Research Guides: HCL Learning Objects Lab: . . . . . . . . . . . . Use/Search

LOL Guidelines

About Learning Objects Lab

Copyright

Obtaining Permissions

Pedagogy: Design Phases

Production and Support

Publication Options

Repurposing and Reuse

Suggest a Learning Object

Page Index

Browse by Goal: Use/Search

Advertise or promote key research tools and help students by leading them directly to relevant information resources and search tools, bypassing the need for them to search for, sift through, and identify the most appropriate resources independently. “Use Search” aligns to the “perception” category of Bloom’s Psychomotor Domain, most closely maps to “learning how to learn” in Fink’s Taxonomy of Significant Learning, and is addressed within standard 2 of the Information Literacy Competency Standards. See “Browse by Goal” for more information.

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY TOOL

Greatly simplifies the process of creating, maintaining and updating annotated bibliographies. Rather than manually cutting and pasting information, authors can import HOLLIS records with a single mouse click. The application automatically checks for changes in cataloging records, and alerts authors when any are found. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

Other Examples: African Video Collection, Germanic Film Database, Online Resources for Music Scholars

Type: Database

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students use/search and identify recommended information resources, among other things.

Estimated Production Time: Varies (depends on level of customization)

Recommended Software: Bibliography authors seeking to create an annotated bibliography using the new tool are encouraged to submit requests using the ITS Online Special Request Form. Note: This learning object makes use of the Virtual Collections Tool.

Publication Options: Can be integrated directly into course iSites and/or added to the HCL Web in a non-iSites format.

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: Bassey Irele, Chris Jaris (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.) See also: HCL News: Author/User Comments

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- There exists a particular collection or sub-set of resources, owned by Harvard libraries and cataloged in HOLLIS, of relevance to learners.
- The collection is large enough that the ability to search for items within it will be of value.
- The ability to link recommended materials to related sources outside the immediate collection will be useful.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Select items that can be tied together thematically, or that share elements in common, such as authorship, format, subject, and so forth.
- To enhance retrieval, add descriptive tags to each record to supplement data provided by HOLLIS (if it's possible (?), allow students to add their own tags).
Resources:
- Higgins, 1941. Bibliography; a beginner's guide to the making, evaluation and use of bibliographies.
- HCL Communications, 2/12/2010. Annotated Bibliography Application Launched.
Technical Development Tips

LIBGUIDES WIDGET

LibGuides widgets enable you to embed your LibGuides content anywhere on the web, including course iSites. You can pick between two menu options for your widgets: "Featured Guides | About" and "Guides | New | Popular | About". The first option is better if you are creating a widget with specific content for a specific discipline, while the second option is more appropriate for general widgets you create to advertise your LibGuides system. Widget background color is fully customizable. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

See more examples on LibGuides Demo Page.

Type: Widget

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students use/search and identify recommended information resources, among other things.

Estimated Production Time: 15-30 min.

Recommended Software: No special software required (use LibGuides). See instructions on how to create a widget in LibGuides.

Publication Options: For course iSites, make sure to obtain faculty permission before adding this widget. Clarify where the widget will appear and its size.

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: TBA (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.)

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- Raising students' awareness of recommended resources is important.
- There is an opportunity to promote library research guides on "borrowed" web space (i.e., course websites and other academic web pages).
- You'd like to promote new or popular research guides, or specific guides you've identified based on any other type of criteria.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Choose the appropriate type of widget: either "Featured Guides | About" or "Guides | New | Popular | About".
- Adding a library catalog search box is optional.
- Choose an attention-grabbing background color.
Resources:
- LibGuides Widgets.
Technical Development Tips

LIBRARY MULTI SEARCH TOOL

The Library Mutli Search Tool (also known as the Widget Generator) is a utility designed by OIS to generate snippets of HTML you can use to enhance a web site with library system functionality. The Widget Generator uses a simple wizard-like interface to help you select resources, modify form labels, test the form and generate the HTML. Then you just copy the markup and paste into a web page. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

See also: Andover-Harvard Library Homepage

Type: Widget, Database

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students use/search a group of library e-resources most likely to contain information of relevance for their topics.

Estimated Production Time: 1-2 hours

Recommended Software: No special software required. To create one, see the E-Research Form Generator.

Publication Options: Can easily be added to course iSites (with faculty permission) and HCL LibGuides by simply copying/pasting the HTML created by the form generator.

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: TBA (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.)

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- Your target audience has very little time and wishes to conduct one sweeping search of library e-resources that have been pre-selected for their anticipated relevancy.
- Orienting students to the mechanics and characteristics of particular, individual e-resources is not of primary concern.
- You wish to temporarily focus students' attention on the contents of a selected group of e-resources by constraining options.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Determine how may e-resources to include based on your goals.
- If you anticipate that students who encounter your tool will have research topics that map easily to one discipline, choose relevant subject-specialized e-resources from that discipline in combination with at least one interdisciplinary database.
- If you anticipate that students who encounter your tool will have research topics that don't map easily to one discipline, and you'd like to keep things simple, choose a small selection of interdisciplinary e-resources.
- If you anticipate that students who encounter your tool will have research topics that don't map easily to one discipline, and yet they'd like to be as thorough as possible, choose a selection of interdisciplinary e-resources in combination with subject-specialized databases representing a variety of disciplines.
- If anticipated research topics are likely to be obscure, include more e-resources to increase the likelihood of hits.
- If anticipated research topics are likely to be broad, include fewer e-resources to decrease information overload.
Resources:
- Labelle, 2007. Initiating the Learning Process: A Model for Federated Searching and Information Literacy .
Technical Development Tips

VOICETHREAD

A collaborative, multimedia slide show that holds images, documents, and videos and allows students to navigate pages and leave comments. VoiceThreads can even be embedded to show and receive comments on other websites and exported to MP3 players or DVDs to play as archival movies. To build your own, see HELPFUL TIPS, below.
Example:

Type: Slide Show

Learning Goals: Especially recommended to help students analyze, critically evaluate, understand, give feedback about, and use/search featured information resources, such as primary documents, images, videos, presentations, etc. VoiceThread may also encourage students to value or get excited about subject matter because it offers an opportunity to interact with content and with other students through webcam video, microphone, telephone, text, or image and through file uploads of their own.

Estimated Production Time: 2 weeks

Recommended Software: No special software required (Use VoiceThread)

Publication Options: click to view

Experts, Consultants, & Collaborators: TBA (For suggestions or questions from other colleagues, check for Comments at the bottom of this box, or add your own.)

HELPFUL TIPS:

Instructional Design Tips
more...less...
To begin, consult Pedagogy: Design Phases.

This learning object is most germane when:
- There is an opportunity to introduce students to relevant content or materials outside of class time, asynchronously.
- Students are likely to contribute.
- Featured content is intrinsically engaging or can be made engaging quickly through simple explication.
- You'd like to highlight something special.
Pedagogical Style Guide:
- Involve students as much as possible, both in the original presentation and in the commentary.
- Engage students aurally and visually.
- Create a VoiceThread or invite students to create their own.
- Consider highlighting special collections, award-winning research projects and papers, students' favorite library study spaces, etc.
- Keep presentations as succinct as possible.
Resources:
- Lofton, 2008. New Ideas Take Flight (discusses VoiceThread as a learning tool in libraries)
- Anderson, 2010. Expanding the Power of Primary Sources with Web 2.0 (discusses VoiceThread, among other tools).
- Andrew, 2010. Edutopia Back-to-School Guide, Digital Library additions
Technical Development Tips