Welcome
There's no doubt that preparing for law school exams can be stressful. Check out this guide for some recommended resources to help make the process a little easier. And don't forget to build in a study break or two!
FEATURED RESOURCE! Aspen Learning Library
Access hundreds of study aids -- from Glannon's Examples & Explanations to audio and video lectures -- on campus or at home, using your laptop or tablet.
Exams Info
- HLS Registrar's Examinations pageEverything you could want to know about HLS exams is located on this page from the Registrar's Office. Info includes schedules for exams and exam information sessions for students, exam policies, and information about exam software.
Law School Exams Tips
There are many books with strategies and tips for doing your best on law school exams. Here are a few.
Note: all book descriptions are taken directly from the publishers.
Law School Success in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF283 .B87 2017ISBN: 9781683281856Publication Date: 2017-07-14[This book] answers questions students have as they begin their studies. What is a tort? Hornbook? Should I join a study group? It also explains and gives examples of the best methods for studying and for taking exams. It provides questions and model answers from actual law school exams. The Nutshell also provides information about the types of legal practice that are available to you when you graduate. And it describes the opportunities that will be available to you during your second and third years of law school, such as law journals, law clinics, internships, joint degree programs, and study abroad.
Mastering the Law School Exam by Call Number: KF283 .D37 2007ISBN: 9780314162816Publication Date: 2006-11-10Mastering the Law School Exam is designed to provide students with a knowledgeable, reasonable, and rational voice to navigate the intricacies of law school exams. This book is practical rather than theoretical where the emphasis is on providing the type of detailed examples necessary to show students precisely "how to do it" and "how to write it." By working with numerous illustrations in the context of substantive law, students learn to: Fill the gap between what the professor refers to as learning to "think like a lawyer" and the actual means for doing so. Create a successful path from note-taking -to outlining-to exam writing. Identify the basic skills that exams seek to test and the precise manner in which they are tested. Become familiar with the general types of law school exams through examples and detailed analyses of sample answers. Use the language of the law in the writing of issues, statements of the rule, and analysis of the facts
Writing Essay Exams to Succeed (Not Just to Survive) by Call Number: KF283 .D47 2007ISBN: 0735562822Publication Date: 2006-08-01Essay exams don't have to be a mystery. With its wealth of visual aids, examples, and practical advice, Professor Dernbach's concise guide enables pre-law and law school students to develop the strong essay-writing skills they need to succeed and feel confident taking essay exams. Now with even more visual aids to facilitate understanding, Writing Essay Exams to Succeed (Not Just to Survive), takes the mystery out of answering exams, with: Clear and straightforward guidance--written by an experienced law school professor A richly visual presentation--that highlights key points Plentiful and practical examples--that illustrate strong writing as well as the pitfalls of essay exams Sample exam questions in the Appendices--that include several variations on the answer
Open Book: Succeeding on Exams from the First Day of Law School by Call Number: KF283 .F75 2011ISBN: 9781454806073Publication Date: 2011-07-26A concise, highly accessible guide to exam success. Provides an insider s view of what professors look for in exam answers, and how exam-taking connects to good lawyering. Accompanied by a Web site with content that is both free (e.g., sample outlines, class notes, case briefs) and for-sale (e.g., sample exams and memos written by professors giving feedback on the answers). Features: High-profile, experienced authors from elite schools with hands-on experience teaching the majority of the courses in the traditional 1L curriculum Distinctive central pedagogy: the pinball method of exam-taking Accompanied by Web site with content that is both free (e.g., sample outlines, class notes, case briefs) and for-sale (e.g., sample exams and memos written by professors giving feedback on the answers). Explains to students not just the how but the why of law school exams what makes law school exams different from exams students have encountered in other settings Detailed examples provide concrete demonstrations of exam-taking techniques Highly readable: prose is straightforward and humorous; key points accented with memorably amusing illustrations Not just an exam prep book; students are offered guidance on getting the most out of classes, and law school more generally
Law School Exams by Call Number: KF283 .S335 2022ISBN: 9781531023751Publication Date: 2022-01-01Law School Exams: A Guide to Better Grades is the complete handbook for students seeking to improve their performance in law school. This book offers a concise and practical strategy that can be applied to almost any law school exam, regardless of topic or level. The new edition offers unique insights by reducing the exam format to a series of repeatable steps. It also teaches students how to "prepare for exams, instead of preparing for class," with proven time-management and outlining techniques. The main focus of the book is on law school exam success, but it also includes comprehensive guidance on reading, note-taking, use of supplements, and common mistakes made by law students. The latest edition adds guidance for in-person and online testing, and three new practice exams with model answers (on the topics of Torts, Property, and Contracts). Law School Exams: A Guide to Better Grades is an impactful resource for students who are beyond the first semester and struggling to improve their grades, as well as for brand new students who want to start strong in law school. Alex Schimel is a longtime professor, university administrator, and a leading subject-matter expert on law school academic success.
Strategies & Tactics for the First Year Law Student (Maximize Your Grades) by Call Number: KF283 .W35 2010ISBN: 9780735591073Publication Date: 2010-07-07Strategies and Tactics for the First Year Law Student gives you a detailed, step-by-step program for surviving the first year of law school. Note-taking--Sharpening your note-taking skills will maximize your study time and improve your grades Your law professor's personality--Understanding it can be to your advantage Study traps--What are they and how to avoid them Memory aids--How classic memory systems work and when you should (and shouldn't) use them The pressures of law school--Effective techniques for handling the pressure from classmates, professors, and reading assignments Taking exams--Nine steps to writing exceptional exam answers The Internet--Useful search engines and websites
Past Exams
Consult past HLS exams to get an idea of what might be in store for you in current exams.
The HLS Office of the Registrar maintains an online exam archive containing exams from Fall 2010 to present. Digitized copies of past exams from 1871 through 1995 are available online from the library. The library does not maintain print copies of old exams. No exams are available between 1995 and 2010.
- HLS Official Exam Question Archives, Fall 2010-presentHarvard Key login required
- HLS Exam Archives, 1971-1995Alternate URL: https://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990004217910203941/catalog
- HLS Exam Archives, 1871-1971Alternate URL: https://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990041699240203941/catalog
Research Guides for 1Ls
We've created research guides to help you find the best study guides, hornbooks, and treatises on first year topics.
Study Guides and Tools
- LexisNexis Courtroom Cast
Access restricted to Law School users. Register for an account using your HLS email address.
LexisNexis Courtroom Cast is the academic portal for Courtroom View Network. CVNs AudioCaseFiles provides audio recordings of opinions selected from cases commonly read in first and second year courses and video recordings of trials and trial court proceedings often involving well known and highly regarded litigators. The audio recordings are produced using professional voice actors and are available for download as mp3 files. CVN Videos are streamed using an embedded player and often include synchronized snapshots of digital evidence displayed alongside the video. Browse for audio recordings by law school course subject area or by casebook title. Browse for video recordings by case name, by practice area or by jurisdiction. - CALI
Access is limited to the Harvard Law School community. In order to access the lessons, you must first register using an HLS CALI authorization code.
CALI provides access to an extensive collection of interactive digital lessons covering a number of subject areas. The lessons are designed to augment traditional law school instruction and can be assigned as supplemental study material or integrated with other course materials. The lessons are written by law faculty and librarians and are regularly reviewed and revised. The format of the individual lessons varies according to the educational objectives of the author. CALI Lessons are available in one or more. Not all lessons are available in all formats.
- Study Guide CollectionThe HLS Library Study Guide Collection contains print copies of Questions & Answers, Understanding, and other series to help you review legal topics. The Study Guide Collection books are held at the Circulation Desk and may be checked out for two hours.
- Aspen Learning Library (formerly WK Study Aid Library)Access is available on the Harvard Law School campus. Off-campus access is available to current HLS affiliates and controlled by Harvard Key.
The Aspen Learning Library contains electronic textbooks, ebooks, supplements, and reference materials for law school students. There are over 400 textbooks in more than eighty disciplines, reference book series including the Bouvier Law Dictionary, and supplements from popular series such as Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law, CrunchTime, CaseNote Legal Briefs, Glannon’s Guides, and more.
Take a Study Break
Taking a study break can help you be more productive, retain knowledge, and be more creative--but don't take our word for it, it's science!
We're including a variety of ideas for things to do on a study break below, plus a link to our full study break guide. Enjoy, and remember--it's good for you!
- Play a game!Channel that competitive spirit and challenge a friend to a good game. Chess tables are available on the 3d floor (pieces are in the drawers; check out a timer from Circulation), and board / card games are available for 3-day loan. Learn more about what's available at this link. And if you're into jigsaw puzzles as I am, come visit the Reference area in 3 South and add a section or two to the ones we have out.
- Read a book!Harvard has a good collection of popular fiction. Visit this page for suggestions on fun novels with legal themes from a variety of genres so you can enjoy something light but not feel too guilty!
- Watch a movie - on DVD!Did you know that the LIbrary has DVDs to loan? Titles include documentaries, popular films and television series with legal themes, award winners, foreign language films, and some excellent comedies. Ask for them at the Circulation Desk.
- Watch a movie - streaming on FilmPlatform!Film Platform is an on-demand streaming video service with a wide variety of documentary films for the academic world.
- Watch a movie - streaming on Kanopy!Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions. In addition to a huge variety of documentaries, it has a strong collection of early, classics, and foreign films.
- Even more study break ideas!Visit our full guide to taking a study break for information about local attractions, planning day trips, increasing mindfulness, and more!
Wellness at HLS
- The Well: Health and Wellness at HLSTaking care of yourself is important at every time of year, but especially during exams. The law school offers programs, events, and resources to help you stay healthy and balanced in all aspects of life. Resources range from information about nutrition and exercise to mindfulness to getting help with stress, anxiety, and depression from lawyers and law students who have been there too.
- Harvard Chaplains on call 24/7 617-879-8365Harvard chaplains are on call 24/7 for both emergency and non-emergency consultation at 617-879-8365. The Harvard chaplaincy includes representatives of Baha'i, Buddhism, many Christian denominations, Hinduism, Humanist/Atheist/Agnostic, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, Zoroastrianism, and others. Reach the Chaplains' office Monday-Friday at 617-495-5629.
- Counseling and Mental Health Services (CAMHS)Harvard's CAMHS offers in-person counseling, a 24/7 mental health support line (617-495-2042) and workshops and support groups.