Middle Eastern Law: Research Sources

English summaries, with links to original text as available, of news from 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab media Diaspora.

General News

The Pan-Arab News Index (PANI) provides news and editorial content from the leading news sources of the Arab world including over 435 print newspapers and news magazines, as well as 160 online editions, and over 1,500 Internet news sources. The full-text and/or full-image of each article unit is supplied. The interface can be searched in Arabic or English and a virtual Arabic keyboard is provided for easy text input. Content is multilingual but primarily in Arabic, with article metadata in the language of the original publication.

Extensive reference encylopedia with over 13,000 articles on topics in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies. The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online represents a major resource in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, with the online version bringing remote access to over 13,000 articles. In addtion to the material found in the main Volumes I-XI of the English edition, this online edition includes access to the Index of Subjects to Volumes I-XI & to the Supplement, Fascicles 1-6 (compiled by P.J. Bearman), the Index of Proper Names to volumes I-X & the Supplement, Fascicles 1-6 (compiled by E. van Donzel), and the Supplement to Fascicle 7-8. New data will be added to the online edition as they become available in the print edition.

English language encyclopedia covering all aspects of the Qur’ān including qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis as well as essays on important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. This site also includes 62 Early Printed Western Qur’āns Online and the Electronic Qur’ān. Concordance.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online features articles, biographies, primary texts, Qur'anic materials, and books by scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Articles come from The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs To Know About Islam. The Koran Interpreted (a verse translation by A.J. Arberry) and The Qur'an (a prose translation by M.A.S. Abdel Haleem) are included, as is the first electronic version of Hanna E. Kassis's A Concordance of the Qur'an.

WorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. There are more than 47 million records in the WorldCat database, whose scope includes everything from Babylonian inscriptions to e-books. This database is used to verify citations of items not found in the HOLLIS Catalog, possibly to find a local holding library, or to provide accurate citations for interlibrary loan requests. OCLC adds evaluative content to WorldCat bibliographic records such as tables of contents, cover art, book summaries, and notes about authors. A search for archives and manuscripts should include ArchivesUSA and Archive Grid (both Harvard Libraries E-Resources) as well as WorldCat.

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications and is searchable.

Index Islamicus, produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, is a bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Index Islamicus provides access to over 2,000 journals and series. It also covers conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews.

The bibliography of Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa has been prepared in conjunction with the African Studies Centre (ASC) and the Centre d’Etude d’Afrique Noire project “Islam, the Disengagement of the State, and Globalization in Sub-Saharan Africa,” that was funded by the Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs, which resulted in a Conference held at the UNESCO in May 2005. ####The bibliography contains several thousand references to secondary literature in European languages about Islam in contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa, published between 1960 to 2005. Many of the entries also have abstracts produced by the ASC library. Select entries have abstracts from the authors, publishers, and journals themselves.

is a systematic and non-evaluative index to research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.

PAIS International indexes the public and social policy literature of public administration, political science, economics, finance, international relations, law, and health care, International in scope, PAIS indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The database is comprised of abstracts of thousands of journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, government documents and statistical yearbooks.