Longest-running African American lesbian journal and was published from 1989 to 1993

A United States national gay and lesbian newsmagazine averaging 130 pages per issue containing fiction and nonfiction articles, local and national news, and reviews of books and entertainment with both color and black and white illustrations in 20 by 27 cm format. This is one of the most-read national gay and lesbian publications with regular features including letters, editorials, articles on travel, entertainment and gay culture around the world. “AIDS Crisis Update”, “Newsbriefs”, “Market Space Classifieds”, and “Personal Classifieds”.

Zine published in Seattle, WA in the 1990s. Part of the lesbian and riot grrrrl movement.

The magazine's mission was to confront and redefine concepts of sexuality and gender, to defy stereotypes and cookie-cutter definitions of bisexuals and to combat biphobia. Most of the issues were theme-based, designed to cohesively present the vast array of diverse bisexual voices and experiences across the lines of gender, class, race, ethnicity, spirituality, lifestyle, age, politics, culture, and sexual/celibate behaviors, desires, and preferences. Published in San Francisco from 1990 to 2002.

A southeast U.S. lesbian and feminist newsletter averaging 16 pages per issue containing nonfiction articles, local, club, and national news, and reviews of interest to lesbians with black and white illustrations in 22 by 28 cm format. Regular features include “Ask Aunt Luna” and a calendar of events. ALFA is concerned with the entire spectrum of lesbian-feminist issues from discrimination to the rights and needs of fat and differently-abled women.

Magazine by and for Third World Lesbians out of New York, NY.

A national lesbian erotic newspaper averaging 20 pages per issue containing fiction and nonfiction articles, poems, essays, photographs, and cartoons, national news, and reviews with black and white illustrations in 29 by 43 cm format. Published in Boston, MA.

Published out of San Francisco, CA.

1981 to 1988 in New York, NY.

An international black gay and lesbian magazine averaging 40 pages per issue including fiction and nonfiction articles and national news with black and white illustrations in 14 by 22 cm format. Regular features include “Viewpoint”, national news, cover features, and directory. Each issue is centered around a theme. The publication is intended “to provide equal discussion of any issues that affect the lives, struggles, and achievements of the black and third world people of color community.” Published in Chicago, IL.

Lesbian S&M zine from the 1990s.

"A newspaper by and for the gay community." Published in New York, NY from 1969-1972.

Previously known as Devenue. Lesbian magazine in the United States. It covers news, politics, social issues, and includes celebrity interviews and stories on entertainment, pop culture, style, travel.

Feature articles on theoretical politics, live events, place, current and past history, media, fashions, music, home economics, literature, animal lore, health, applied sciences and gossip. Covers Lesbian culture and straight culture; Straight culture is present in our lives and in our minds. It is violent and perverted. We recognize and analyze it and in this way prevent it from retarding our growth. We believe separatism demands constant vigilance and analysis. DYKE magazine will reflect this.

Quarterly journal that focuses on health and disability issues for lesbians and also represents news, reviews, verse, art, and controversy with the perspective of the lesbian with an impairment.

(Lesbian feminist magazine of passion, politics, and hope). A United States lesbian and feminist literary magazine averaging 60 pages per issue containing fiction and nonfiction articles, local, club, and national news, and reviews with black and white illustrations in 21 by 27 cm format. In addition to poetry, photo essays, and articles, there is a sports and interview column. Published in San Francisco, CA.

Originally called Maiden Voyage. Newsletter of the Boston chapter of the Daughters of Bilitis feminist group.

Bimonthly journal published in Washington, D.C. in 1972-1973. Focused on lesbianism, American literature, feminism, and the gay liberation movement.

Published in New York, NY beginning in 1969.

Personal zine about Cory, a lesbian anarchist in her early twenties and who grew up poor, who writes about her pregnancy, including her artificial insemination, and gives DIY recommendations for other pregnant women. She includes a list of tips to prevent morning sickness, an article on organic food, a picture of cervical dilation, and a diary-format log of her pregnancy. Issue two is less structured, with a long piece on her diet and fear of twins as well as a piece on anarchist parenting. Began in 2003, published in Somerville, MA.

"A Celebration of Lesbian and Bisexual Women of African Descent". Began publishing in 1998 in Cambridge, MA.

Women's magazine that provided critical coverage of culture, entertainment and world events from a lesbian perspective. Published monthly from 1993-2006 in San Francisco, CA.

Published in Toronto from 1973-1983.

Published in Portland, OR from roughly 1996 to 2004. Focuses on issues such as Hispanic American women, gender identity, and punk culture.

Intergalactic Lesbian Feminist Press, Milwaukee, WI c1989

Zine out of Pittsburgh, PA. Stories about sobriety, ridiculous stories from work, queers, compassion, death, heartbreak, Pittsburgh and love.

Published in Washington, D.C. from 1993-2002 focusing on gay rights and homophobia.

Published in Chicago in 1971.

Published by the Daughters of Bilitis in New York, NY in 1956-1975. Focuses on homosexuality.

Telephone directory for businesses owned by or friendly to San Francisco's gay, lesbian and bisexual population.

An Illinois lesbian newsletter averaging 10 pages per issue containing local and national news and reviews with black and white illustrations in 22 by 28 cm format. Regular features include “Upcoming Events”, letters, and calendar.

Title later changed to Fag Rag. A United States gay literary magazine averaging 24 pages per issue containing fiction and nonfiction articles and review with black and white illustrations in 29 by 43 cm format. This publication contains poetry, art, photos, and political views with some erotic materials, all pertaining to the gay culture. Published in Boston, MA.

“Ann Arbor lesbian newsletter”. Published in Ann Arbor, a newsletter about lesbianism in 1977.

A United States lesbian newsletter averaging 28 pages per issue containing nonfiction articles, local and national news, and reviews with black and white illustrations in 22 by 28 cm format. Regular features include news articles, letters, reviews, “Bits and Pieces”, “Responses”, “Festival Forum”, “How-To”, directory, and updates to Contact Dyke Directory. Published in East Lansing, MI.

(A Journal of Irreverent Feminism). A Untied States lesbian and feminist newspaper averaging 20 pages per issue containing nonfiction articles and reviews with black and white illustrations in 29 by 44 cm format. Regular features include “Commentary”, “Analysis”, “Humor”, “Graphics”, and interviews. Produced by and for women.

Periodical focusing on lesbianism, feminism, and the gay liberation movement. Published in New York, NY beginning in 1973.

An international lesbian magazine averaging 24 pages per issue containing fiction and nonfiction articles and reviews with black and white illustrations in 29 by 41 cm format. Regular features include letters, poetry, and announcements.

(Digest of Information and Opinion from Southern California and Beyond). A southern California lesbian magazine averaging 40-48 pages per issue containing local news, national news, and review in 22 by 28 cm format. Regular features include “News Section”, “Views Section”, letters and calendar.

A feminist lesbian publication, written by and for the rising tide of women today. Published in Los Angeles, CA by the Daughters of Bilitis and the Tide Collective from 1971-1974.

"A feminist lesbian publication, written by and for the rising tide of women today." Published by the Tide Collective from 1974-1980.

Published in San Jose, CA from 1974-1981.

Published in Philadelphia, PA in 1972.

Published in New York, NY in late 1970s.

Lesbian erotic magazine from Canada.

Bisexual comic-strip zine by Leanne Franson which appeared in print from around 2001 and is now a web comic. Each issue of the print comic told a story about Liliane's life as a bisexual woman in Canada.

Canada’s first lesbian magazine.

Lesbian country journal. Great networking resource for wimmin living on land or wimmin looking to visit lands, and has a directory in each issue of wimmin's lands.

Magazine creates and documents contemporary feminist culture and action by publishing journalism, critical analysis, and visual and text art. Made by an editorial collective committed to antiracist, transnational, and queer perspectives, make/shift embraces the multiple and shifting identities of feminist communities. Make/shift exists to represent, participate in, critique, provoke, and inspire more of that good work of people seriously and playfully resisting and creating alternatives to systematic oppression.

A United States lesbian newsletter averaging 14 pages per issue containing fiction and nonfiction articles, local and national news, and reviews with black and white illustrations in 22 by 28 cm format. Contains articles on lesbian rights as mothers.

Published in Stanford, CA in 1971.

Zine published from Brooklyn, NY from 2004-2008 focusing on subjects like gay and lesbian teenagers and punk culture.

Published beginning in 1980 in Arlington, VA by the United Families of America discussing issues such as equal rights amendments, gays, and pro-life movement. Also categorized as protest literature pertaining to abortion and homosexuals.

A New England, U.S. gay and lesbian directory covering Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont averaging 136 pages per issue containing directory information with black and white illustrations in 13 by 21 cm format. It is arranged alphabetically by state and then by city. Within each city the listings are by topic and each listing has a descriptive annotation. Gay- or lesbian-owned facilities are coded with a black dot.

Newsletter published by the New York chapter of the Daughters of Bilitis beginning in 1970.

Newsletter for the Lesbian Rights Project focused in San Francisco, CA starting in 1990.

Bimonthly newsletter beginning in 1979 in Los Angeles, CA.

National Lesbian Information Service newsletter published out of San Francisco, CA starting in 1972.

Quarterly newspaper published in San Diego, CA from 1995-1997. Focuses on feminist theory, sex role, and gender identity.

Published by the Lesbian Alumnae of Radcliffe College from 1980-1991.

San Francisco based periodical published from 1984-2006. “Entertainment for the adventurous lesbian”

A United States black lesbian newsletter averaging 12 pages per issue containing fiction and nonfiction articles, local and national news, and reviews with both color and black and white illustrations.

Newsletter published in Cambridge, MA focusing on gay and lesbian college students, specifically those who attend Harvard. Began publishing in 1988.

“A newsletter for Ithaca’s lesbian, gay, and bisexual community”.

"A journal of woman-to-woman S/M," published in Somerville, MA starting in 1984.

Comic book based in Atlanta, GA and began publishing in 2003.

Quarterly periodical published in New York, NY starting in 1995. Focuses on subjects of sex and gender identity.

“Lesbianism, feminism, revolution”. Published in New York, NY starting in 1972.

“Journal of radicalesbians”. Published in Ann Arbor, MI starting in 1971.

Bike zine published in San Francisco, CA starting in 1993.

This feminist riot-grrrl compzine is comprised of articles and essays about friendship, the Iraq war, self defense, Ladyfest, "rebel grrrls, " masturbation, queer identity and bisexuality, and the treatment of incarcerated women. Also included are clip art images, album and zine reviews, illustrations, paid ads, an interview with activist Holly Near, and a guest column by a male feminist. Published in Chicago, IL.

Lesbian periodical published out of San Francisco, CA starting in 1973.

Personal zine ("perzine") chronicling the life of a transgender person whose pseudonym is Kelly Shortandqueer and who lives in Denver, Colorado.

Published monthly out of Delray Beach, FL starting in 1971. Focuses on gay liberation movement, gay activists and gay rights.

Published in Berkeley, CA in 1969, focuses on feminism and women’s rights.

Published in MA starting in 1987, a periodical about Moving Violations Motorcycle Club.

A queer, sexually abused, depressed working class fat woman and former dominatrix with a history of self-mutilation, Sarah Arr! (sometimes called Sarah Rose) writes about friendships, breakups, and her brother's death. Her punk rock zines include personal art and poetry in a cut and paste format. The zine, which she began publishing at fifteen, has taken several different forms, and Arr! often includes stories and poems about her sex life and lesbian/bisexual self-identification. Published in Tazewell, VA starting in 2007.

A United States lesbian newsletter averaging 16 pages per issue containing fiction and nonfiction articles, club and national news, and reviews with black and white illustrations in 22 by 28 cm format. This is a “lesbian networking newsletter with an emphasis on resources and contacts for women who write poetry and fiction, women in the arts and photography, and women whose spiritual perspectives are central to their everyday lives”.

Published in Dallas, TX, this bimonthly periodical began in 1978 and focuses on equal rights amendment, and conservatism. The subtitle is “Progress through preservation of traditional values”, and it is classified under anti-homosexual literature and protest literature.

This zine is a comic about a transsexual who becomes a trans-phobia fighting superhero named Fury. In issue 1 the hero receives super powers from a goddess. The author/artist was part of the Boston Lesbian Avengers. Started publication in 2003 in Boston, MA.

A journal published in Waltham, MA from 1995-2008 focusing on issues that surround transsexualism, transvestism, and gender identity.

"A lesbian separatist newsjournal.”"To be sold to and shared by lesbians only."Published bimonthly in New York, NY starting in 1977.

Later known as Tapestry. An international androgyny and transsexual magazine averaging 100 pages per issue containing fiction and nonfiction articles, local, club, and international news, and reviews with black and white illustrations in 22 by 28 cm format. Regular features include “Coming Events”, “Forum”, humor, poetry, notices, “References” and letters.

Published in Ft. Collins, CO, this monthly journal started in 1997 and focused on lesbians in the Colorado area.

“News for North Texas Women”. Published in 1980-1981 in Dallas, TX, this monthly journal focused on feminism and women’s rights.

This is a collection of women's newsletters and periodicals for which the Schlesinger Library holds three or fewer issues. It is organized under the following headings: African American women; Conservative women; General (by title or organization); Government, NGOs, Quasi-official, International; Popular press; Professional; Special issues on women (published by magazines not usually focusing on women or women's concerns); Violence against women; Women's health; Women and religion; Women and work; Women's centers (mostly academic). This record does not represent the extensive collection of periodicals at the Schlesinger Library that are cataloged individually; please consult the catalog and public services staff for access to those titles.