Skip to main content
 

Digital Collections at Schlesinger Library

Digitization at Schlesinger Library

Schlesinger Library has a robust digitization program that makes manuscript collections, books, periodicals, and photographs available to researchers across the globe. In the past ten years, the Library has digitized 1,140,672 pages of material. From the papers of public intellectual Charlotte Perkins Gilman to the research files of feminist artist Judy Chicago (in process), the library’s digital collections span two centuries of women’s history.

Digital Collections Platform

Schlesinger Library’s digital collections platform allows researchers to visually explore digitized collections and to find related materials based on people, locations, or topics. We invite you to explore the growing number of collections that are accessible through this platform. 

College Women: Documenting the History of Women in Higher Education

College Women is a searchable collection of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, and photographs from the archives of a select group of the earliest women’s colleges in the United States, the Seven Sisters. The intention of the site is to open new avenues for research in American women’s history by making the dispersed writings, images and documents of women students easily accessible through a single search. When brought together, the collections will enable new studies in political reform and women’s rights, sexuality and body image, religion, race and class, as well as major domestic and international events.

Schlesinger Library contributed material about the history of Radcliffe College to this project.

College Women screenshot