Databases for Journal Articles and Essays
HOLLIS
Searching in the Everything mode will bring up articles, both academic and non-scholarly. If you wish, you can limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles, and refine them further by language, publication date, subject, etc.
► Be sure to sign in with your Harvard Key so that you can get access to full text, place requests, and store search results in your Favorites.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
Find journal articles, essays, books, and dissertations on the Middle East.
Aramco World Magazine
Glossy promotional magazine of the state-owned oil company of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, published for a general American audience.
Art Full Text
ARTbibliographies Modern
Bibliography of the History of Art (covering articles and books published1975-2007)
International Bibliography of Art (2007 -- )
MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography
This is the standard database for scholarly research on literature, with references to articles in over 3,000 literature journals and books of collected essays from 1926 to the present. Full text is provided for many journal articles.
Literature Online (LION) includes:
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Beginning in 1920, this index lists monographs, periodical articles, book reviews, and critical editions of English literary works. Many recent citations link to full-text articles.
Project Muse
This full-text database includes 224 journals in literary studies; most of these are indexed in MLA, but Project Muse has more recent content.
Film and Television Literature Index
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
These databases cover both scholarly and popular articles and book chapters. If the full text is not immediately available with the citations, use the blue "Try Harvard Library" button.
America: History and Life
The primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to articles, the database includes essays in edited volumes, book reviews, and citations to dissertations.
Historical Abstracts
Covering the history of the world since 1450 (except North America), this database provides abstracts for scholarly articles from nearly 2,000 historical journals, as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Many articles are available in full text.
Politics Collection
Covers the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. You'll find journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.