Introduction
This hot topic provides access to resources for academic researchers and pubic policy practitioners researching the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and other contagious disease pandemics. In addition, the HKS Library, Coronavirus (COVID-19) Research Guide provides a more comprehensive list of resources on this topic.
Featured Resources
- CIDRAP, COVID Resource CenterThe U.S. Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRP) is based in Minneapolis MN. The site includes news, reports, webinars, commentaries and more on the COVID-19 outbreak.
- Oxford COVID-19 Government Response Tracker (OxCGRT)Collects information on several different common policy responses that governments have taken to respond to the pandemic on 18 indicators such as school closures and travel restrictions. It now has data from more than 180 countries.
- Kaiser Family Foundation, Coronavirus (COVID-19) SiteWell known health policy think tank. The site includes state data and policy actions, polling, reports, tracking and visualizations on coronavirus.
- National Conference of State Legislatures, State Action on CoronavirusThe best site for information relating to U.S state actions and COVID-19. Searchable database of bills and legislation relating to coronavirus legislative actions.View the subject based NCSL Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources for States
- COVID States ProjectUnited States survey data and reports on the links between social behaviors and COVID-19 virus transmission. Includes the impact of messaging and regulation on individual and community outcomes during this crisis. Principal investigators are from Harvard, Northeastern, Northwestern and Rutgers.
- COVID-19 Law LabGathers and shares legal documents from over 190 countries across the world to help states establish and implement strong legal frameworks to manage the pandemic. A joint project of UNDP, WHO,UNAIDS and the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University.
- John Hopkins Coronavirus Resource CenterIncludes a case tracker, critical trends reports and COVID-19 interactive maps.
- COVID-19 Tracking ProjectUpdated by journalists and other volunteers, this site collects and publishes the most complete testing data available for US states and territories. See also the COVID Racial Data Tracker.
- World Health Organization, Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) OutbreakCountry and technical guidance, situation dashboard, R&D updates and more.
Harvard University Research & Resources
- Harvard Kennedy School, COVID-19 Insights & SolutionsHKS faculty insights on international affairs, security, economics and social policy relating to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- HKS Ash Center, COVID-19 Public Sector ResourcesA resource center for public sector practitioners to highlight cases, teaching, policy solutions, and other examples of how governments are responding to the outbreak.
- HKS Center for International Development, COVID 19 Response and ResourcesResources including grant information for developing countries on how to respond to current pandemic.
- Bloomberg Harvard City Leadership Initiative, Coronavirus Local Response InitiativeSite to support mayors as they manage COVID-19. View crisis leadership and critical public health videos, and FAQs.
- Harvard Business School, COVID-19 Business Impact CenterTopics include economic and financial impacts, health care management, leading through crisis, adapting your business, leveraging technology and your work life.
- Harvard Global Health Initiative, Pandemics ExplainedSite contains an interactive map of COVID-19 hospital capacity estimates and reports on the global and U.S. responses.
- Harvard Safra Center for Ethics, COVID-19 Response: Pandemic Resilience RoadmapA comprehensive operational roadmap for mobilizing and reopening the U.S. economy during the COVID-19 crisis.Site also includes a number of white papers on the COVID response.
E-Books (Harvard Login required)
An Epidemic of Rumors: How Stories Shape Our Perception of Disease
Temporary free access
Epidemic City: The Politics of Public Health in New York
Temporary free access
E-Books on COVID-19 (Harvard Key required)
American Contagions: Epidemics and the Law from Smallpox to COVID-19 by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0300257279Publication Date: 2020A concise history of how American law has shaped--and been shaped by--the experience of contagion. Historian John Fabian Witt traces the legal history of epidemics, showing how infectious disease has both shaped, and been shaped by, the law.
Confronting Covid-19: A Strategic Playbook for Leaders and Decision Makers by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9814928283Publication Date: 2021-01-18The books combination of, evidence-based analyses, projections and actionable recommendations makes this a must-read book for all leaders and decision makers in public, private and community sectors. Most of all, the ideas presented within these pages command the urgent attention of those within the international policy-making community.
Pandemic Solidarity by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0745343163Publication Date: 2020Collects firsthand experiences from around the world of people creating their own narratives of solidarity and mutual aid in the time of the global crisis of Covid-19. The personal accounts in the book weave together to create a larger picture, revealing a universality of experience.Moving beyond the present, these stories reveal what an alternative society could look like, and reflect the skills and relationships we already have to create that society, challenging institutions of power that have already shown their fragility.
Surveying the Covid-19 Pandemic and Its Implications by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0128243139Publication Date: 2020Explores social, economic, and policy impacts of COVID-19 that will persist for some time.
Business/Economics
- Harvard Business School, COVID-19 Business Impact CenterTopics include economic and financial impacts, health care management, leading through crisis, adapting your business, leveraging technology and your work life.
- IMF Policy Responses to COVID-19This policy tracker summarizes the key economic responses governments are taking to limit the human and economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. The tracker includes 196 economies.
- Opportunity Insights, Economic TrackerCreated by several prominent Harvard economic professors. Tracks the economic impacts of COVID-19 on people, businesses, and communities across the United States in real time.
- StartUpBlink, Covid-19 Innovation MapMap to show innovations and solutions across the world that help people cope and adapt to life amid the coronavirus, and to connect innovators.
- US Chamber of Commerce, Combating CoronavirusGuides on reopening businesses, small business PPP loans and other resources for small businesses
US Government (State & Local Responses)
- Council of State Governments,COVID-19 Resources for State LeadersSite includes legislative session updates, election resources, access to state executive orders on COVID-19, and links to state reopening plans.
- FiscalNote Coronavirus Updates & Resource CenterUS state legislation and appropriations responses to COVID-19.
- Multistate, COVID-19 Policy TrackerDashboard, maps, and other resources for tracking how states and localities are responding to the COVID-19 crisis.
- National Association of State Budget Officers, Coronavirus Resourcesincludes the latest federal news, press articles highlighting state responses and other resources.
- National Conference of State Legislatures, State Action on CoronavirusTreasure trove of information relating to state actions and COVID-19. Searchable database of bills and legislation relating to coronavirus legislative actions.View the subject based NCSL Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources for States
- National Governors Association, Coronavirus: What You Need to KnowComprehensive site of state actions on COVID-19. Includes policy and guidance documents, state by state guides,and reopening tracking data.
- Pew, Coronavirus State ActionsArticles on state response to COVID-19.
- Bloomberg Harvard City Leadership Initiative, Coronavirus Local Response InitiativeSite to support mayors as they manage COVID-19. View crisis leadership and critical public health videos, and FAQs.
- Bloomberg Philanthropies: COVID-19 Resources for CitiesA variety of tools for cities to use in during the COVID-19 pandemic including a local action tracker, communication and transportation topics among others.