Research Guide for CES Visiting Scholars

Citation tools offer a better way to collect, store, and manage reference information, research notes, and documents. They work with your word processor to manage in-text citations and to build bibliographies in nearly any format. You can find more information about individual tools and classes on the guide:

Harvard Library's Zotero guide includes our recommendations for downloading and installation, with a link to upcoming classes on its Classes & Community page. FAS affiliates have access to the latest version of EndNote as well, via the FAS Downloads page. (If this page isn't working, try another browser and then contact HUIT for assistance.

Need help with Zotero or other citation tools? Email Emily Bell: emilybell@fas.harvard.edu

Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style Online (16th ed. 2010)
HOLLIS Record for print version 

Ohio State University Libraries’ Chicago Manual of Style form guide contains samples of scientific and humanities styles and electronic resource citation.

This Bowdoin College Library's Chicago-Style Citations guide helps cite Facebook, Twitter, e-mails and more.

General Citation Guidance

Evidence explained: citing history sources from artifacts to cyberspace, by Elizabeth Shown Mills. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., 2007, 885 p.
Widener | RR 2117.4

Harvard Guide to Using Sources is a guide produced by the Expository Writing Program.

Journalism Sources Guide, University of Iowa offers a listing of sites, with an emphasis on electronic resource citation sources and guides.

University of Wisconsin Writing Center Writer’s Handbook offers links to examples of notes for articles, books, interviews, performances, secondary sources, unpublished material, with first, second and subsequent references. Also provides a link to information on bibliographies and sample entries.

Walker, Janice R. The Columbia guide to online style. New York: Columbia University Press, 1998.
Widener: RR 2117.45.10
Lamont: REF. ROOM PN171.F56 W35 1998

Writing Guides for History

A Brief Guide to Writing the History Paper - produced by the Harvard College Writing Center

A Handbook for Senior Thesis Writers in History - produced by the Department of History, Harvard University

The Writing Center. Contact The Writing Center to get help with any aspect of your writing. From structuring your paper to forming an argument, they can help you do it all.

The Modern Researcher by Jacques Barzun is a handbook for academic writing and research with a focus on history.