Skip to main content

History of Harvard Law School & Harvard University: Selected Resources

A selective list of primary and secondary sources related to the history of Harvard Law School and Harvard University.

The Record

Access Full Text (July 1946-November 2001)

  • Search the full text of The Record by using the full text search box, which is in the upper-right corner of the ListView page.
  • Users can also select individual issues from the ListView page to view in the Page Delivery Service (PDS). Once in the PDS, users can search the full text within the opened issue.

More recent issues (2002-present) can be found by searching HLRecord.org.

Harvard Law School Bulletin

The Bulletin has been published since April 1948 and is currently published two times per year. In previous years it was issued quarterly and in some cases six times a year. The magazine features articles on HLS alumni, campus events, and fundraising; it also includes class notes and obituaries. Beginning in the fall of 1997, the Bulletin was made available both in print and online.

Access to digitized issues prior to 1997 is available to Harvard affiliates only.

Harvard Law School Bulletin (1948-1986)
v.1-38 n.1
Full text

Harvard Law Bulletin (1986-)
v.38 n.2- present
Full text

Harvard Law Bulletin (Online 1997-)

Harvard Law Today

Harvard Law Today is an alumni newsletter published bimonthly since September 2001.

Harvard Law Today (2001-)

Harvard Law Today (Online 2001-)

Harvard Law School Catalogs

Some of the Law School catalogs from the 19th century do not include student listings; this information can be found in the University catalog. For those years when we do not have Law School catalogs, try consulting the University catalog. The information in many of the Law School’s early catalogs was identical to the University catalog. In addition to information on faculty, tuition, courses, and degree requirements these catalogs might also include the following:

      • List of students by class year (until WWII)
      • Residence at the time of entry to law school
      • Housing location (listed under “room”)
      • Previous degree(s)

These catalogs have been digitized. Please follow the Internet link from the HOLLIS record to access the full text. There are some gaps in the collection.

1835/1836-1868/1869

1878/1879-1970/1971

1970/1971-2005/2006
Includes information on:
• Courses
• Tuition
• Academic calendar
• Faculty
• Programs of study

Recent Course Catalogs

Harvard University Catalogs

Before the Law School had its own course catalog, the Law School curriculum was included in the University catalog. In addition to information on faculty, tuition, and courses, these catalogs also included the following:

      • List of University Overseers
      • List of students by class year
      • Residence at the time of entry to law school
      • Housing location (listed under “room”)
      • Previous degree(s)

These catalogs have been digitized. Please follow the Internet link from the HOLLIS record to access the full text.

A Catalogue of the Officers and Students of the University in Cambridge, 1803-1871/72

The Harvard University catalogue, 1872/1873 - 1974/1975

Harvard Law School Handbook of Academic Programs & Policies