What is My NCBI
My NCBI is a free service that allows you to create email alerts, save searches and even records, filter results by subject, and more! You do need to register but that is free and easy. From the initial page, you can search any of the other NCBI databases (see tab in this guide); see Saved Searches; create or view your Bibliography if you have one; your Recent Activity; and any Collections of references that you have saved.
It is very easy to set up a My NCBI account. Simply click on the My NCBI link in the blue bar on the top right side, and select Register for an Account in the left-hand box.
Once you have an account, you can click on the same link to go to your My NCBI. There you can:
- Save searches, not only in PubMed but in many of the other NCBI databases as well. You also have to option to set up email alerts for your searches.
- Set up a Bibliography.
- See your Recent Activity.
- Save Collections of citations.
- Set up Filters. These will appear in the left hand corner of your search results and will allow you to quickly refine your results. There are three categories: Popular (Caution: if you select the Free Full Text filter, those results will not include all the material to which Harvard subscribes); Link Out, which lets you set up your account to always show the Harvard link; Properties such as Age Groups, Dates, etc.; and Links.
- Set automatic email updates of searches.
Note: Once you set your filters, your PubMed searches will all include those refinements. Sometimes you may want to remove them to widen your search.
You can also easily establish a joint account with colleagues, allowing you to share searches, citations and collections.