Research Guides: HCL Learning Objects Lab: . . . . . . . . . . . . Identify

Browse by Goal: Identify

Help students recognize and be able to isolate and remember information and ideas. “Identify” falls within the “knowledge” category in Bloom’s Cognitive Domain, is classified as a type of “foundational knowledge” in Fink’s Taxonomy of Significant Learning, and is germane to each of the five Information Literacy Competency Standards. See “Browse by Goal” for more information.

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY TOOL

Greatly simplifies the process of creating, maintaining and updating annotated bibliographies. Rather than manually cutting and pasting information, authors can import HOLLIS records with a single mouse click. The application automatically checks for changes in cataloging records, and alerts authors when any are found. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

Other Examples: African Video Collection, Germanic Film Database, Online Resources for Music Scholars

Type: Database

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students use/search and identify recommended information resources, among other things.

Estimated Production Time: Varies (depends on level of customization)

Recommended Software: Bibliography authors seeking to create an annotated bibliography using the new tool are encouraged to submit requests using the ITS Online Special Request Form. Note: This learning object makes use of the Virtual Collections Tool.

Publication Options: Can be integrated directly into course iSites and/or added to the HCL Web in a non-iSites format.

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: Bassey Irele, Chris Jaris (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.) See also: HCL News: Author/User Comments

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- There exists a particular collection or sub-set of resources, owned by Harvard libraries and cataloged in HOLLIS, of relevance to learners.
- The collection is large enough that the ability to search for items within it will be of value.
- The ability to link recommended materials to related sources outside the immediate collection will be useful.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Select items that can be tied together thematically, or that share elements in common, such as authorship, format, subject, and so forth.
- To enhance retrieval, add descriptive tags to each record to supplement data provided by HOLLIS (if it's possible (?), allow students to add their own tags).
Resources:
- Higgins, 1941. Bibliography; a beginner's guide to the making, evaluation and use of bibliographies.
- HCL Communications, 2/12/2010. Annotated Bibliography Application Launched.
Technical Development Tips

CHOOSE-YOUR-OWN-ADVENTURE MOVIE

A short, interactive movie created for research instruction, outreach, or orientation. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example: The full movie and accompanying credits are also available.

Type: Video, Classroom Response System

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students interact with the learning material, give feedback, value or get excited about featured content, identify or differentiate between information resources, strategize approaches to research (such as critical evaluation, etc.), among other things. Caveat: Use judiciously; this approach requires that students will be motivated to watch an interactive, nonlinear, moving presentation. It may also consume class time.

Estimated Production Time: 2-3 months

Recommended Software: iMovie, Windows Movie Maker, Sony Vegas, or Final Cut, combined with Flash and/or DVD technology. Note: Hardware also recommended (clickers); contact Daniel Jamous (jamous@fas.harvard.edu) at ATG to borrow for use in Lamont B-30, where TurningPoint is already installed.

Publication Options: click to view

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: Michael Hemment, Paul Worster, Ramona Islam, Peter Reuell (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.)

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- It is customized to suit the needs and interests of a very specific audience.
- It will be viewed in a classroom setting with clickers for voting on the next scene.
- Novelty and active engagement is paramount.
- Necessary details can be conveyed concisely.
- People/actors will be featured.
- The entertainment value of your content will balance nicely with its educational value.
- Content will be delivered through storytelling or a problem solving scenario.
- Information presented cannot be clearly or meaningfully conveyed with simple still images and text.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Include introduction, body, closing, contact info, & credits.
- If your learning goals are affective in nature, consider crafting decision points (questions) that offer a choice between options with no right or wrong answers.
- If your learning goals are cognitive in nature, consider crafting decision points (questions) that offer a choice between right and wrong answers or that ask students to weigh values or make predictions.
- Be aware and observant of copyright law and fair use guidelines.
Resources:
- Islam and Porter, 2008. Perseverance and Play: Making a Movie for the YouTube Generation.
- Fabe, 2004. Closely watched films: an introduction to the art of narrative film technique.
- Bordwell, 2008. Film art: an introduction.
- Ken Burns films.
- McKee, 1997. Story: substance, structure, style, and the principles of screenwriting.
- Books in the "Choose Your Own Adventure" series.
Technical Development Tips
more...less...
If interested in this option, please contact Michael Hemment at hemment@fas.harvard.edu or 617-495-4548.

HARVARD LIBX

A Firefox or Internet Explorer browser extension that provides instant access to the HOLLIS or HOLLIS Classic catalogs, Citation Linker, and Harvard e-resources and e-journals from your Firefox or Internet Explorer toolbar. LibX also automatically links ISSNs, PubMed IDs, and DOIs to Harvard's licensed e-journals. To use it, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

Type: Browser Toolbar Add-On

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students identify information resources (mainly books or journals, but sometimes articles) available at Harvard while searching or browsing the open Web, including Amazon, Yahoo!, Google, PubMed, and the NY Times Book Review online.

Estimated Production Time: 10-15 min.

Recommended Software: No special software required. See installation instructions.

Publication Options: This tool resides on each researcher's individual PC. No publication required.

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: TBA (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.)

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- You'd like to increase the visibility of Harvard library holdings via the open Web.
- You teach students how to use it.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- When introducing students to LibX, show them examples of how it works (toolbar, right-click menu, embedded cues, and autolinks) for finding different types of Harvard resources from different free websites.
- Consider creating a screencast or capturing still screen images that illustrate LibX in action.
- Allow students to experiment and be available to assist them if they have questions.
Resources:
- Bailey and Back, 2008. Retrieving Known Items with LibX.
- Harvard LibX.
- Pino, 2010. Did the Internet Kill Magazines & Newspapers?, in which a Harvard student describes the utility of LibX for his research.
Technical Development Tips

LIBGUIDES WIDGET

LibGuides widgets enable you to embed your LibGuides content anywhere on the web, including course iSites. You can pick between two menu options for your widgets: "Featured Guides | About" and "Guides | New | Popular | About". The first option is better if you are creating a widget with specific content for a specific discipline, while the second option is more appropriate for general widgets you create to advertise your LibGuides system. Widget background color is fully customizable. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

See more examples on LibGuides Demo Page.

Type: Widget

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students use/search and identify recommended information resources, among other things.

Estimated Production Time: 15-30 min.

Recommended Software: No special software required (use LibGuides). See instructions on how to create a widget in LibGuides.

Publication Options: For course iSites, make sure to obtain faculty permission before adding this widget. Clarify where the widget will appear and its size.

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: TBA (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.)

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- Raising students' awareness of recommended resources is important.
- There is an opportunity to promote library research guides on "borrowed" web space (i.e., course websites and other academic web pages).
- You'd like to promote new or popular research guides, or specific guides you've identified based on any other type of criteria.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Choose the appropriate type of widget: either "Featured Guides | About" or "Guides | New | Popular | About".
- Adding a library catalog search box is optional.
- Choose an attention-grabbing background color.
Resources:
- LibGuides Widgets.
Technical Development Tips

MOVIE

A short movie created for research instruction, outreach, or orientation. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

Type: Video

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students value or get excited about featured content, identify or differentiate between information resources, strategize approaches to research (such as critical evaluation, etc.), among other things. Caveat: Use judiciously; this approach requires that students will be motivated to watch a linear, moving presentation.

Estimated Production Time: 3-4 weeks

Recommended Software: iMovie, Windows Movie Maker, Sony Vegas, or Final Cut

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- The subject matter is intrinsically engaging.
- Necessary details can be conveyed concisely.
- People/actors will be featured.
- The entertainment value of your content will balance nicely with its educational value.
- Content will be delivered through storytelling or a problem solving scenario.
- Information presented cannot be clearly or meaningfully conveyed with simple still images and text.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Include introduction, body, closing, contact info, & credits.
- Be aware and observant of copyright law and fair use guidelines.
Resources:
- Fabe, 2004. Closely watched films: an introduction to the art of narrative film technique.
- Bordwell, 2008. Film art: an introduction.
- Ken Burns films.
- McKee, 1997. Story: substance, structure, style, and the principles of screenwriting.
- Stocklossa, 2007. Advertising: new techniques for visual seduction.
Technical Development Tips
more...less...
If interested in this option, please contact Michael Hemment at hemment@fas.harvard.edu or 617-495-4548.

SCREENCAST TUTORIAL

A screencast video created for research instruction, outreach, or orientation. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

Type: Video, Screencast

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students follow a model demonstrating how to do something on a screen, identify or differrentiate between information resources, or strategize approaches to research, among other things. Caveat: Use judiciously; this approach requires that students will be motivated to watch a linear, moving presentation.

Estimated Production Time: 7-11+ hours

Recommended Software: for screen recording - Camtasia or Screenflow; for editing - same, Windows Movie Maker, iMovie, Sony Vegas, or Final Cut

Publication Options: click to view

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: Michael Hemment, Paul Worster, Ramona Islam (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.)

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- The complexity of the subject matter merits a step-by-step moving image demonstration.
- Necessary details can be conveyed concisely.
- The entertainment value of your content will balance nicely with its educational value.
- Content will be delivered using a problem solving scenario.
- Information presented cannot be clearly or meaningfully conveyed with simple still images and text.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Include introduction, body, closing, contact info, & credits.
- Be aware and observant of copyright law and fair use guidelines.
- Keep it short, but maintain a realistic, slower pace.
- Maintain continual motion, especially at the beginning.
- Add your voice to narrate it. Use collective pronouns, like "we."
- Manipulate the mouse gracefully and purposefully; consider highlighting clicks.
- Use sound with caution. Low-key music can be effective.
- Be consistent with images, fonts, & color.
- When in doubt about legibility, record on "zoom."
- Consider accessibility. Add captions.
Resources:
- Aldrich, 2005. Learning by doing: a comprehensive guide to simulations, computer games, and pedagogy in e-learning and other educational experiences.
- Richardson, 2009. Blogs, wikis, podcasts, and other powerful web tools for classrooms (see chapter 8, on screencasting).
Technical Development Tips
more...less...
Click the "Technical Development Tips" link to the left to see the PDF of development tips.

SCREENCAST WITH VIDEO OR STILL CAMERA FOOTAGE

A screencast, incorporating movie camera footage, created for research instruction, outreach, or orientation. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

Type: Video, Screencast

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students follow a model demonstrating how to do something on a screen, value featured content, identify or differrentiate between information resources, or strategize approaches to research. Caveat: Use judiciously; this approach requires that students will be motivated to watch a linear, moving presentation.

Estimated Production Time: 1 month+

Recommended Software: for screen recording - Camtasia or Screenflow; for editing - same, Windows Movie Maker, iMovie, Sony Vegas, or Final Cut

Publication Options: click to view

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: Michael Hemment, Paul Worster, Peter Reuell, Ramona Islam (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.)

HELPFUL TIPS:

Simple Screencasting Tips (Chronicle of Higher Education)

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- The complexity of the subject matter merits a step-by-step moving image demonstration.
- Necessary details can be conveyed concisely.
- People/actors will be featured.
- The entertainment value of your content will balance nicely with its educational value.
- Content will be delivered using a problem solving scenario.
- Information presented cannot be clearly or meaningfully conveyed with simple still images and text.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Include introduction, body, closing, contact info, & credits.
- Be aware and observant of copyright law and fair use guidelines.
- Keep it short, but maintain a realistic, slower pace.
- Maintain continual motion, especially at the beginning.
- Add your voice to narrate it. Use collective pronouns, like "we."
- Manipulate the mouse gracefully and purposefully; consider highlighting clicks.
- Use sound with caution. Low-key music can be effective.
- Be consistent with images, fonts, & color.
- When in doubt about legibility, record on "zoom."
- Consider accessibility. Add captions.
Resources:
- Aldrich, 2005. Learning by doing: a comprehensive guide to simulations, computer games, and pedagogy in e-learning and other educational experiences.
- Richardson, 2009. Blogs, wikis, podcasts, and other powerful web tools for classrooms (see chapter 8, on screencasting).
- Fabe, 2004. Closely watched films: an introduction to the art of narrative film technique.
- Bordwell, 2008. Film art: an introduction.
- Ken Burns films.
- McKee, 1997. Story: substance, structure, style, and the principles of screenwriting.
- Stocklossa, 2007. Advertising: new techniques for visual seduction.
Technical Development Tips
more...less...
Click the "Technical Development Tips" link to the left to see the PDF of development tips.

SLIDE SHOW OF HARVARD COLLECTIONS

A slide show that rotates digital surrogate images from Harvard's collections, such as those in VIA or museums. These slide shows can be embedded in research guides. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

Type: Slide Show

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students value featured collections and serendipitously identify featured images, documents, or objects of scholarly interest.

Estimated Production Time: 2 hours

Recommended Software: No special software required; however, it may be helpful to edit images first in Adobe PhotoShop or Adobe Fireworks.

Publication Options: Can be integrated into HCL LibGuides, FAS course iSites, and most other web pages by simply uploading images and adding a bit of JavaScript code.

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: TBA (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.)

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- Featured content is eye-catching or intrinsically engaging.
- You'd like to highlight something special in the Harvard collections.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Your slide show may be more appealing if you edit the images first, sizing them to equal dimensions (this avoids a "jump cut" transition between slides).
- Consider the time delay between slides. Depending on your objectives, it may be better to go with a slower-moving slide show than one that moves too quickly.
- Use only a handful of images. 3-6 is about right.
Resources:
- Smith, 2009. Adobe Photoshop CS4 digital classroom ("like having a personal instructor" for PhotoShop)
- Adobe Press, 2009. Adobe Fireworks CS4
Technical Development Tips
more...less...
Open these instructions in PDF format for the Java Script code and technical development tips you'll need to create your own slide show.

SLIDE SHOW THAT ROTATES UPON RELOAD

A slide show that rotates images when the web page is refreshed. These slide shows can be embedded in research guides. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.

Example:

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- Featured content is eye-catching or intrinsically engaging.
- You'd like to highlight something special in the Harvard collections.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Your slide show may be more appealing if you edit the images first, sizing them to equal dimensions (this avoids a "jump cut" transition between slides).
- Use only a handful of images. 2-4 is about right (the above example uses 4).
Resources:
- Smith, 2009. Adobe Photoshop CS4 digital classroom ("like having a personal instructor" for PhotoShop)
- Adobe Press, 2009. Adobe Fireworks CS4
Technical Development Tips
more...less...
Open these instructions in PDF format for the Java Script code and technical development tips you'll need to create your own slide show.

HCL Learning Objects Lab

LOL Guidelines

Page Index

Browse by Goal: Identify

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY TOOL

CHOOSE-YOUR-OWN-ADVENTURE MOVIE

HARVARD LIBX

LIBGUIDES WIDGET

MOVIE

SCREENCAST TUTORIAL

SCREENCAST WITH VIDEO OR STILL CAMERA FOOTAGE

SLIDE SHOW OF HARVARD COLLECTIONS

SLIDE SHOW THAT ROTATES UPON RELOAD