[FAS] Celt 110: Research Guide for The Celtic Arthur

Artstor is an image collection with content from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, including Harvard collections.

Bridgeman Art Library offers keyword searching and display of its collection of over 350,000 art images from more than 8,000 major international museums, galleries, auction houses, and other collections.

Google has partnered with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online. Some paintings are viewable in ‘gigapixel’ format, allowing you to zoom in at brushstroke level to examine incredible detail. However, images are not available to download.

Harvard University Library Digital Collections showcases selected digital image collections created from unique Harvard Library holdings across a broad range of disciplines and cultural history worldwide.

HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. To date, only a portion of Harvard’s visual resources are described herein.

To listen, check the box next to any item(s) on the list, then click the play button at the top of the screen. The libretto is also available.

To listen, check the box next to item #15 on the list, then click the play button at the top of the screen. The libretto is also available.

Hundreds of productions from the Metropolitan Opera: Live in HD, telecasts from the 1970s-2000s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.

A family of audio and video collections, including: Classical Music Library; Classical Performance in Video, Jazz Music Library; Opera in Video; Dance in Video; American Music; Smithsonian Global Sound; Contemporary World Music; Popular Music Library; Theatre in Video

Classical, world, jazz, and folk recordings, with biographical information, opera synopses and libretti, glossaries and pronunciation guides.

Links to a variety of audio and video collections.

Includes full performances, rehearsal rooms, dressing room, backstage, documentaries and interviews from British theatre.

This anthology reproduces six plays based on stories of King Arthur from a variety of periods. Originally published in 1991, it offers a comprehensive discussion of Arthurian Drama in introduction and also provides an appendix listing printed scripts in English that address Arthurian legend. In the "Get It" section of this book's HOLLIS record, you may click "Scan & Deliver" to have a specific play scanned and emailed to you (you may ask for a scan of the table of contents first, or look inside the book via Amazon). If you're on campus, you may request the full book for pickup from Lamont Library.

A research guide listing streaming resources at Harvard, arranged alphabetically by title and subject. Helps you locate and view a huge number of feature films and other videos, courtesy of Harvard Library.

The Camelot Project offers Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information. This major site is run from the Robbins Library at the University of Rochester, New York, with texts, images, bibliographies, and other information.

Indexes thousands of English-language biographical dictionaries and other compendia. Includes Biography Index, which indexes biographical periodical articles as well as collective biography.  Indexes Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography.

A wide-ranging and detailed investigation of folk heroes, both fictional and historical, from the earliest times to the present, taken from societies throughout the world as they exist in folktales, folksongs, customs, speech, and other folklore genres. A general index combined with indexes by heroic type and by country/culture make research easy. Note: While the Harvard Libraries are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this title is temporarily available for Check Out via HathiTrust. Step-by-step instructions.

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000, from the ancient (explorer Pytheas of the 4th Century BC) to the modern (Princess Diana).

Includes full text of thousands of biographical dictionaries accessible by name of biographee. Largely online full text, partly microfiche or print. What to do if a biographical article is not available online and further information.

This Companion outlines the evolution of the legend from the earliest documentary sources to Spamalot, and analyses how some of the major motifs of the legend have been passed down in both medieval and modern texts. With a map of Arthur's Britain, a chronology of key texts and a guide to further reading, this volume itself will contribute to the continuing fascination with the King and his many legends.

This Companion offers a chronological sweep of the canon of Arthurian literature - from its earliest beginnings to the contemporary manifestations of Arthur found in film and electronic media. Part of the popular series, Blackwell Companions to Literature and Culture, this expansive volume enables a fundamental understanding of Arthurian literature and explores why it is still integral to contemporary culture.

Offers an exhaustive survey of one of the world's most fertile and exciting mythological traditions. It covers the persons, themes, concepts, places, and creatures of Celtic mythology, in all its ancient and modern traditions. Libraries are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this title is temporarily available for Check Out via HathiTrust. Step-by-step instructions.

Contains short but authoritative entries about all things Arthuriana.

Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. Grove Art Online provides access to the scholarly and authoritative Dictionary of Art, which is exceedingly useful for contextualizing works of art according to time periods, cultures, styles, media, artistic genres, and artists.

Offers full text of about 500 newspapers.

Covers North America (U.S. and Canada) from early history to the present.

Offers full text of over a thousand U.S. newspapers. Includes all papers listed in the standard History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820, by Clarence S. Brigham. Although a very rich resource, many important newspapers, especially for the later years, are not included. Now includes several post-1922 papers.

offers full text (pictures omitted) of over 6,000 newspapers, magazines, wire services and trade journals. To limit to a particular newspaper enter, e.g., sn=wall street journal and "search term". Includes the Boston Globe (1987- ), among many other newspapers.

The go-to resource for world history from 1450 forward. Excludes North America.

Search this combined index to The Official Index to The Times, Palmer's Index to the Times, and The Historical Index to The New York Times to become aware of articles from the 19th and 20th centuries available in these important British and American newspapers.

Includes searchable full text of these two UK newspapers.

Search across all newspapers aggregated by ProQuest, or select a custom group of titles to search across, rather than searching just one title. Includes Proquest Historical Newspapers.

Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary art. Use Find It @ Harvard links to locate full text.

Includes full-text articles, abstracts, and indexed images from art and architecture periodicals and a range of other materials. Has a large amount of full text material easily available. For other items, use Find It @ Harvard.

a periodical literature database that cumulates citations from the printed version of the Wilson Art Index, volumes 1-32 (1929-1984). The database cites articles from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins internationally in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch publications. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in the periodicals covered.

In the "Get It" section of this journal's HOLLLIS record, you may click "Scan & Deliver" to have this particular article from it scanned and emailed to you.

Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and journal articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Coverage extends to European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This index provides the most comprehensive coverage of American and international scholarly journals in the disciplines of art and architectural history. It also contains an important earlier periodical index, the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). Current coverage is 1975-2007. The BHA is continued by the International Bibliography of Art.

The successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and includes the most recent indexing created by the Getty Research Institute for the BHA during 2008-2011. ProQuest will continue to add approximately 25,000 new entries each year and will index at least 500 journals. Coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues will also be included. The BHA, now available directly from the Getty Research Institute, provides the most comprehensive coverage of American and international scholarly journals in the disciplines of art and architectural history from 1975-2007.

This article is available online.

Examines the grail legend in Victorian Arthurian revival art through sociopolitical, historical, feminist, and postcolonial lenses. Note: While the Harvard Libraries are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this title is temporarily available for Check Out via HathiTrust. Step-by-step instructions.

The author postulates a connection of the German language libretto for Mozart's Die Zauberflöte to a 12th-century Arthurian romance, Yvain. In the "Get It" section of this book's HOLLLIS record, you may click "Scan & Deliver" to have a specific chapter (see contents listed in HOLLIS record) scanned and emailed to you. Or, if you're on campus, it's possible to request the whole book for pickup from Lamont Library.

Among other works, this bibliographic article highlights publications examining Albéniz's (b. 29 May 1860–d. 18 May 1909) principal operatic project, King Arthur, an operatic triptych consisting of Merlin, Launcelot, and Guenevere.

An international bibliography of music articles, collections, and books. Indexes scholarly articles, reviews, conference papers, essays, book chapters, dissertations and more. Strong in ethnomusicological journals and topics.

An index of articles and reviews from over 400 scholarly and popular music periodicals (1874-present), plus full text for around 140 journals. Limit document type to "Research and Analysis" to retrieve only scholarly articles. (Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals, IIMP)

Collection of primary source material for the study of music and musical life from approximately 1800 to 1950.

Part of the RIPM Preservation Series, a supplement to the RIPM Retrospective Index. Titles include one hundred journals dealing with musical life in world capitals and several monumental journals including Musical America.

Hollywood Knights examines Hollywood Arthuriana as political nostalgia offered to American viewers during times of cultural crisis: the red scare of the 1950s, the breakdown of traditional authority in the 1960s and 1970s, the turn to the right in the 1980s and the redemption of masculine and national authority in the 1990s. Its analysis of these films explores their proposal of an ideal past - an Americanized Camelot and a democratized chivalry - as the solution to the problems of a troubled present, a solution that will ensure prosperity in the homeland and a globally beneficial American authority abroad. Available online.

This article is available online.

This article is available online.

Core U.S. and U.K. trade magazines covering film, television, theater, and music. From 1880-2000.

The most comprehensive database for criticism on motion pictures and television, with coverage back to 1914 (although most coverage is 1980 to date).

Coverage only from 1976-2001 but contains some material not found in Film & Television Literature Index.

In the "Get It" section of this book's HOLLLIS record, you may click "Scan & Deliver" to have a specific essay (see contents listed in HOLLIS record) scanned and emailed to you. Or, if you're on campus, it's possible to request the whole book for pickup from Lamont Library.

An index of articles and reviews from over 300 performing arts journals (1864-present), covering theatre, film, dance, opera, and stagecraft, plus full text from over 100 journals. Limit document type to "Research and Analysis" to retrieve only scholarly articles. (Formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts, IIPA)

A multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications and is searchable.

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. Nota bene: In the "Advanced Search," you may limit your search to scholarship in particular disciplines.

Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.