URAF HSURV Library Guide

1. READ THE NEWS -- ON US!

Your Harvard affiliation means you can register for free online access to the following publications: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times. 

2. SEE A MOVIE -- FOR FREE -- AT THE HARVARD FILM ARCHIVE.

The HFA, a division of the Harvard Library, is free to students, so take advantage of its bounty! Update for summer 2024: HFA screenings canceled until September due to an emergency replacement of the electrical system in the Harvard Film Archive theater. So you'll have to wait until the fall to check the Harvard Film Archive calendar of events and screenings.

3. STREAM SOMETHING FUN ON YOUR OWN DEVICE.

We have streaming video to suit just about any taste and mood, from feature films to documentaries to BBC productions of Shakespeare's plays.

Have a look at our streaming video guide for resource suggestions that will take you beyond Netflix, Prime, and Max!

4. CREATE A NEW AND AMAZING PLAYLIST.

Jazz, classical, world music, and more: sample what's in Music Online: Listening and the Naxos Music Library.

And hip-hop fans should look into the super-cool Classic Crates collection, a partnership between our Loeb Music Library and the Hutchins Center's Hip Hop Archive. 

5. FIND A GOOD READ IN LAMONT'S FARNSWORTH COLLECTION.

Nestled on the 3rd floor of Lamont Library is our leisure reading collection, built for Harvard students (and often with their input).  It's a glorious grab bag of genres -- with everything from mysteries and popular histories to graphic novels, cookbooks, crafting books, travel writing, and more.  

Our New Book Shelves on Level 1  are another spot to browse. Student workers choose the titles we display there.

6. ENJOY A NIGHT IN -- AT THE OPERA.  

Our Met Opera on Demand  database gives you instant access to more than 700 full-length Met performances.

7. TREAT YOURSELF TO A GREAT EXHIBIT.

If library exhibits are your thing, check out the full list of what's online and on-site right now. 

8. TAKE A POETRY BREAK NOW AND THEN.

The Woodberry Poetry Room (on Lamont's 3rd floor)  is a little architectural jewel, and sponsors many live readings and special events each semester.

From your own computer, you can go into the WPR Listening Booth and hear the greats -- past and present.

9. LEARN SOMETHING NEW AND COOL AFTER HOURS.

Linked In Learning provides video tutorials on topics like data visualization, software programs and coding, business skills, and more. 

10. GET BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY AND CAMBRIDGE PUBLIC LIBRARY CARDS.

As a Harvard student and (technically) a MA resident for the better part of each year, you have virtual as well as physical access to the Boston Public Library (register with Harvard email address from a U.S. location) and the Cambridge Public Library.

With the Libby app, you can borrow and download e-books and audiobooks that Harvard doesn't offer you. BPL and CPL also offer additional film and TV streaming options (like Hoopla), online language learning programs, talks and events, and more.