RTL Shares: Game On!
Thursday, December 15th, 2016 3:00-4:30 pm
Come playtest games from across Harvard University Libraries* and experience how games and gamification fit into our collections and programs to enrich student experience and further our missions.
*Cabot, Houghton, Law Library, Pusey, Wolbach
RTL Shares: Archives in the Classroom
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Interested in demystifying physical archives for digital natives? Thinking of using digital archives in a new way? Come join us for a lively discussion of bringing all forms of archives into the classroom.
- Caitlin Schmid, Graduate Student in Historical Musicology and Music Departmental Teaching Fellow
- Ellen Shea, Head of Public Services, Schlesinger Library
- Chris Morse, Senior Research Computer Specialist, DARTH Crimson
RTL Shares: Visit to Francis A. Countway Library of Medicine
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Guides: David Osterbur, Interim Director of Countway Library, Director of Public and Access Services & Scott Podolsky, Director of Center for the History of Medicine
Guided tour of the Francis A. Countway Library of Medicine ahead of the first lecture in a series given as the 2016 Colloquium on the History of Psychiatry and Medicine: “Dr Saul Hertz (HMS’29) Discovers The Medical Uses of Radioiodine (RAI): Academic Politics and Prejudice In the Birth of Radionuclide Therapy.”
RTL Shares: Community Roundup of Fall Library Orientations & Open Houses
September 15, 2016
This was a community roundup of fall library orientations and open houses. Colleagues from across the University presented their tactics for promoting all the Harvard Library has to offer with their local flair.
Reed Lowrie and Hugh Truslow - Freshman Open House at Lamont Library
Arthur Schott Lopez - Houghton Library 75th Anniversary Fellow
Jennifer Beauregard - HBS Baker Library Open House
Jonathan Paulo - Grossman Library promotional video, Grossman Library Welcome Video
Keely Wilczek - HKS Library Orientations
Kerry Carwile Masteller - Loeb Music Library Orientations
Daina Bouquin - Center for Astrophysics Research Education, Summer Research Education Undergraduate Orientation with devices
RTL Shares: Ways of Seeing: A New Look at LibGuides
July 21, 2016
Presenters: Sarah Dickinson, Jessica Evans Brady, Susan Gilman, Carla Lillvik, Keely Wilczek
Laptops, smart phones, tablets, screen readers, and web browsers all create a different LibGuides experience for our users than the one we, as creators, have at our own screens. During this presentation, members of the Virtual Reference and Research Working Group's Best Practices Oversight Team discussed how creators can fine tune their LibGuides to make them more flexible and adaptable.
At this session attendees:
- Got an overview of new updates to the Harvard LibGuides Best Practices
- Learned about how screen readers interact with LibGuides
- Got hands-on experience with testing LibGuides on different devices
RTL Shares: Project Muse E-Books Update by Western Languages Division
June 16, 2016
Presenters: Katherine Leach, Matthew Sullivan, Laureen Esser
Back in 2014, the Western Languages Division bought their first Project Muse package. Since then they have bought other e-book packages with Project Muse and Oxford Scholarship Online. Katie Leach outlined the difference between Project Muse and Oxford Scholarship Online, newly purchased this year. In addition Laureen Esser, E-Resources Coordinator for the Humanities, covered broadly the licensing agreements and how to the books are searchable in HOLLIS and HOLLIS+. Matthew Sullivan also spoke about a project involving trying new methodology for evaluating print and electronic book usage. They shared graphs and usage data that has been gathered so far in an effort to test the methodology.
RTL Shares: Behind the Scenes at the Peabody Museum
May 10, 2016
Following our tours of the Harvard Art Museums and various Harvard Library Special Collections, we took a (limited - 20 person) trip to the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology.
Every semester, the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology works to incorporate collections into Harvard faculty and students’ experiences of research, teaching, and learning. We toured the museum storage areas and experienced these collections for ourselves, as we discussed the ways in which we engage with objects to inspire new forms of learning at Harvard.
RTL Shares: RefWorks Migration
April 28, 2016
Presenter: Carla Lillvik, Gutman Library
ProQuest released a new RefWorks platform in January 2016. In preparation for the planned soft migration, Carla and other members of the RefWorks Migration subgroup:
- Described the soft migration to new RefWorks planned for August 2016;
- Compared features of the old and new platforms;
- Discussed the necessity and challenges of supporting both the legacy and new RefWorks;
- Outlined summer train-the-trainer plans;
- Provided a demo of the new RefWorks.
RefWorks Migration subgroup members
- Carla Lilllvik, Co-Chair
- Reed Lowrie, Co-Chair
- Dorothy Barr
- Anna Esty
- Jessica Evans Brady
- Emily Kelly
- Steve Kuehler
RTL Shares Bonus Session: ACRL Webinar on Scholarly Communications and Information Literacy
April 7, 2016
We had a group viewing of the ACRL webinar "Teaching at the intersections: Aligning scholarly communication and information literacy in the one-shot library instruction session."
Following the webinar, Susan Fliss, Associate University Librarian for Research, Teaching and Learning and Director and Librarian of Monroe C. Gutman Library, and Peter Suber, Director of the Office for Scholarly Communication, led an informal discussion on opportunities to map scholarly communication initiatives to research, teaching, and learning approaches for undergraduate, master’s and PhD students.
RTL Shares: Storytelling with Data
March 29, 2016
Presenters: Danielle Adams, ITS; Susan Berstler, Cabot Library; Karina Grazina, Harvard Library; Emilie Hardman, Houghton Library; Connie Rinaldo, Ernst Mayr Library; Mark Shelton, Harvard Library; Hugh Truslow, Fung Library
Many of us routinely create, track, rely on — and possibly struggle with — many kinds of data as part of our daily work; at the same time, data-based research is becoming increasingly important across many disciplines. But how do we gather relevant and reliable data, interpret it, and then use it to tell vivid, accurate, and effective stories? Come hear several staff members from across the Harvard Library talk about what they learned at a five-day workshop on Storytelling with Data at Boston University's College of Communication. They will talk about tools and approaches to finding, extracting, analyzing, and visualizing data in order to tell better stories, and what they learned from experienced practitioners in data storytelling, many of them data journalists.
RTL Shares: Copyright? We Can Do It!
February 22, 2016
Presenters: Kyle Courtney and Emily Bell
Kyle Courtney, the OSC’s Copyright Advisor and Program Manager, and Emily Bell, Copyright First Responder and Research Librarian, presented the first installment of a front-line copyright certification program aimed at emboldening Harvard librarians to answer those common copyright and fair use questions that come across your desk:
- Do people ask you if they can use Harvard-owned images in their books?
- Do you have only the vaguest sense of what the library’s new policy on access to digital reproductions of work in the public domain even MEANS?
- Classes can pretty much use anything they want as long as they put it on the Canvas site (behind a firewall), right? That’s fair use, isn’t it?