Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
CIA'S Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room: Here you can view documents released through the FOIA and other CIA release programs. If you would like to view our previously released documents and collections, visit our Frequently Requested Records, our Historical Collections, and our CREST: 25-Year Program Archive. You can search all the documents by using the search bar at the top of the page, or you can browse individual collections of documents on historically significant topics compiled by our office. Please note that not all documents reside in collections, so you may wish to perform an overall document search as well as browse the collections you are interested in. Because of CIA's need to comply with U.S. national security laws, some documents - or parts of documents - cannot be released to the public. Specifically, the CIA has the responsibility to protect intelligence sources and methods from disclosure.
Microfilm CIA Research Reports on:
- China, 1946-1976 Film A 413.1 (Lamont Level B)
- Soviet Union, 1946-1976 Film A 413.2
- Latin America, 1946-1976 Film A 413.3
- Japan, Korea, Security of Asia, 1946-1976 Film A 413.4
- Middle East, 1946-1976 Film A 413.5
- Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976 Film A 413.6
- Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1975 (some online)
- Europe, 1946-1976 Film A 413.7
- Africa, 1946-1976 Film A 413.8
Congress
Top-secret hearings by the U.S. Senate Committee on Foreign Relations. First installment, 1959-1966
Film A 426 (Lamont level B)
The Military situation in the Far East and the relief of General MacArthur
Film A 427 (Lamont level B)
Executive Sessions of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.
Historical Series: 1947+
Vols. I-X US Doc 675.314.5 (Lamont level D)
Vols. XI- Microfiche Y4.F76/2:Ex 3/2/ (Lamont level D)
House Foreign Affairs Committee. Executive Session Hearings. Historical Series: 1943+ US Doc 775.314.5 (Lamont level D)
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
The Vault: FBI's Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room: Thousands of scanned documents and other media that can be searched by keyword or category.
Collections relating to specific subjects can be found in HOLLIS under the subject phrase United States. -- Federal Bureau of Investigation -- Archives. Here are a few examples.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism, 1968-1979 Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.
Cointelpro: the Counter-Intelligence Program of the FBI Film A 254 (Lamont level B)
FBI subversion and ‘dirty tricks’ against the US Left in the 1960s and 1970s.
Communist infiltration of the SCLC microform : FBI investigation file
Investigation of the Southern Christian Leadership Council Film A 477 (Lamont level B)
FBI file on Thurgood Marshall Film A 617.52
FBI files on Black extremist organizations Film A 1308
FBI files on white extremist organizations [microform] Film A 1553
National Security Agency
NSA Declassified Documents: Documents declassified through FOIA requests and Mandatory Declassification Review provisions of Executive Order 13526. Also includes documents declassified because of general public interest.
National Security Council (NSC)
Documents of the National Security Ccuncil 1947-1977 Film A 438 (all on Level B Lamont)
1st Supplement Film A 438.1
2nd Supplement Film A 438.2
3rd Supplement Film A 438.3
4th Supplement Film A 438.4
5th Supplement Film A 438.5
6th Supplement Film A 438.6
7th Supplement Film A 438.7
8th Supplement Film A 438.8
Paper guides Index Film A 438 etc.
Vietnam: National Security Council Histories Film A 428 (Lamont level B) \
Crisis in Panama and the Dominican Republic: National Security Files and NSC Histories 1963-1969 Film A 402 (Level B Lamont)
Minutes of Meetings of the National Security Council with Special Advisory Reports Film A 661 (etc.) (Lamont level B)
[with supplements]
The John .F. Kennedy National Security Files, 1961-1963 (Level B, Lamont)
Africa Film A 667.1
1st Supplement Film A 667.1.5
Asia and the Pacific Film A 667.2
1st Supplement Film A 667.2.5
Latin America Film A 667.3
1st Supplement, Cuba Film A 667.3.5
Middle East Film A 667.4
U.S.S.R. & Eastern Europe Film A 667.5
Vietnam Film A 667.6
1st Supplement Film A 667.6.5
Western Europe Film A 667.7
1st Supplement Film A 667.7.5
The L.B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963-1969 (Level B Lamont)
Latin America Film A 656.1
Vietnam, Special Subjects Film A 656.2
Vietnam Film A 656.2.2
Vietnam, 1st Supplement Film A 656.2.3
Vietnam, 2nd Supplement Film A 656.2.4
Middle East Film A 656.3
Western Europe Film A 656.4
Western Europe, 1st Supp. Film A 656.4.5
Asia and the Pacific Film A 656.5
Asia and the Pacific, 1st Supp. Film A 656.5.1
Africa Film A 656.6
U.S.S.R. & Eastern Europe Film A 656.7
The United Nations Film A 656.8
Israel Film A 656.9
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)
O.S.S. and R & A (Research & Analysis) Film S 145 (level D Lamont)
Declassified reports and documents 1941-46
O.S.S. Intelligence and Research Reports Film A 215 (Level B Lamont)
President
See page in Harvard LibGuide “U. S. Presidential Documents: Declassified Documents”
Dept. of State
Foreign Relations of the United States [FRUS] US Doc 1120 (Lamont level D) some online
Some documents are available online from the State Dept. Virtual Reading Room.
Official Conversations and Meetings of Dean Acheson, 1949-1953 Film W 6816 (Depository)
A Guide to official conversations and meetings of Dean Acheson (1949-1953) Index Film W 6816
Afghanistan and the US, 1945-1963 : Records of US State Department Classified Files
Provides access to U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to Afghanistan. The collection contains 9,674 images of documents from U.S. diplomats, including
• special reports on political and military affairs
• studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters
• interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials
• court proceedings and other legal documents
• full texts of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel
• voluminous reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers
• many translations of high-level foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies
The collection is arranged topically and chronologically.
India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department
Provides access to 53,824 images of RG 59, Records of the Department of State, Central Files, India, 1945-1949, Decimal numbers 645, 745, 845 and 711.45.
The collection consists of thousands of pages arranged topically and chronologically on subjects, such as: political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government, administration, fiscal and monetary issues, labor, housing, police and crime, public health, national defense, foreign policymaking, wars and alliances, education, religion, culture, trade, industry, foreign relations, and natural resources.
India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966
Provides access to images of over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966. The collection documents the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War, and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949
U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
