The faculty experience
Judah Monis (1683-1764), a Jewish scholar and educator, was the first instructor of Hebrew at Harvard, where he taught from 1722 to 1760.
- Monis, Judah, 1683-1764. Judah Monis collection, 1725-1735., Harvard University Archives call # HUG 1580.5 and available online
- Monis, Judah, et al. Rabbinical Manuscripts of Judah Monis, ca. 1700s. Harvard University Archives call # HUG 1580.74 and available online
- Monis, Judah. Biblical Texts in Hebrew, circa 1740s? Harvard University Archives call # HUG 1580.7 and available online
- Side Chair Possibly Belonging to Judah Monis, circa 1700. Harvard University Archives call # HUG 1580.12 and available online.
For information about the religious and social context of Monis’s presence at Harvard, see Chapter 3. “A Jew Rarely Comes Over to us but he Brings Treasures with him”: The Conversion and Harvard Career of Judah Monis in Hoberman, Michael. New Israel/New England: Jews and Puritans in Early America. University of Massachusetts Press, 2011.
Harry Wolfson (1887-1974) was the Nathan Littauer Professor of Jewish History and Philosophy at Harvard from 1925 to 1958.
- Wolfson, Harry Austryn. Papers of Harry Austryn Wolfson, 1915-1958 (Inclusive). Harvard University Archives call # HUGFP 58.xx and HUGB W654.xx
- Gerber, Michael. Harry Austryn Wolfson : the Personal Struggles and Intellectual Projects of a Jewish Immigrant at Harvard, 2002. Harvard University Archives call # HU 92.2002.218
- Harvard University Jewish Faculty Luncheon Group. Records of the Harvard University Jewish Faculty Luncheon Group, 1969-1972. Harvard University Archives call # HUD 3466.2000