RTL Shares: Web Archiving at Harvard
Thursday, June 27, 3:00-4:00
Lamont Library Room B-30
Please join us for a presentation and discussion about web archiving at Harvard Library and how it can be utilized for research and teaching. Tricia Patterson (Preservation Services) and Skip Kendall (Harvard University Archives) will provide an overview of web archiving activities throughout Harvard Library, different units' collections, and how archived websites are being used in courses and research, including Archives Unleashed and the use of web archives in big data scholarship. They will also give an update on what the Web Archiving Advisory Group has been working on for the past three years, including planned enhancements in the discovery and access of web archives, and topics that colleagues can expect to engage with in the Web Archiving Discussion Group.
RTL Shares: Let's Talk Engagement: A Closer Look at the Tozzer Library Indigenous Language Project
Thursday, May 16, 2:00-3:30 PM
Sadada Jackson, Tozzer Library's Graduate Research Assistant, will speak about her work with some of Tozzer's Indigenous North American materials. A number of Native languages are represented in this collection; in some cases, Tozzer preserves the only known written examples. These are materials of very great cultural significance, and their care poses many important questions.
A Harvard Divinity School Masters of Theological Studies student, Sadada’s research at Harvard has focused on learning from the cosmologies, pedagogies, and methodologies of Indigenous traditions and cultures of North America and Western Africa. She is passionate about cultivating the causes and conditions for deep, honest, responsible and passionate engagement and inquiry into educational materials, educational structures, and learning relationships and experiences. Her hope is that people will deeply, honestly, and responsibly engage in the special collection materials at Tozzer Library. She is a member of the Natick Nipmuc tribe.
Susan Gilman, the Librarian for Tozzer Library, will also join us for Q&A.
RTL Shares Bonus Webinar: Boosting Engagement with NBC Learn
Tuesday, April 23, 11:00-12:00
Cabot Science Library Videoconference Room (1st floor)
NBC Learn Higher Ed is a collection of more than 22,000 videos, documents, and images that can be incorporated into classroom lectures and online teaching materials. The stories on NBC Learn Higher Ed are 2-6 minutes in length and designed so that faculty can give students access to digital content that is engaging, inspiring, and relevant to their daily lives.
Besides its rich collection of primary-source newscasts from the NBC archive, NBC Learn Higher Ed is updated daily with the latest current events videos from NBC News and its portfolio. The resources enable faculty to use real-world case studies and keep students up-to-date on the latest developments in their fields.
Please join us for an interactive online session on how NBC Learn Higher Ed can be integrated into face-to-face, blended, or online instruction. Participants will learn to search, download, and embed videos and hear best practices from professors currently using the resource.
For Harvard faculty, NBC Learn also offers complimentary curriculum alignments so you can determine the resources that best fit your course. Simply email a syllabus or a list of course topics to firstname.lastname@example.org, and within a week, you’ll receive back links and summaries for relevant videos embedded into the document.
RTL Shares: Active Learning at the Bok Center
Thursday, April 18, 3:30-5:00
Bok Center, 50 Church St., 3rd Floor
Join us for an afternoon of active learning as RTL Shares partners with the Bok Center’s Learning Lab. In this session, Bok Center staff will provide an overview of the Learning Lab’s innovative process as well as an active learning exercise to give participants a taste of what they do. Whether it be working with faculty members designing new courses or graduate students interested in instructional design or undergraduate students excited about learning new media, the Learning Lab works with teachers and learners at Harvard to develop skills, knowledge base and capacity.
This session will be held in the Bok’s Center newly renovated studio, located at 50 Church Street on the 3rd floor.
RTL Shares: Blind Dating for Library Events
Thursday, February 14, 3:30-5:00 PM
Lamont Library Forum Room
Image: Chansonnier cordiforme de Montchenu, BnF Ms. Rothschild 2973
Library Seeks New Friend for Workshops, Events, Fun...
What happens when you have 15 minutes to develop a library event or workshop...with someone from another library? Join RTL Shares for a practical session to help you find a new collaborator or two, have fun, and start planning your next joint library events.
Every attendee will leave with an idea for at least one new, cross-library event, but it all depends on you: come ready to be creative!