Presidents
Context and Background: Blackwell Presidential Companions. Search in HOLLIS Library Catalog: Companion blackwell "Eisenhower Dwight" Resource type: Books
U. S. Declassified Documents Reference System Online which contains declassified documents sent from various government agencies to the presidential libraries.
Some material on the Presidential Library websites is not in the Declassified Documents Reference System.
HeinOnline: U.S. Presidential Library
Presidential Documents Archive (American Presidency Project)
American President: A Reference Resource (Miller Center, University of Virginia).
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. Browse or search in GPO’s Federal Digital System.
Miller Center (University of Virginia) Presidential Recordings Program offers presidential recordings.
Presidential Recordings Project
Founder's Early Access presents documents before they are published in one of the Founding Era digital archives.
Presidential and Secretaries Travels Abroad (State Dept. site), 1901-
Executive Orders Disposition Tables, 1937-2017
Reports of U.S. presidential commissions and other advisory bodies
Current
White House website (current administration)
“Briefing Room” (current news, with links to speeches, press briefings, etc.)
George W. Bush (2001-2009)
George W. Bush Library, Dallas, Texas
White House material for G.W. Bush period, 2001-2009
Bill Clinton (1993-2001)
Clinton Library, Little Rock, Arkansas
George H.W. Bush
George H.W. Bush Library, College Station , TX
Textual archives page, with links to finding aids and scanned documents (broken down by category: Memcons/Telcons, NSC meetings, China documents)
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs 1989-1993
HOLLIS Record
Online guides:
- Part 1: The Moscow Summit and the Dissolution of the USSR
- Part 2: Bosnia and the Situation in the Former Yugoslavia
- Part 3: Fall of the Berlin Wall and the Reunification of Germany
- Part 4: The Middle East Peace Conference Madrid, Spain
Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)
Reagan Library, Simi Valley , California
National Security Decision Directives (Federation of American Scientists Intelligence Resources Program)
Jimmy Carter (1977-1981)
Carter Library, Atlanta, Georgia
Carter documents on the Margaret Thatcher Foundation website
Gerald Ford (1974-1977)
Ford Library, Ann Arbor , Michigan
Nixon Library, Yorba Linda , California (from July 1, 2010)
Presidential Recordings: Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon
Papers of the Nixon White House
HOLLIS Record
Memoranda of Presidential Conversations (Ford Library; includes late Nixon material)
The Nixon years, 1969-1974 :complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files from the National Archives, Kew. For the British view.
Foreign Relations of the United States Guide to Sources on Vietnam, 1969-1975 (2012)
Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969)
Johnson Library, Austin, Texas
Presidential Recordings: Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon
Presidential Recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson Digital Edition (1964-1968) contains all presidential recordings of Johnson, with audio file, transcription, and annotations.
Miller Center materials: transcripts; tapes. Much of this material has been published: The Presidential Recordings: Lyndon B. Johnson (8 vols. so far); a digital edition is also available
LBJ and Foreign Affairs (microfilm, from Primary Source Media): subject file; Vietnam file (linked to guides)
John F. Kennedy (1961-1963)
Kennedy Library, Boston , Massachusetts
Papers of John F. Kennedy, presidential papers, president's office files : presidential recordings, transcripts. Boston, MA: J.F. Kennedy Library
HOLLIS Records
Presidential Recordings of John F. Kennedy Digital Edition contains presidential recordings, with audio file, transcription, and annotations.
Presidential Recordings: Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961)
Eisenhower Library, Abilene Kansas
Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower
Harry S. Truman (1945-1953)
Truman Library, Independence , Missouri -- Online Collections
President Harry S. Truman’s office files, 1945-1953 microform.
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 748 [Level B]
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 748 = Guide [Level B]
--Contents : pt. 1. Political file (7 reels) -- pt. 2. Correspondence file (26 reels) -- pt. 3. Subject file (42 reels) -- pt. 4. Korean war files (7 reels) -- pt. 5. Truman diaries and handwritten notes (2 reels)
Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933-1945)
Roosevelt Library, Hyde Park , New York
Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin Delano Roosevelt (Hein)
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States: FDR (U. Mich)
The public papers and addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt, with a special introduction and explanatory notes by President Roosevelt. New York, Random House, 1938-1950. 13 v.
HOLLIS Record
Documentary history of the Franklin D. Roosevelt presidency, ed. by George McJimsey. Bethesda: University Publications of America, 2001-
Widener | WID-LC | E806 .D614 2001x
President Franklin D. Roosevelt's office files,1933-1945
HOLLIS Record
Online Guides
- Part 1: 'Safe' and Confidential Files
- Part 2: Diplomatic Correspondence Files
- Part 3: Departmental Correspondence File
- Part 4: Subject Files
- Part 5: The John Franklin Carter Files on German Nazi Party Leaders
Diary & itineraries microform [1933-1945] / Franklin D. Roosevelt, FDR Library, Hyde Park NY. 14 microfiches.
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 2864
Franklin D. Roosevelt, "The Great Communicator" [microform] : the master speech files, 1898, 1910-1945. Reading, England : Primary Source Media, Gale CENGAGE Learning, 2008. 48 reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1448
Roosevelt research: collections for the study of Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor / DeeGee Lester. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992, 194 p.
HOLLIS Record
Warren Gamaliel Harding, 1921-1923
Rededicating America; life and recent speeches of Warren G. Harding. Indianapolis, the Bobbs-Merrill company, 1920, 256 p.
Widener | US 7055.25
Widener | Roosevelt 700.H21s
Warren G. Harding papers. 263 reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 89
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 89
Woodrow Wilson, 1913-1921
Woodrow Wilson: A Guide to Selected Resources in the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library: Selected Holdings at Other Institutions (Princeton guide)
The papers of Woodrow Wilson, ed. by Arthur S. Link et al. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1966-1994. 69 v.
HOLLIS Record
Contents of the following books are generally included in The papers of Woodrow Wilson:
A President in love: the courtship letters of Woodrow Wilson and Edith Bolling Galt, ed. by Edwin Tribble. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1981, 225 p.
Schlesinger | 973.913 W75p
Widener | WID-LC | E767 .W837 1981
Online full text
The Hoover-Wilson wartime correspondence, September 24, 1914, to November 11, 1918, ed. by Francis William O'Brien. Ames, Iowa State University Press, 1974, 297 p.
Widener | US 7155.42
Two peacemakers in Paris: the Hoover-Wilson post-armistice letters, 1918-1920, ed. by Francis William O'Brien. College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 1978, 254 p.
Widener | WID-LC | E802 .A4 1978
Woodrow Wilson Papers. 540 reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 149
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 149 Printed Guide
Online Guide
Woodrow Wilson's Edison Campaign Recordings
William Howard Taft, 1909-1913
The collected works of William Howard Taft, ed. by David H. Burton and A. E. Campbell. Athens: Ohio University Press, 2001-c2004. 8 v.
--v. 1. Four aspects of civic duty. Present day problems -- v. 2. Political issues and outlooks -- v. 3. Presidential addresses and state papers -- v. 4. Presidential messages to Congress -- v. 5. Popular government and the Anti-Trust Act and the Supreme Court -- v. 6. The president and his powers and The United States and peace -- v. 7. Taft papers on League of Nations -- v. 8. Liberty under law and selected Supreme Court opinions.
Law School | E660 .T11 2001
Widener | Roosevelt 700.T12c9
Widener | WID-LC | E660 .T11 2001
William H. Taft Papers. 658 reels.
HOLLIS Record
Theodore Roosevelt, 1901-1909
Theodore Roosevelt Digital Library
The works of Theodore Roosevelt. National ed. NY: C. Scribner's Sons, 1926, 20 v.
Houghton | Roosevelt R010.R67 1926
Widener | Roosevelt 010.R67 1926
HOLLIS record with volume contents
The letters of Theodore Roosevelt, ed. by Elting E. Morison. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1951-1954. 8 v.
--v. 1. The years of preparation, 1868-1898 -- v. 2. 1898-1903 -- v. 3. The square deal, 1901-1903 -- v. 4. 1903-1905 -- v. 5. The big stick, 1905-1907 -- v. 6. 1907-1907 -- v. 7. The days of Armageddon, 1909-1914 -- v. 8. 1914-1919.
Baker Business | Historical Collections -- HBS Archives (Chandler) | E757 .A4 1951
Widener Roosevelt 031.3.R67a231 (Reprint)
Addresses and presidential messages of Theodore Roosevelt, 1902-1904. NY: London, G.P. Putman's Sons, 1904, 485 p.
Houghton | Roosevelt R010.R67 1902-04 vol. 9 (1904)
Houghton | Roosevelt R010.R67 1902-04.1 vol. 9 (1904)
Houghton | Roosevelt R020.1.R67a7 1904
Houghton | Roosevelt R031.3.R67a23
Widener | Roosevelt 031.3.R67a23
Google Books version
Selections from the correspondence of Theodore Roosevelt and Henry Cabot Lodge, 1884-1918. NY: C. Scribner's Sons, 1925. 2 v.
Houghton | Roosevelt R020.1.R67L4
Lamont | E757 .R799
Widener | Roosevelt 021.R67L
Theodore Roosevelt: letters from a young coal miner, by Jennifer Armstrong. Delray Beach, FL: Winslow Press, 2000, 118 p.
--Fifteen-year-old Frank Kovacs, a Polish immigrant working in the coal mines of eastern Pennsylvania, begins a correspondence with Theodore Roosevelt after he assumes the presidency on September 14, 1901.
Widener | Roosevelt 342.3.Ar5t
Theodore Roosevelt's letters to his children, ed. by Joseph Bucklin Bishop. NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1919, 240 p.
Widener | Roosevelt 021.R67c3 1919
Gutman Education | Special Collections Chall Coll. | E757 .R8
Houghton | Roosevelt R021.R67c3 1919-3-1
Widener | Roosevelt 021.R67c3 1919-3-1
Google Books version
Theodore Roosevelt Papers. 486 reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 88
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 88
Widener | Roosevelt 100.R67i
Houghton | Roosevelt R100.R67i
Theodore Roosevelt Collection Photographs
Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film
Roosevelt research: collections for the study of Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor / DeeGee Lester. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992, 194 p.
HOLLIS Record
William McKinley, 1897-1901
William McKinley papers. 98 reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 46
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 46
Widener | Harvard Depository | US 6574.150
Ulysses S. Grant, 1869–1877
Ulysses S. Grant Digital Collection
The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant
Andrew Jackson
The papers of Andrew Jackson, ed. by Sam B. Smith et al. Knoxville : University of Tennessee Press, 1980-2010
HOLLIS Record
The Papers of Andrew Jackson (Avalon Project)
John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829
Adams Papers Digital Edition (1755-1840) contains diaries, selected legal papers, and family correspondence and state papers. Includes all 30 print volumes of The Adams Papers.
James Madison 1809-1817
Papers of James Madison Digital Edition
Dolley Madison Digital Edition
Thomas Jefferson, 1801-1809
Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition
John Adams, 1797-1801
Adams Papers Digital Edition (1755-1840) contains diaries, selected legal papers, and family correspondence and state papers. Includes all 30 print volumes of The Adams Papers.
George Washington, 1789-1797