East Asian Art

"Founded to address the need within art history and art journalism for a space dedicated to the arts of Asia from the eighteenth century to the present".

Index of previously published issues (1966-)

上海华东师范大学艺术研究所季刊
2012-

The first English language journal to focus on contemporary Chinese art and culture.

The titles of articles for each issue can be obtained through the link.

"AAA has one of the most comprehensive collections of primary and secondary source material on contemporary Asian art. The public can access over 27,000 titles, free of charge, in its collection and from its website. The secondary materials are organized into eight categories: exhibition catalogues, monographs, reference books, periodicals, audio-visuals, AAA files, invitation cards, leaflets and clippings."

caa.reviews, founded in 1998, publishes timely scholarly and critical reviews of studies and projects in all areas and periods of art history, visual studies, and the fine arts, providing peer review for the disciplines served by the College Art Association.

The Smithsonian's Museums of Asian Art

Sponsored by Getty Research Institute.

The Australian National University

"The website integrates various useful capabilities for searching and viewing the scrolls. The Scroll Archive can be searched by Title, Artist,Historical Period, and Museum Collection. These include scrolling to left and right, zooming in and out and movement up, down and side to side. There is a small image of the scroll on the upper left with a frame that shows the position of the current view of the scroll relative to the whole.".

台大藝術史研究所

A collection of lecture texts, unpublished papers, papers published in hard-to-find places, earlier versions of writings later published, etc.

This dictionary contains approximately 8000 terms related to traditional Japanese architecture and art-historical iconography from approximately the 1st century A.D. to the end of the Edo period (1868).

PDF Index 1981-2008

The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) holds more than 545,000 records on all subjects related to East, Southeast, and South Asia from 1971 to the present (primary disciplines covered are in the humanities and social sciences). Note well that monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, so for books in these areas please consult other databases (such as HOLLIS, WorldCat, and the RLG Bibliographic File).

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals provides a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, historic preservation, interior design, landscape architecture, and urban planning. Over 2500 publications are indexed, including scholarly and popular literature, professional association publications, US state and regional periodicals, and major publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia and others.

JSTOR includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals as well as monographs and other materials.

The Art Index Retrospective is a periodical literature database that cumulates citations from the printed version of the Art Index, volumes 1-32 (1929-1984). The database cites articles from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins internationally in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch publications. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in the periodicals covered.

Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from art and architecture periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish.

A searchable, full-text database covering numerous journal titles from the People's Republic of China. Access provided here to holdings in the social sciences, humanities, medical, hygiene, and agriculture series.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text indexes dissertations and masters' theses from most North American graduate schools as well as some European universities. Provides full text for most indexed dissertations from 1990-present.

Citation Information by NII (CiNii) enables the user to search academic journals and research bulletins published by scholarly institutions in Japan. References from article bibliographies and citations to the article from other publications is also provided for many works.

Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan.

The Ming dynasty Chinese painters and paintings index is a searchable dataset that continues James Cahill's print publication "An index of early Chinese painters and paintings: T'ang, Sung, and Yüan." Compiled by Prof. Cahill over a period of many years, the database contains over 10,000 records including three types of data: 1) artist biographies, 2) artwork descriptions and 3) a bibliography covering the Ming Dynasty period, mid-fourteenth through mid-seventeenth centuries in China.