Skip to main content

History of Harvard Law School & Harvard University: Selected Resources

A selective list of primary and secondary sources related to the history of Harvard Law School and Harvard University.

Resources Available through Harvard Library

Alumni Directory of the Harvard Law School, 1958-present
Published every five years. Continues the Quinquennial Catalogue of the Law School of Harvard University. Contains a comprehensive list of faculty since founding. Up to 2001 edition, list included officers. The most recent directory was published in 2011.

Alumni/ae in Action: Harvard law School Graduates in Public Interest and Public Sector Work
Produced in 1991 and 1994 only. Survey responses of  "a day in the life" of alumni working in public interest settings. Respondents are from a wide range of graduating classes.

Directory of Black Alumni/ae (1983)
Lists black graduates of Harvard Law School since the first in 1869.

Directory of Black Alumni/ae (1989)
Non-cumulating update to the 1983 directory.

Directory of Black Alumni/ae (1997)

Non-cumulating update to the 1983 and 1989 directories.

Harvard Law School Class Reports (1883-present, irregular)
Lists class members and current employment at time of publication. Occasionally includes brief biographical statements. Generally published every five years, up to and including the fiftieth anniversary of graduation. For some classes, published more or less frequently than every five years.

Harvard Law School Year Book
Began in 1938, but not published 1942/1943-1944/1945. Includes membership of student organizations and journals as well as faculty.

Women at Harvard Law School: Alumnae Directory, 1953-1987
Lists alumnae from 1953 to 1987. For some, includes brief personal statements and career biographies.