Library Databases
Below are some key engineering databases. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
- ACM Digital LibraryProvides access to the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals and magazines, as well as conference proceedings.
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE digital library users
- SPIE Digital LibrarySPIE proceedings include more than 450,000 optics and photonics conference papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging. SPIE journals offer peer-reviewed articles on applied research in optics and photonics, including optical engineering, electronic imaging, biomedical optics, microlithography, remote sensing, and nanophotonics.
- arXiv.org
This link opens in a new window
An e-print service which presents papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas. - PubMed
This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. I highly recommend using the free My NCBI account. For more information see https://guides.library.harvard.edu/PubMed/myncbi - MathSciNetAmerican Mathematical Society's searchable database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
- SIAMSociety for Industrial and Applied Mathematics' journals and proceedings
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsFull-text access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
99th Edition - O'ReillyO'Reilly (previously Safari Tech Books Online) provides access to more than 35,000 full-text e-books from O'Reilly, Sams, Peachpit Press, Que, Addison-Wesley, and other publishers. Coverage includes business, information technology, software development, and computer science.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. - Web of ScienceSearch the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- Annual Reviewsincludes Biochemistry, Biomedical Data Science, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Computer Science, Control, Robotics, and Autonomous Systems, Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Food Science and Technology, Materials Research, and more.
- ProQuest CentralThis database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas and features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
- Very Short Introduction - Oxford AcademicVery Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge.
Other Resources
- CiteSeerX - CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
- MITCogNet - AI/Computational Modelling - books and articles
- dblp: computer science bibliography - this service provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings
- engrXiv preprints - engineering archive
- TechRxiv - preprints in Technology Research
- SSRN - Computer Science Research Network on SSRN is an open-access preprint server that provides a platform for the dissemination of early-stage research.
- bioRxiv - the preprint server for biology