Bilateral Treaties
Bilateral treaties are agreements between only two parties. In general, these agreements are more difficult to track down because not all countries make them publicly available. Multilateral treaties, on the other, tend to be easier to locate because they are often published in treaty sets or available online.
- Base des Traités et Accords et de la FranceThis website is in French and includes multilateral treaties and bilateral treaties to which France is a party.
- Directory of Online Government Gazettes - University of MichiganThis website attempts to provide links to all official government gazettes available online. It is particularly helpful because it includes an annotation for each entry regarding scope and content.
- GLIN - Global Legal Information NetworkSearchable database that includes information on multilateral and bilateral treaties from a limited number of jurisdiction.
- HeinOnline Treaties and Agreements LibraryAccess restricted to the Harvard University community. This resource provides online, full-text access to several important treaty series, including official U.S. treaty publications; unofficial treaty publications; treaty guides and indexes; and various treaty collections, books and texts. Includes over 18,000 treaties from 1776-present.
Use the U.S. Treaty Meta-Data Search page to find a treaty by clicking on “search” in the upper left-hand side of the screen.
- Official Gazettes or Country Treaty SeriesTry carrying out a subject search in the HOLLIS catalog.
For gazettes: Gazettes – [country].
For a particular treaty series: [country]— foreign relations—treaties.
Alternatively, use a print resource such as List of Treaty Collections
Law School Reference JX120.Z99 L57x 1981
Multilateral Treaties
- Frequently-Cited Treaties and Other International InstrumentsThis is a great database to find international agreements that are most frequently cited by U.S. law reviews.
- GLIN - Global Legal NetworkSearchable database that includes information on multilateral and bilateral treaties from a limited number of jurisdiction.
- International Legal MaterialsOnline access restricted to the Harvard University community. Also available in full text from Lexis and Westlaw, and Hein Online.
- Multilateral ProjectsOnline database from The Fletcher School, Tufts University. Includes texts of international multilateral conventions and other instruments organized by topic. Can also be browsed chronologically.
- Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary GeneralOnline database updated in real time.
- United Nations Treaty SeriesA collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. The UNTS includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate. The collection currently contains over 158,000 treaties and related subsequent actions which have been published in hard copy in over 2,400 volumes.Currently, the UNTS is being enhanced
- Multilateral Treaties: Index and Current Status / Bowman & HarrisCovers multilateral treaties up to 1993.
- Flare Index to TreatiesThis site has a searchable database of basic information on over 1,500 of the most significant multilateral treaties from 1856 to the present. For treaties to be included, there must be three or more countries involved, and the US may or may not be a party.
- EISIL (Electronic Information System for International Law)Best to use the Advanced Search Feature. Links are provided to reliable websites, and where possible, information given on citation, conclusion date, entry into force date, description, key words, and language of the text.