Key Databases Beyond HOLLIS and JSTOR
- HEIN Online (Law and Legal Scholarship)
- Gender Watch
- Sociology Collection
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- Historical Abstracts (World History, 1450 - present)
- America: History and Life (U.S. and Canadian history, prehistory - present
Student Leads
Cesarina
- Sample HOLLIS search
- Briggs, Laura. Reproducing Empire : Race, Sex, Science, and U.S. Imperialism in Puerto Rico. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2002.
- Shamoo, Adil E. “Unethical Medical Treatment and Research in US Territories.” Accountability in Research 30, no. 7 (2023): 516–29. https://doi.org/10.1080/08989621.2022.2030720.
- Primary Source: Porto Rico and Its Problems (Brookings Institute, 1930)
- Browse by Subject in HOLLIS: Birth control -- Puerto Rico
- Databases: Gender Watch and America: History and Life (try steriliz* AND "puerto rico")
Joshua
- Sample HOLLIS search
- Hamilton, Frances and Guido Noto la Diega, eds. Same-Sex Relationships, Law and Social Change. London: Routledge, 2020.
- Flores, Andrew R., Miguel Fuentes Carreño, and Ari Shaw. Pathways to LGBTI Protection: The Relationship Between the Social Acceptance of LGBTI People and Their Legal Inclusion. Los Angeles: The Williams Institute, 2024.
- Browse by Subject in HOLLIS: Sexual minorities -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States
- Primary Sources: Same-Sex Marriage (Topic Page) in ProQuest Supreme Court Insight database
- Bibliography: LGBT Social Movements (Oxford Bibliographies Online; see especially section on "The Law and Marriage.")
Saanvi
- Sample HOLLIS search
- Ghosh, Durba. “Household Crimes and Domestic Order: Keeping the Peace in Colonial Calcutta, c. 1770–c. 1840.” Modern Asian Studies 38, no. 3 (2004): 599–623. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0026749X03001124.
- Kolsky, Elizabeth. "The Rule of Colonial Indifference: Rape on Trial in Early Colonial India, 1805–57." The Journal of Asian Studies 69, no. 4 (2010): 1093–1117. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0021911810002937.
- Kolsky, Elizabeth. " 'The Body Evidencing the Crime': Rape on Trial in Colonial India, 1860-1947." Gender & History 22, no. 1 (2010), p.109-130. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1468-0424.2009.01581.x.
- Primary source: "Charge of Rape" (The Times of India, Feb 1, 1876; ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Browse by Subject in HOLLIS: Women -- Violence against -- India
Saira
- Sample HOLLIS search
- Rosa, Margarita Lila. "She Had a Piece of Gold in Her Nose: Early Taina Femme Resistance in Ayiti." Caribbean Quarterly 71, no. 2 (2025): 152-164. [Request through Interlibrary Loan]
- Keegan, William F. Taíno Indian Myth and Practice: The Arrival of the Stranger King. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2007.
- Browse by Subject in HOLLIS: Taino Indians
- Deagan, Kathleen. "Reconsidering Taíno Social Dynamics after Spanish Conquest: Gender and Class in Culture Contact Studies." American Antiquity 69, no. 4 (2004): 597-626.
- Sued Badillo, Jalil. La Mujer Indígena y su Sociedad. 2nd ed. Río Piedras, P.R. : Editorial Antillana, 1979.
Getting Around Paywalls on the Web
THREE WAYS TO SOLVE AN ACCESS ISSUE
- Google Scholar Settings: One simple change can turn Scholar into what's effectively a Harvard database -- with links to the full-text of articles that the library can provide. Here's what to do: Look to the left of the GS screen and click on the "hamburger" (
); then click on 
. Look for "Library Links." Then type Harvard University into the search box and save your choice. As long as you allow cookies, the settings will keep
- Set up a Check Harvard Library Bookmark. It works like a browser extension; click on it when you want to check Harvard's access and it will "unlock" content we provide.
Directions are available here: https://library.harvard.edu/services-tools/check-harvard-library-bookmark.
Try this sample article link: The Surfaces of Memory in Berlin, by Didem Ekici.
- And when all else fails, remember that you can cut and paste the title and put it into HOLLIS to double-check. If we don't have it, you'll be prompted to request that we get it for you.
Research Methods: Qual, Quant, Mixed
Sage Research Methods
The ultimate methods library, it has more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It also boasts the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
Users can browse content by topic, discipline, or format type (reference works, book chapters, definitions, etc.). SRM offers several research tools as well: a methods map; user-created reading lists; a project planner; and advice on choosing statistical tests.
