United States Declassified Documents

National Security Archive:

South Africa, The Making of U.S. Policy. 1962-1989.

South Africa and the United States:  The Declassified History.

 

India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department

Provides access to 53,824 images of RG 59, Records of the Department of State, Central Files, India, 1945-1949, Decimal numbers 645, 745, 845 and 711.45.
The collection consists of thousands of pages arranged topically and chronologically on subjects, such as: political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government, administration, fiscal and monetary issues, labor, housing, police and crime, public health, national defense, foreign policymaking, wars and alliances, education, religion, culture, trade, industry, foreign relations, and natural resources.

 

India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966

Provides access to images of over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966. The collection documents the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War, and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.

Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949

U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.

ProQuest History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

This e-resource includes:

• CIA Records on the Cold War: The CAESAR, ESAU, and POLO Papers on China and the Soviet Union, 1953-1973;
• CIA Research Reports, Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976
• CIA Research Reports, Vietnam and Southeast Asia, Supplement
• Confidential U.S. State Department Special Files, Vietnam Working Group, 1963-1966

 

The History of Intelligence Activities under General Douglas MacArthur (G-2), 1942-50. 

The Occupation of Japan.  U.S. Planning Documents 

Transcripts and Files of the Paris Peace Talks on Vietnam, 1968-73 

---

The Pentagon Papers

The Gravel edition.  5 vols.                                                 

New York Times version:  Bantam Books edition and the Quadrangle Books edition  

The House Armed Services Committee   edition. 12 vols     These volumes contain many of the documents appearing in the other two sets and a great number of hitherto unpublished documents.

---

          

Vietnam and Southeast Asia: Special Studies, 1960-1980

Vietnam:  A Documentary History--Westmoreland vs CBS 

Rand Vietnam Interview Series.  19 parts.

The Philippines :  U.S. Policy during the Marcos years, 1965-1968 (National Security Archives)

U.S. Intelligence on Europe, 1945-1955

This unique collection of over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents provides a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community’s activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, covering the time period from the end of World War II to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond.

U.S. Army. After Action Report, 3rd Army (Europe) 1 Aug. 1944-9 May 1945.

The Berlin Crisis.  1958-1962.  (National Security Archive)

The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947-1991 (National Security Archive)

 Cold War Intelligence Online: The Secret War Between the U.S. and the USSR, 1945-1991   This collection of 2,360 formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher) provides readers for the first time with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

Cold War Studies at Harvard University--Online Archive

The Online Document Archive features newly declassified documents from former East-bloc archives.

Operation Zapata : the "ultrasensitive" report and testimony of the board of inquiry on the Bay of Pigs                                                                                      

Latin America Special Studies

This collection contains one hundred and ten studies and analyses on a wide variety of topics about Latin America in general, and about the specific countries of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, British Honduras, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela. The material includes such topics as agriculture, balance of payments, drugs, revolution, economic development, land reform, the military, political problems, poverty, terrorism, technical aid, and urban growth. These studies were contracted by various federal agencies from a number of private and governmental "think tanks" such as Joint Publication Research Service, Rand Corporation, the Army War College, the Department of State and the Naval Postgraduate School.

Online indexes to these collections are available at this site: http://cisupa.proquest.com/ws_display.asp?filter=UPA_Guides (Look under Special Studies Series, Foreign Nations, Latin America.)

Latin America.  1962-80   Film A 437 (Level D Lamont)

Supplement.  1980-82      Film A 437.1

Supplement.  1982-85      Film A 437.2

Supplement.  1985-88      Film A 437.

 Supplement.  1989-91     Film A 437.4

 Supplement.  1992-94     Film A 437.5

 Supplement.  1995-97     Film A 437.6

 

 National Security Archive:

•  The Cuban Missile Crisis 
• The Cuban missile crisis, 1962 : a National Security Archive documents reader
•  A Chronology of the Cuban Missile Crisis 
• El Salvador:  The Making of U.S. Policy. 1977-1984
• El Salvador: war, peace, and human rights, 1980-1994        
• The Iran-Contra Affair:  The Making of a Scandal.  1983-1988.  
• The Iran-Contra Scandal:  The Declassified History.   
•   Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy. 1978-1990.  

U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009

Since 1945, the U.S. intelligence community has had to cover a half dozen major wars and several dozen smaller but equally bloody armed conflicts in the Middle East, as well as innumerable civil wars, border clashes, armed insurgencies, and terrorist attacks. This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community’s spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran’s nuclear program.

The Middle East, special studies, 1970-1980 microform / [edited by Paul Kesaris].

This is a collection of one hundred forty-four studies concerning the problems of the Middle East in the years 1945 to 1980. The papers deal both with problems of the whole region and with the separate countries of Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, and Yemen. The topics include the Arab-Israeli conflict, the military situation and the internal problems of individual countries, superpower involvement and their policies, an analysis of the oil problem, tension in the Persian Gulf region, United States arms sales and their implications, the Palestinian problem and terrorism. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies from a number of private and governmental “think tanks” such as the Army War College, Rand Corporation, and the Center for Naval Analyses and Operations Research, Inc.

Online guides to each collection are available at this site: http://cisupa.proquest.com/ws_display.asp?filter=UPA_Guides (look under Special Studies Series, Foreign Nations, Middle East.)

Middle East 1970-80 Film A 488  (Level D Lamont)
Supplement 1980-82  Film A 488.1
Supplement 1982-85  Film A 488.2
Supplement 1986-88 Film A 488.3
Supplement 1989-91 Film A 488.4
Supplement 1992-94 Film A 488.5
Supplement 1995-97 Film A 488.

Printed guides for each of these collections are available under         

Index Film A 488 (etc.) (Lamont Level D)

  Documents from the U.S. Espionage Den.  

            Documents seized by the students in Tehran in 1979.           

         National Security Archive:

Afghanistan, The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973-1990
Washington, Moscow and the Struggle for Kabul  
Iran, the Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1980.
The Iran-Contra Affair:  The Making of a Scandal 1983-1988.
The Iran-Contra Scandal: The Declassified History
The Chronology:  The Documented Day-by-Day Account of the Secret Military Assistance to Iran and the Contras    The United States and Iran:  a Documentary History.  Yonah Alexander & Allen Names (eds.)

 

Afghanistan and the US, 1945-1963 : Records of US State Department Classified Files

Provides access to U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to Afghanistan. The collection contains 9,674 images of documents from U.S. diplomats, including
• special reports on political and military affairs
• studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters
• interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials
• court proceedings and other legal documents
• full texts of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel
• voluminous reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers
• many translations of high-level foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies
The collection is arranged topically and chronologically.

 

 Combatting Terrorism Center at West Point