Skip to main content

History of Harvard Law School & Harvard University: Selected Resources

A selective list of primary and secondary sources related to the history of Harvard Law School and Harvard University.

Resources Available through Harvard Library

Harvard Law School Faculty (1992-present)
Faculty directory with pictures. Published annually since 1992.

Harvard Law School Faculty & Staff (1987-2007)
Faculty and staff directory with pictures. Published annually since 1987. Ceased with 2006/2007 issue.

Harvard Law School Year Book
Began in 1938, but not published 1942/1943-1944/1945. Includes membership of student organizations and journals as well as faculty.

The Inception of Modern Professional Education: C.C. Langdell, 1826-1906 (2009)
By Bruce A. Kimball.
The first full-length biography of the School's first Dean, with much information on the history of the School.

Full Text Links

The Harvard Law School ... With portraits of Members of the Faculty, and a biographical record and portraits of representative living graduates (1897)
By Eliot Norton.
Most of the book is made up of portraits and brief explanations of the lives of then living HLS alumni. Also includes a brief history of the Law School.
Full text is available through Google Books.

Quinquennial Catalogue of the Law School of Harvard University
Lists alumni from 1817-1953. Lists faculty from founding until 1953. Continued in 1958 by the Alumni Directory of the Harvard Law School.
Full text is available through Google Books.

The Deans of Harvard Law School