Newspapers and Popular Periodicals
MIDDLE EAST & CENTRAL ASIA:
Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives, 1958-1994 -- Includes content from newspapers, journals, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in the Middle East and North Africa. The material was identified, curated, and translated into English by the Joint Publication Research Service, a division of the CIA.
MideastWire -- a news service established in 2005 in Beirut, Lebanon that employs a team of translators around the region to gather important stories from and about the Middle East; covers news from all 22 Arab countries and the Arab media diaspora.
Newspaper Archive -- Includes papers from Algeria, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Morocco, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.
African Newspapers -- Includes papers from Morocco and Algeria.
Nexis Uni and Factiva -- These are databases of newspapers and other news sources around the world, from 1980 to the present. In Nexis Uni, use the Advanced Search; select the News tab; and type your search terms in Headline. In Factiva, the default date range is "Last 3 months," but you can change the date coverage if you need to. You don't need quotation marks for phrases. To find your search term in article headlines, use the code hd (e.g., hd=aladdin).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers -- searchable full text of The New York Times and three dozen other major city newspapers, from the beginnings of their runs up to very recent years.
America's Historical Newspapers -- searchable facsimiles of thousands of smaller newspapers, including ethnic American, Hispanic and Black American, and Caribbean publications
American Periodicals -- contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Harper's Weekly -- America's leading illustrated newspaper from 1857 to 1912
LIFE Magazine (in Google Books) -- the most popular and influential general news magazine from the 1940s through the 1970s. To search across all issues, go to the "Full View" for a single issue; enter your search terms, and check "Search all issues."