Social Studies 98

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Annotated reading lists, curated by experts. Key entries include:

• Health Care Politics in the United States (Political Science)
• Health Care Reform (Social Work)
• Health and Social Stratification (Anthropology)

Annual Reviews

A library of stand-alone, full-length literature reviews, covering the sceinces, social sciences, and the intersections.  Example essays on the ACA can be browsed here.

CRS Reports (Congressional Research Services)

Compact (2-40 pp.) Legislative briefs prepared by the research arm of the LOC. Frequently updated (so watch dates). Example reports on fentanyl  and public health can be browsed here. 

JAMA Network

News, commentary, research across practice areas; includes a health forum.

PoliticoPro

A comprehensive database providing news, legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research.

Nexis Uni

Database of news, business, legal information, ~1980-present.

Global Health (Ebscohost)

A database entirely dedicated to the field of public health on the national, international, and community level. Most of its contents come from journals -- and from journals that are the mort read and respected.  Specialists (not bots) create the database and monitor the  accuracy of its contents. and links. 

Health Policy Reference Center (EBSCOhost)

A mix of research articles, government reports, health law, policy and position papers produced by think tanks, studies and reports from major international institutions, like the WHO.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)

A nursing and applied health database, heavy in academic journal content, but not exclusively focused on public health.

PubMed

The National Library of Medicine's database of bio-medical research.

Web of Science

A key resource for identifying interdisciplinary social science research. 

HEIN ONLINE 

The gold standard database for identify law and legal scholarship.

PAIS (Pubic Affairs Information Service)

A ProQuest database focused on all "subjects that bear on contemporary issues and the making and evaluating of public policy, irrespective of source or traditional disciplinary boundaries."

Sociology Collection (ProQuest)

 

Heath Data Resources: United States [Harvard Library Research Guide]

National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP)

Kaiser Family Foundation: State Facts

Sage Research Methods

The ultimate methods library, it has more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It also boasts the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.

Users can browse content by topic, discipline, or format type (reference works, book chapters, definitions, etc.). SRM offers several research tools as well: a methods map; user- created readng lists; a project planner' and advice on choosing statistical tests.

Allegra

• Lyles, Courtney R, Oanh Kieu Nguyen, Elaine C Khoong, Adrian Aguilera, and Urmimala Sarkar. 2023. Multilevel Determinants of Digital Health Equity: A Literature Synthesis to Advance the Field. Annual Review of Public Health 44 (1): 383–405.
• Timmermans, Stefan, and Rebecca Kaufman. 2020. Technologies and Health Inequities. Annual Review of Sociology 46 (1): 583–602.

Alex

• Van Milligan M, Mitchell III JP, Tucker J, Arkedis J, Caravalho D.  May 2014. An Analysis of Prehospital Emergency Medical Services as an Essential Service and as a Public Good in Economic Theory. (Report No. DOT HS 811 999a). Washington, DC: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 

Emma

• Steward Health Care System, LLC Case No. 24-90213
• Whitman Partners, Inc. et al v. Steward Health Care System, LLC (Justia Docket and Filings)

Eva

• Rural Health Information Hub
• Rural Health Research Gateway

Hugh

• Health Business Elite

Jack 

• Castañeda, Heide, Seth M. Holmes, Daniel S. Madrigal, Maria-Elena DeTrinidad Young, Naomi Beyeler, and James Quesada. Immigration as a social determinant of health. Annual review of public health 36, no. 1 (2015): 375-392.
• Spotlight on Access to Care: Immigrant Access to Health Care in Massachusetts, March 2024

Kai

• Think Tank Search (HKS LIbrary) 
• Holahan, Peyton. The Perils of Privatization: Exploring the Side Effects of Privatized Correctional Health Care in Favor of a Public Delivery Model. Wash. & Lee J. Civ. Rts. & Soc. Just. 29 (2022): 329

Meghan

• Meaders, Julie Schwartzwald. 2021. Health Impacts of Petrochemical Expansion in Louisiana and Realistic Options for Affected Communities. Tulane Environmental Law Journal 34 (1): 113–47.
• Rural Health Information Hub
• Rural Health Research Gateway

Shelsie

• Haeder, Simon F. and Donald Moynihan. 2023. Race and Racial Perceptions Shape Burden Tolerance for Medicaid and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. Health Affairs 42, no. 10: 1334-37,1A-6A.
• Pfeffer, Jeffrey, Dan Witters, Sangeeta Agrawal, and James K. Harter. 2020. Magnitude and effects of “sludge” in benefits administration: how health insurance hassles burden workers and cost employers. Academy of Management Discoveries 6, no. 3: 325-340.

Ye Won

• Jang, Sou Hyun and Joong-Hwan Oh. 2020. Health Disparities in Contemporary Korean Society : Issues and Subpopulations. Lanham: Lexington Books.

THREE WAYS TO SOLVE AN ACCESS ISSUE

• Google Scholar Settings: One simple change can turn Scholar into what's effectively a Harvard database -- with links to the full-text of articles that the library can provide. Here's what to do:  Look to the left of the GS screen and click on the "hamburger" (); then click on .  Look for "Library Links."  Then type Harvard University into the search box and save your choice.  As long as you allow cookies, the settings will keep

Harvard Library Guide to Zotero 

Upcoming Online and In-Person Zotero Classes

 

Alejandra

• History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
• APA PsycInfo
• Psychiatry Online

Corine

• ProQuest Congressional Topic Page: Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act 
• Chen AH, Ghaly MA. 2022. "Medicaid as a Driver of Health Equity." JAMA, 328(11):1051–1052. doi:10.1001/jama.2022.14911
• Einav, Liran, and Amy Finkelstein. 2023. “The Risk of Losing Health Insurance in the United States Is Large, and Remained so after the Affordable Care Act.” PNAS 120 (18): e2222100120–e2222100120. https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.2222100120.

Ericka

• Policy File Index (ProQuest)
• Maternal Morality and Morbidity Initiative, Pregnancy, Infancy and Early Childhood Division, Executive Office of Health and Human Services, Massachusetts
• Conrey, Elizabeth J., Susan E. Manning, et. al. 2019. “Severe Maternal Morbidity, a Tale of 2 States Using Data for Action—Ohio and Massachusetts.” Maternal and Child Health Journal 23 (8): 989–95. doi:10.1007/s10995-019-02744-1

Jack

• A Notorious Boston Intersection, Mass and Cass, Faces an Opioid Overdose Crisis. BU Researchers Are Turning to Survivors for Answers, The Brink, August 3, 2023
• Dhanani, Lindsay Y., Berkeley Franz, and Taylor K. Hall. 2021. “Revisiting the Relationship Between Contact and Physician Attitudes Toward Patients with Opioid Use Disorder.” Addictive Behaviors Reports 14: 100372–100372. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.abrep.2021.100372.
• APA PsycInfo

Kaleigh

• True Alliance Center: a faith-based nonprofit organization founded and incorporated in Massachusetts in 2010. It advocates for the Haitian community, around issues like  education, housing, immigration, health and economic development.
• Haitian Health Center, BMC
• Social and Medical Services for the Haitian Community, Mass Legal Help 

Min

• Children's Hospitals Graduate Medical Education, CRS Report R45067, June 13, 2023
• Health Business Elite