Research Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases
Leadership Studies is a highly interdisciplinary field of scholarship, and any of the following, broadly interdisciplinary databases should be a good starting point for your research:- Academic Search Premier (Harvard Login) Multidisciplinary database covering primarily the social sciences and humanities, with decent coverage of the sciences. Full text access may not be available for all citations; click on the "Try Harvard Library" links to check if full text is available elsewhere.
- Web of Science (Harvard Login) Multidisciplinary database containing citations of primarily science and social science scholarship; particularly helpful for citation analysis. Click on the "Try Harvard Library" links to find the full text of an article.
Business and Management
- ABI/Inform (Harvard Login)Contains articles from over 1,000 academic journals in management, marketing, and other business disciplines; it also includes trade publications, working papers, industry reports, wire feeds, newspapers, and magazines, including international publications.
- Business Source Complete (Harvard Login)Contains articles from academic journals in business, finance, management, and related disciplines, as well as trade publications and industry reports.
Note: BSC is also the preferred method of online access to the Harvard Business Review.
Psychology and Sociology
- PsycINFO (Harvard Login)Comprehensive database of psychological research literature; great place to look for articles on psychological/behavioral perspectives on leadership.
- Sociological Abstracts (Harvard Login)Core resource for researchers, professionals and students in sociology, social policy, and related disciplines.
- Social Science Premium Collection (Harvard Login)Comprehensive database of social science scholarship, covering the disciplines of political science, sociology, criminology, education, linguistics, and information science.
History and Biography
- America: History and Life (Harvard Login)Covers historical scholarship on the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Note: For world history, use AHL's companion database, Historical Abstracts. - Historical Abstracts (Harvard Login)Covers scholarship on world history (except the U.S. and Canada) since 1450. Also includes abstracting and indexing for major non-English, non-American history journals.
Note: For U.S. and Canadian history, use HA's companion database, America: History & Life. - Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Harvard Login)Extensive biographical reference database covering more than 5 million historical and contemporary people from all walks of life.
- American National Biography Online (Harvard Login)Provides biographical sketches of Americans—from politicians to business leaders, from artists and writers to professional athletes—who influenced American history in important ways.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Harvard Login)Provides relatively detailed biographical entries for about 60,000 "significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history."
Books
Search books available at Harvard in HOLLIS, our library catalog:
Search Tips
Use the advanced search function to search in subject headings. Most biographies, for example, will have a subject heading for the name of the person biographed; they will also have a subject heading for the subject's profession (broadly defined), plus "Biography." Biographies of John F. Kennedy, for instance, will almost always have the subject headings Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 and Presidents -- United States -- Biography.