Research Guides: Finding a Treaty Without a Citation: Finding a Treaty by Country

Russia

KODEKS Russian Law Database
Coverage: 1991-present
Kodeks law databases is the major source for Russian law, including access to the full-text of international agreements between Russia and other parties. Available only in Russian. Includes legislative acts issued by approximately 200 executive, legislative and judicial bodies in Russia. Provides access to normative acts of the Russian Federation, international law and treaties, regional legislation of Moscow, Saint-Petersburg, Moscow and Leningrad Regions and many other entities within the Federation.

Has English component called: Kodeks Russian law database in English, with sections: business law of Russia; news; and: the most important documents, including the Constitution of the Russian Federation, codes of the Russian Federation, and the most important federal acts.

Finding Treaties through Official Gazettes or Country Treaty Series

This website attempts to provide links to all official government gazettes available online. It is particularly helpful because it includes an annotation for each entry regarding scope and content.

World Treaty Index

This website offers a searchable database of over 55,000 treaties of the 20^th century. Compiled using a subject thesaurus, it can be search a number of ways and is a good source for identifying bilateral agreements.

United Kingdom

Great Britain Treaty Series
1892-current
Foreign and Commonwealth Office of the UK
Provides lists of treaties. Provides treaty texts in selected areas such as bilateral enforcement, investment, and prisoner transfers.
more...less...
Best to use this website in Internet Explorer.

Using Hollis to find Treaties

1) One way that these publications can be identified is by carrying out a subject search in the HOLLIS Classic catalogue.

For gazettes: Gazettes – [country].

For a particular treaty series: [country]— foreign relations—treaties.

2) Do a search in Hollis Classic to see if the particular country involved has a Treaty Calendar. The word "Calendar" would be in the "title words" field. The Calendar can provide information on sources of treaty texts, as well as dates of signings, other country parties, and citation information.

3) Do a search in Hollis Classic to see if the particular country has its own Treaty Series. You can enter "treaty series" in the "title words" field, and enter the name of the country in the author field. If the country has its own treaty series, it should include an index.

4) Alternatively, use a print resource such as List of Treaty Collections, at Law School Reference JX120.Z99 L57x 1981 or the Manual of Collections of Treaties and of Collections Relating to Treaties, which is available in print, and online through Making of Modern Law (if the document predates 1922).

New Zealand

New Zealand Treaty Series, through the New Zealand Legal Information Institute. The database pulls information from the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Researchers are also encouraged to visit that ministry's website to make sure their information is up to date, and for more information on the treaty making process in New Zealand.