eight-month educational program and which flourished until the outbreak of World War I. After the war, Edith May founded and directed the Villa Collina Ridente, Centre for European and International Studies, in Florence, Italy, which was unique for its time and eventually offered post-graduate courses. The property was destroyed during World War II and she sold it in 1951.

Known for establishing the research field of gender and political science, Susan Moller Okin was a liberal theorist whose feminist perspective challenged the established thinking on political philosophers regarding questions about gender and the family. This collection includes correspondence with colleagues and publishers, typewritten draft manuscripts, syllabi, teaching notes, and class readings. The materials document Okin's development of her gender and political science courses and her struggles asserting herself in a male-dominated academic department.

Suffragist and mathematician Helen Barten (Brewster) Owens received her Ph.D. in mathematics in 1910 from Cornell University, where her husband, Frederick William Owens, was a professor of mathematics. She served as chair of the Resolutions Committee for the New York State Woman Suffrage Association (1910), organized the College Equal Suffrage League at Cornell (1911), and was a paid organizer and chair of the Sixth Judicial District for the Empire State Campaign Committee (1913-1916). She also campaigned for suffrage in Kansas (1911-1912). Owens taught math at Wells College in Aurora, N.Y. (1914-1917) and at Cornell (1917-1922). She was associate editor of American Mathematical Monthly and conducted research on women in mathematics and sciences.

This collection consists of five diaries (1854-1858, 1864) in which Quick describes her life as a student and teacher at Framingham, Mass., State Normal School and then as the wife of clergyman A. J. Quick in Richmond, Mass. It also includes three letters to her mother and a scrapbook containing clippings, pictures of schools, and a manuscript titled "Female Education" (1817), by Caroline Prescott.

The youngest of three children born to John Louis and Fannie (Wheelock) Rousmaniere, Mary Stone Rousmaniere was raised in Roxbury, Massachusetts. Educator Frances (Rousmaniere) Dewing was her older sister. Rousmaniere attended St. Margaret's School in Connecticut and the Froebelian Kindergarten Teacher Training School in Boston, graduating in 1905, but she never taught formally. The collection includes letters to Frances R. Dewing; memorabilia and documents related to her training as a Froebelian kindergarten teacher; and a scrapbook compiled by her sister, Frances, during her time at Wellesley College, 1894-1899.

In 1935 Simpson founded Spring Farm School in New Hope, Pennsylvania, to provide a child-centered environment that nurtured the whole child. The school eventually closed in 1938, and through the 1940s she taught at schools in Maryland and Massachusetts. Simpson and her husband parted ways at some point and eventually divorced. Simpson eventually settled in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1948. Her love of teaching continued throughout her life, and in 1962, at the age of sixty-seven, she traveled to Lucknow, India, where she spent the year teaching young women at the Isabella Thoburn College.

Tank traveled to England in August 1939 and was stranded there by the outbreak of World War II. In May 1940 she began working as a housemother at the American College for Girls in Istanbul, Turkey; she later taught English and science there. She left Turkey in July 1943 and began working for the American Red Cross in Cairo, Egypt, returning to the U.S. in December. In the late 1940s and early 1950s, she taught in one-room schoolhouses in Colorado and Wyoming, where she rode a horse to work each day. She received her master's degree from Columbia University's Teachers College in 1954, and from 1960 until her retirement in 1971, she taught second and third grade in Coxsackie, New York.

Educator (Vassar College, A.B. 1910; University of Michigan, A.M. 1911), Katharine Taylor taught at Vassar (1913-1916) and the Parker School, in Chicago (1916-1921). She then became Director of the Shady Hill School in Cambridge (1921-1949), chairman of the Education and Child Care Project in Germany of the Unitarian Service Committee (1949-1953), consultant to the New World Foundation (1955-1976), and consultant to the International Schools Foundation (1959-1960). This collection includes correspondence; manuscript and typescript drafts of articles and talks; material on the Shady Hill School, including information on teacher training, curriculum, and learning as well as poetry, articles, and plays by students; and reports on the International Schools Service and New World Foundation.

An educator and student of philosophy, Thompson taught at Thayer Academy in Braintree, Mass., for 44 years, many of them as chairman of the history department. During this time, she also continued her education at Radcliffe (B.A. 1898, M.A. 1899) and received an honorary D. Lit degree from Tufts University (1900). In 1895 Thompson published The Unity of Fichte's Doctrine of Knowledge. She was the daughter of William A. and Harriot Boynton Thompson, who lived in Iowa in the 1840s and 1850s; her mother later worked at the Boston Children's Friend Society and ran a boarding house for schoolteachers.

Trebilcot was a pioneer in women's studies and feminist philosophy. She joined Washington University in St. Louis in 1970 as assistant professor of philosophy and became the first woman to receive tenure in the philosophy department in 1977. Trebilcot played an integral role in developing the women's studies program at Washington University. The program started as a special major and later developed into an interdisciplinary program; Trebilcot served as coordinator from 1980 to 1992. She retired as professor emerita of both women's studies and philosophy in 1995.

Walker was a student at West Newton (Mass.) Normal School. Journals kept by Walker during her junior and senior terms in school record subjects taught and teaching methods, as well as personal problems. In her journals, Walker refers to the principal of the school as Father P., and this is the educator Cyrus Pierce.

Beatrice Jeanette Whiting was an African American home economics teacher at Armstrong High School in Richmond, Virginia. This collection consists of a volume of sewing exercises completed by Whiting (with instructions and samples), undated but probably circa 1915; and a volume presented to Whiting upon her retirement in 1960 containing congratulatory messages from the faculty of Armstrong High School.

Educator and minister, Deborah (Cannon) Patridge Wolfe was born in Cranford, N.J., in 1916 and educated at New Jersey State Teachers College (B.S. 1937) and Columbia University (M.A. 1938, Ed.D. 1945). She was on the faculty at Tuskegee Institute (1938-1950), serving as head of the Department of Elementary Education and as director of the graduate studies program, and at Queens College, City University of New York, where she was professor of education.