Statistics
The great majority of U.S. and foreign government documents and the publications of international organizations are housed in the Government Documents/Microforms Collection. Reference expertise in statistics and data is also available there. Many government documents are not represented in the HOLLIS Catalog. Email is govdocs@fas.harvard.edu
The Digital Scholarship Support Group offers faculty, students, and staff interested in incorporating digital methods into their teaching and research a single point of entry to the many resources available at Harvard.
Harvard Institute for Quantitative Social Science
IQSS Dataverse Network "Access the world's largest collection of social science research data by searching across or browsing through one of the virtual data archives (called "dataverses"). Each dataverse hosted by a Dataverse Network is a virtual archive or organizer of research data. Data sets are often organized within collections and sub-collections. Dataverse collections include ICPSR, Roper, NARA, Census Bureau and Numeric Data Services. Faculty members and researchers also create their own dataverses to archive their data. Currently over 50 individual scholars from universities around the country have created dataverses and made them available from the IQSS Dataverse Network"
Research Guides
United States Census Data Resources
Several overviews of U.S. and foreign statistics are available:
Statistical sources for social research on Western Europe 1945-1995: a guide to social statistics, by Franz Rothenbacher. Opladen : Leske + Budrich, 1998, 399 p.
Widener | RR 4205.38
--Covers international organizations and the publications of individual countries. Gives references for works covering earlier statistics.
HOLLIS records of books containing largely statistics bear the term <Statistics> attached to their subject headings, e.g., <France--Statistics> and <France--Emigration and immigration--Statistics>. You can enter <France> [Subject search] and scan the resulting list of subject headings or retrieve all the statistics books under France with a keyword subject keyword search, e.g., <France statistics>. This search will also retrieve <Aliens--France--Cultural assimilation--Statistics>.
Statistical abstract of the United States, prepared by the chief of the Bureau of Statistics, Treasury Department. Washington, 1879- .
Proquest Statistical Abstract (current), Census Bureau (historical)
HathiTrust
LLMC (1916-2006)
Documents (Lamont) | Harvard Depository.
Documents (Lamont) | Ref | HA202 .U54x.
Lamont | REFERENCE READY REF | HA202 .A2x Latest edition only.
Widener | RR 4219.4 (Latest ed.) .
Recent editions in several Harvard libraries.
Harvard Libraries Electronic Resources
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS)
Proquest Statistical Insight combines:
- American Statistics Index (1974- ) for all U.S. Government statistics
- Statistical Reference Index (1980-) for other U.S. statistics
- Index to International Statistics (1983- ) for international organization statistics
Full-text of the documents indexed is available on microfiche in Government Documents and Microforms.