RTL Shares

Thursday, December 13, 3:00-4:00
Lamont Forum Room

Join RTL Shares to try your hand at our library escape challenge! Compete with others from around the library to solve puzzles, open our treasure chest, and make your daring escape from the Forum Room!

Snacks will be provided.

Please plan to stay for the entirety of the event. We’ll have a few laptops available, but bring your own if you can.

Resources

This October, we’re featuring tours of two different Harvard Library spaces. This is a great opportunity to see collections and places you may not know a lot about. Space is limited, so sign up now for the visit of your choice.

Baker Library & Special Collections: October 18, 1:00-2:00 PM
Visit Baker Library to learn how it supports Harvard Business School's mission by enabling the creation and exchange of ideas, expertise, and information.  Tours will highlight the incredible spaces, collections, and staff of Baker Library.
Sign up for the Baker tour

Haunted HLSL: October 31, 1:00-2:00 PM
Tour the Harvard Law School Library’s haunted history of wraiths, witches, and wicked works in this exciting Halloween-themed experience. Tours will begin in the lobby of the Harvard Law School Library.
Sign up for the Haunted HLSL tour

Note: this tour is intended for library staff. Check the library's events calendar for Haunted HLSL tours open to the wider Harvard community.

Lamont Library Forum Room
Thursday, September 20, 3:00-4:00

Join us for an afternoon covering topics surrounding scholarship and publishing including depositing dissertations to Harvard’s digital repository, DASH, the principles of open source works, licensing and contracts, and copyright. This hands-on workshop will help dispel some of the misconceptions about licensing and publishing, and provide a ground floor for understanding the rights you have in your scholarly works.

Presenter: Kyle Courtney, Program Manager and Copyright Advisor, Office for Scholarly Communication

All are welcome; no registration is needed

Lamont Library Forum Room
Thursday, July 19 3:00-4:30

All are welcome; no registration is needed

Join Amy Deschenes, Senior UX Consultant and Claire Demarco, Assistant Director of Digital Strategies for an overview of the HL Lean Library Access Extension licensed last year. Find out what’s next in terms of recommending and marketing the tool and hear what graduates students had to say about it during a focus group conducted by Amy and Claire. Then install and try it out for yourself during a practice activity.

Please bring a laptop. Limited laptops will be available to borrow in the room.

Cabot Science Library
Tuesday, June 5, 2:00-4:00

Please RSVP for this event

Make your expertise, skills and talents more available to students and colleagues—write an informative bio to celebrate your unique talents! Bring your friendly smile to the Harvard Library staff directory—upload your photo!

• Photos by Harvard Library peers
• Biography development stations with Writing Wranglers to help you communicate your expertise
• Refreshments and networking time at Cabot Science Library

Join us for an afternoon of fun and community! Brought to you by the RTL Standing Committee and RTL Shares.

Lamont Library, Room B-30 Collaborative Learning Space
Thursday, April 26, 3:00-4:30

Interested in learning more about data visualization but not sure where to start? Come learn alongside your RTL colleagues in a hands-on workshop led by Hugh Truslow, Head, Social Sciences and Visualization, focused on four different data visualization or infographic tools: Tableau, RAWGraphs, Venngage, and Google Charts. As charts, graphs, online interactives and other visual presentations of data are an increasingly important part of all areas of scholarship, the tools to create them are becoming easier to use and yet very powerful. Visual presentations of information can also be a very important part of making your case internally, in reports or presentations. It’s time to get visual with your data! Bring your laptop if you have one or you can borrow one.

Co-sponsored by the Social Sciences Council. Questions? Please contact truslow@fas.harvard.edu for or kmastell@fas.harvard.edu for more information.

Presentation Materials:

Thursday, March 15^th

Discovery Bar at Cabot Science Library
3-3:30 p.m. Drop-in demo
3:30-4:30 p.m. Presentation by Anushka Shah & Rahul Bhargava  

Media Cloud (www.mediacloud.org) is an open source platform for studying media ecosystems. By tracking millions of stories published online, the suite of tools allows researchers to track how stories and ideas spread through media in countries and languages around the world. The platform is designed to aggregate, analyze, deliver and visualize information, answering complex quantitative and qualitative questions about the content of online media. It allows journalists to track news cycles or investigate the impact of stories, non-profits and activists to design communication or advocacy efforts, academics to study media attention and influence, and many other purposes including archiving of news content.

Media Cloud in the press: An interview on NPR; article in the Washington Post article about hurricane coverage; study on Breitbart's influence in the US 2016 elections in the Columbia Journalism Review.

Presenters:

• Rahul Bhargava is a researcher and technologist specializing in civic technology and data literacy. He creates interactive websites used by hundreds of thousands, playful educational experiences across the globe, and award-winning visualizations for museum settings. As a Research Scientist at the MIT Center for Civic Media, Rahul leads technical development on projects ranging from interfaces for quantitative news analysis, to platforms for crowd-sourced sensing. He has a special interest in how new technologies are introduced to people in settings focused on learning. Rahul is a drummer and father based in Somerville, MA.
• Anushka Shah is a researcher on the Media Cloud project at the Center for Civic Media. Originally from Mumbai, India, her focus is on using data to map the focus, tone, and frames of news conversations in India and countries in Africa. She hopes to use the insights from the news analysis research here at the Media Lab as a way to reverse engineer fictional and popular media aimed at addressing social perceptions. She has a background in governance and applied statistics for language analysis, and has also previously worked with non-profits and political parties in Western and Northern India.

Presentation Materials:

• Recording of similar webinar, Learn about Media Cloud held 3-26-2018.

Thursday, February 15, 2018, 3:00-4:30
Lamont Forum Room

Finding newspapers and news articles can be complex and confusing, especially when dealing with historical content. Research librarians Fred Burchsted and Anna Assogba will share the content of their workshop, Finding Newspapers and Newspaper Articles for Historians, and discuss the nature of some of the more unique questions they have received.

Jude Hayes from Lexis Nexis will also be onsite to provide an overview of the new Nexis Uni database. Attendees are encouraged to bring laptops for the Nexis Uni training. A limited number of laptops will be available for loan during the workshop.

Presenters

• Fred Burchsted, Research Librarian, Harvard College Library Service for Academic Programs

• Anna Assogba, Research Librarian for Student Outreach, Harvard College Library Services for Academic Programs

• Jude Hayes, LexisNexis. Jude has been with LexisNexis for 22 years.  Prior to coming to LexisNexis, Jude was a researcher at ABC News, an Editorial Research Librarian at The New York Times, Director of Information Services at BusinessWeek magazine, and finally, head of business research at Time Inc. He received his MLS from Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, NY.

Presentation Materials

Thursday, January 18, 3:00-4:30
Lamont Forum Room

Parties! Game nights! Haunted houses! Shakespearean productions! A number of Harvard’s libraries and museums have been experimenting with social and cultural events as educational and outreach opportunities. Colleagues from the Law School Library, Cabot Library, the Harvard University Art Museum, and Houghton Library will give short presentations on programming in these spaces. There will also be ample time for conversation, so come ready to discuss your own events or ideas! Please bring a smartphone to participate in a demonstration.

Presenters

• Dale Stinchcomb, Assistant Curator, Harvard Theatre Collection
• AJ Blechner, Research Librarian and Library Instruction Coordinator, and Karen Beck, Manager, Historical and Special Collections, Harvard Law School Library
• Anu Vedantham, Director of Learning and Teaching Services, Harvard College Library, and Marie Keil, Fellow for First-Year Programs, Freshman Dean's Office
• Micah Hoggatt, Reference Librarian, Houghton Library

Presentation Materials